Officiating Program

Get started as a hockey official


Level System

If you are interested in becoming a hockey official, this is for you! It will provide all the information needed to get your officiating career started.

The level system, Level I through Level VI, is the foundation for the training and development of officials across Canada. Hockey Canada has categorized the hockey played in Canada into four basic streams, each with different priorities. They include:

  • Initiation
  • Recreational
  • Competitive
  • Program of Excellence


The Hockey Canada Officiating Program has opportunities for everyone from the Initiation at Level I, through to the Program of Excellence at Levels V and VI.

Select a level and start officiating!

LEVEL I
Purpose To prepare a young or new official to officiate minor hockey.
LEVEL II
Purpose To further enhance the training and skills of minor hockey officials.
LEVEL III
Purpose To prepare officials capable of refereeing minor hockey playoffs (league and regional) and women’s national championships, or being a linesperson in Junior B, Junior C, Junior D, Senior and U15 or U18 regional championships.
LEVEL IV
Purpose To prepare officials capable of refereeing Senior, Junior A, Junior B, Junior C, Junior D, minor hockey regional and national championships, women’s national championships and designated IIHF competitions, or being a linesperson in Major Junior, Junior A, senior, U SPORTS, regional playoffs and IIHF competitions.
LEVEL V
Purpose To prepare officials to referee Major Junior, Junior A, Senior, U SPORTS and regional playoffs.
LEVEL VI
Purpose To prepare officials capable of refereeing at national championships and designated IIHF competitions (i.e. Memorial Cup, Centennial Cup, Allan