2018 Esso Cup

3 Stars of the Day

DAY 7 – SATURDAY, APRIL 28

1. Tyra Meropoulis (St. Albert Slash)
The Slash captain thrives in the biggest of games, and she did it again Sunday. After scoring the winner in overtime in the final a year ago, Meropoulis opened the scoring in the first period against Saskatoon and set up Madison Willan for the deciding goal in the second, leading the Slash to an unprecedented repeat.

2. Madison Willan (St. Albert Slash)
The five-foot-two dynamo came alive in the latter half of the week, scoring all four of her goals in the last four games. None were bigger, though, than her game-winning goal late in the second period of the gold medal game, giving the Slash a two-goal cushion and eventually clinching a second-straight national title.

3. Sarah Vanier (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
Named Top Goaltender in the preliminary round, the Pionnières puck-stopper saved her best performance for last. Vanier made 30 saves – 12 in the third period when Brampton pushed hard to cut into a two-goal deficit – to lead the Quebec champions to a bronze medal, coming within 68 seconds of a shutout.


DAY 6 – FRIDAY, APRIL 27

1. Tyra Meropoulis (St. Albert Slash)
The overtime hero in the gold medal game a year ago, Meropoulis proved she still has a little extra-time magic in her stick by counting the first of two Slash shootout goals to send the defending champs back to the final. She also scored the tying goal in regulation, and will play for a second national title Saturday.

2. Kaitlin Jockims (Saskatoon Stars)
One-third of the deadliest line in the tournament (alongside Mackenna Parker and Anna Leschyshyn), Jockims added a pair of assists to her point total in a semifinal win over Lanaudière, helping the Stars pull away from the Pionnieres, stay unbeaten and, most importantly, book a spot in the gold medal game.

3. Kiah Vail (St. Albert Slash)
A native of Fort Smith, N.W.T. (population 2,500), Vail has been a steadying force on the Slash blue-line. She picked up a pair of assists early in the tournament but has let her defence do the talking throughout the week, helping St. Albert post a 1.60 goals-against average and win its way back to the final.


DAY 5 – THURSDAY, APRIL 26

1. Ann-Frédérik Naud (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
Needing a big third period to ensure their spot in the semifinals, the Pionnières turned to their captain. Naud set up the tying and go-ahead goals, and added an insurance marker herself to send her team to the final four. She finished the prelims tied for second in scoring, with three goals and four assists in five games.

2. Brooke Bennett (Metro Boston Pizza)
The Metro goaltender was busy … again. Playing in her fifth game in five days, Bennett made 29 more saves, and kept her team within striking distance of its first win until penalty trouble doomed the hosts in the third period. She finished with a tournament-high 155 saves, 31 more than any other netminder.

3. Eva Wornell (Northern Selects)
The Selects saw their season come to an end Thursday, but it certainly wasn’t due to lack of effort from Wornell, who was a workhorse all week for the Atlantic champions. She was held off the scoresheet in the finale, but finished as the team’s No. 2 scorer, recording five points (2G 3A) in five games.


DAY 4 – WEDNESDAY, APRIL 25

1. Madison Willan (St. Albert Slash)
A pure sniper for the Slash in the playoffs (she scored seven goals in seven games), Willan picked an opportune time to score her first goals of the week; she danced her way to the net for the GWG midway through the third period, and added insurance a few minutes later to help St. Albert clinch a semifinal spot.

2. Mackenna Parker (Saskatoon Stars)
The straw that stirs the drink for the Stars, the captain was at her best against the hosts, opening the scoring just 31 seconds after the puck dropped before adding another goal and two assists in the third period, giving her the tournament lead in scoring (4-5—9) and leading Saskatoon to a fourth-consecutive win.

3. Paige Whaley (Brampton Canadettes)
The Canadettes broke out offensively against the Pionnières, and it was Whaley leading the way. After getting the scoring started just 49 seconds in, she added a goal and an assist in the third period, helping Brampton pull away in the final 20 minutes and take a big step towards a spot in the semifinals.


DAY 3 – TUESDAY, APRIL 24

1. Tamara Giaquinto (Brampton Canadettes)
The blue-liner jumps up one spot after a repeat performance – for the second day in a row Giaquinto shot first in the shootout, and for the second night in a row she gave her team all the offence it would need to get the win. Oh, and she set up the tying goal in the final minute for good measure.

2. Joelle Fiala (Saskatoon Stars)
It seems like every day it is someone different stepping up for the unbeaten Stars, and it was Fiala’s turn against St. Albert. After setting up Calli Arnold for the tying goal in the first period, she showed off a little hand-eye coordination in the third, tipping in the insurance goal to help Saskatoon stay perfect.

3. Sarah Vanier (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
Another day, another standout performance by a Pionnières goaltender. Vanier backstopped her team to its first win, finishing with 32 saves – 17 of which came in the third period, when the Selects bombarded the Lanaudière goal and threatened to further cut into what started as a three-goal lead.


DAY 2 – MONDAY, APRIL 23

1. Anna Leschyshyn (Saskatoon Stars)
The 5-foot-11 forward was a physical force to be reckoned with against Lanaudière, wreaking havoc in the corners and in front of the net. She helped set up Mackenna Parker for the game-winning goal in the second period, and added a little insurance of her own with a goal in the third.

2. Tamara Giaquinto (Brampton Canadettes)
The blue-liner made her presence known in a win over Northern, using her size to her advantage to keep the Selects’ offensive stars at bay. She chipped in an assist in regulation time but saved her best for the shootout, going first and showing off her hands by tucking in the eventual winner.

3. Leila Cecilia Lotke Salinas (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
The goaltender took the loss against Saskatoon, but more than held her own against a team that has been firing on all cylinders offensively. Lotke Salinas could hardly be faulted on any of the three pucks that beat her, and her 43 saves gave the Quebec champions a fighting chance.


DAY 1 – SUNDAY, APRIL 22

1. Kara MacLean (Northern Selects)
The leading scorer in the playoffs for the Selects, MacLean was at it again Sunday, scoring a pair of goals – including the game-winner with less than five minutes – to lead Northern past Metro. The Antigonish native has been on a tear in the postseason, with 19 goals and 28 points in 12 games.

2. Camryn Drever (St. Albert Slash)
The Top Goaltender at the 2017 Esso Cup, Drever was back to her old tricks in the 2018 opener. She turned aside 23 shots in all, plus all four Pionnières she faced in the shootout, but was at her best in the third period when the Slash paraded to the penalty box with four minors in three minutes.

3. Brooke Bennett (Metro Boston Pizza)
The Metro puck-stopper was a hard-luck loser in the Day 1 finale, turning aside 33 shots. Bennett was under fire in the first period when the hosts were on the wrong end of a 16-2 shot count, but kept the game scoreless well into the second, and came within minutes of earning her team a point.

Videos
Photos
2019 Esso Cup: SCS 3 – SAS 2 SO (Bronze Medal)
Juras tied it late and scored in the SO to help the Sabres win bronze.
2019 Esso Cup: STA 4 – SUD 1 (Gold Medal)
Kordic scored twice to give the Slash a third-straight Esso Cup.
2019 Esso Cup: STA 2 – SAS 1 OT (Semifinal)
Willan scored 2:46 into overtime to lift the Slash into another final.
2019 Esso Cup: SUD 5 – SCS 0 (Semifinal)
Chomiak had 2G 1A to lift the Lady Wolves into the gold medal game.

Coupe Esso 2018

3 étoiles du jour

JOUR 7 – SAMEDI 28 AVRIL

1. Tyra Meropoulis (Slash de St. Albert)
La capitaine du Slash excelle lors des matchs importants, ce qu’elle a fait encore aujourd’hui. Après avoir inscrit le but gagnant en prolongation en finale l’an dernier, Meropoulis a ouvert la marque en première période contre Saskatoon et elle a obtenu une mention d’aide sur le but décisif de Madison Willan en deuxième, aidant le Slash à remporter un deuxième titre de suite, du jamais vu.

2. Madison Willan (Slash de St. Albert)
La dynamo de cinq pieds deux pouces s’est mise en branle au cours de la deuxième moitié de la semaine, marquant ses quatre buts lors des quatre derniers matchs. Mais aucun n’a été plus important que son but gagnant vers la fin de la deuxième période du match pour la médaille d’or, donnant au Slash une avance de deux buts en route vers un deuxième titre national consécutif.

3. Sarah Vanier (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
Nommée Meilleure gardienne de but de la ronde préliminaire, la gardienne des Pionnières a gardé le meilleur pour la fin. Vanier a effectué 30 arrêts – 12 en deuxième période alors que Brampton a tout tenté pour combler un déficit de deux buts – pour mener les championnes du Québec à la médaille de bronze; elle est passée à 68 secondes de réussir un jeu blanc.


JOUR 6 – VENDREDI 27 AVRIL

1. Tyra Meropoulis (Slash de St. Albert )
Héroïne du match pour la médaille d’or l’an dernier, Meropoulis a prouvé qu’elle avait encore la touche magique en prolongation en comptant le premier des deux buts du Slash en tirs de barrage pour aider les championnes en titre à accéder de nouveau à la finale. Elle a aussi compté le but égalisateur en temps réglementaire, et elle jouera pour un deuxième titre national, samedi.

2. Kaitlim Jockims (Stars de Saskatoon)
Un tiers du trio le plus mortel du tournoi (aux côtés de Mackenna Parker et d’Anna Leschyshyn), Jockims a ajouté deux mentions d’aide à son total de points lors de la victoire en demi-finale sur Lanaudière, aidant les Stars à devancer les Pionnières, à conserver leur fiche parfaite, mais surtout, à se qualifier pour le match pour la médaille d’or.

3. Kiah Vail (Slash de St. Albert)
Originaire de Fort Smith dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (population 2 500), Vail a été une force fiable à la ligne bleue. Elle a obtenu deux mentions d’aide au début du tournoi, mais elle a laissé son jeu défensif prouver ce dont elle était capable tout au long de la semaine, aidant St. Albert à accumuler une moyenne de buts alloués de 1,60 et à accéder à nouveau à la finale.


JOUR 5 – JEUDI 26 AVRIL

1. Ann-Frédérik Naud (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
Ayant besoin d'une bonne troisième période pour s'assurer de jouer en demi-finale, les Pionnières se sont tournées vers leur capitaine. Naud a préparé le but égalisateur et celui de la victoire en plus d'inscrire le but d'assurance pour envoyer sa troupe dans le carré d'as. Elle termine la ronde préliminaire à égalité au deuxième rang des meilleures pointeuses du tournoi, avec trois buts et quatre aides en cinq parties.

2. Brooks Bennett (Metro Boston Pizza)
La gardienne de but de Metro Boston Pizza a été occupée... encore. Disputant un cinquième match en autant de jours, Bennett a repoussé 29 rondelles et a permis à son équipe de passer près de savourer une première victoire, jusqu'à ce que les punitions viennent hanter les hôtes en troisième période. Aucune autre gardienne n'a bloqué autant de tirs qu'elle dans cette Coupe Esso, avec un total de 155 arrêts, 31 de plus que n'importe quelle autre.

3. Eva Wornell (Northern Selects)
Les Northern Selects ont vu leur saison prendre fin jeudi, mais ce n'est certainement pas à cause du manque d'effort de Wornell, qui a travaillé d'arrache-pied toute la semaine pour les championnes de l'Atlantique. Elle a été tenue hors de la feuille de pointage dans ce dernier match, mais elle a fini au deuxième rang des meilleures pointeuses de sa troupe, avec une récolte de cinq points (2B 3A) en cinq parties.


JOUR 4 – MERCREDI 25 AVRIL

1. Madison Willan (Slash de St. Albert)
Une franc-tireuse naturelle en séries éliminatoires pour le Slash (sept buts en sept matchs), Willan a profité d’un moment opportun pour marquer ses premiers buts de la semaine; elle a fait son chemin vers le filet pour marquer le but gagnant à mi-chemin en troisième période et elle a inscrit le but d’assurance pour aider St. Albert à se qualifier pour les demi-finales.

2. Mackenna Parker (Stars de Saskatoon)
Véritable inspiration des Stars, la capitaine était au sommet de sa forme contre les hôtes, ouvrant la marque seulement 31 secondes après la première mise au jeu et ajoutant un but et deux aides à sa fiche en troisième période, ce qui lui vaut la tête des meilleures pointeuses du tournoi (4-5—9), procurant ainsi une quatrième victoire de suite à Saskatoon.

3. Paige Whaley (Canadettes de Brampton)
Les Canadettes se sont éclatées en offensive contre les Pionnières, et c’est Whaley qui a pavé la voie. Après avoir ouvert la marque à la 49e seconde de jeu, elle a ajouté un but et une aide à sa récolte au troisième vingt, permettant à Brampton de s’imposer dans les 20 dernières minutes et de faire un grand pas vers une présence en demi-finale.


JOUR 3 – MARDI 24 AVRIL

1. Tamara Giaquinto (Canadettes de Brampton)
La défenseure grimpe d’un échelon après une autre belle performance – pour une deuxième journée de suite, Giaquinto a été la première à s’exécuter en tirs de barrage et pour la deuxième soirée de suite, elle a fourni l’offensive dont son équipe avait besoin pour obtenir la victoire. Ah oui, et en plus, elle a obtenu une aide sur le but égalisateur au cours de la dernière minute.

2. Joelle Fiala (Stars de Saskatoon)
Chaque jour, quelqu’un de différent semble s’illustrer au sein des Stars qui sont toujours invaincues et aujourd’hui, ce fut au tour de Fiala contre St. Albert. Après avoir préparé le but égalisateur de Calli Arnold en première période, elle a fait preuve d’une excellente coordination oculomanuelle en troisième, déviant un tir pour inscrire le but d’assurance et aider Saskatoon à conserver sa fiche parfaite.

3. Sarah Vanier (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
Autre match, autre performance exceptionnelle d’une gardienne de but des Pionnières de Lanaudière. Vanier était devant le filet pour la première victoire des siennes, réussissant 32 arrêts, dont 17 en troisième période alors que les Selects bombardaient son filet et menaçaient de réduire davantage ce qui avait déjà été une avance de trois buts.


JOUR 2 – LUNDI 23 AVRIL

1. Anna Leschyshyn (Stars de Saskatoon)
L’avant de 1,80 mètre s’est imposée physiquement contre Lanaudière, semant le chaos dans les coins et devant le filet. Elle a participé au but gagnant de Mackenna Parker en deuxième période, en plus de marquer à son tour pour inscrire un but d’assurance en troisième.

2. Tamara Giaquinto (Canadettes de Brampton)
La défenseure a fait sentir sa présence dans une victoire contre Northern en mettant à profit son gabarit pour repousser les attaques des vedettes offensives des Selects. Elle a inscrit une aide en temps réglementaire, mais a gardé le meilleur pour les tirs de barrage, où elle a fait preuve de mains agiles pour obtenir ce qui allait s’avérer le but gagnant alors qu’elle s’exécutait la première.

3. Leila Cecilia Lotke Salinas (Pionnières de Lanaudière)
La gardienne de but a subi la défaite contre Saskatoon, mais a tout de même très bien paru contre une équipe qui roule à fond de train offensivement. Il serait difficile de blâmer Lotke Salinas pour l’un ou l’autre des trois tirs qui l’ont déjouée, et ses 43 arrêts ont permis aux championnes du Québec de rester dans le coup.


JOUR 1 – DIMANCHE AVRIL 22

1. Kara MacLean (Northern Selects)
La meilleure pointeuse des Northern Sélects en séries éliminatoires, MacLean, a poursuivi sur sa lancée dimanche, inscrivant deux buts, dont celui de la victoire, avec moins de cinq minutes à écouler, menant son équipe à la victoire contre le Metro Boston Pizza. La joueuse originaire d'Antigonish a été fumante en séries, obtenant 19 buts et 28 points en 12 matchs.

2. Camryn Drever (Slash de St. Albert)
La Meilleure gardienne de but de la Coupe Esso 2017, Drever, a continué d'épater au match d'ouverture de 2018. Elle a repoussé 23 tirs au total en plus des quatre joueuses des Pionnières qu'elle a affrontées en tirs de barrage, mais elle a connu ses meilleurs moments en troisième période, quand le Slash a visité le cachot avec quatre punitions mineures en trois minutes.

3. Brooke Bennett (Metro Boston Pizza)
La gardienne de but du Metro Boston Pizza n'a pas été chanceuse au jour 1, s'inclinant malgré une performance de 33 arrêts. Bennett a été bombardée en première période quand les hôtes ont décoché seulement deux tirs au but pendant que leurs adversaires en dirigeaient 16 en direction de Bennett, mais le match est demeuré 0-0 après 20 minutes. De plus, elle a passé à quelques minutes d'aller chercher un point pour son club.

Vidéos
Photos
Coupe Esso 2019 : SCS 3 – SAS 2 TB (Médaille de bronze)
Juras nivelle la marque et compte en TB pour mener les Sabres au bronze.
Coupe Esso 2019 : STA 4 – SUD 1 (Médaille d’or)
Kordic marque deux buts et le Slash gagne un troisième titre de suite.
Coupe Esso 2019 : SUD 5 – SCS 0 (Demi-finale)
Deux buts et une aide de Chomiak; les Lady Wolves joueront pour l’or.
Coupe Esso 2019 : STA 2 - SAS 1 Prol. (Demi-finale)
Willan marque à 2 min 46 s en prolongation et le Slash passe en finale.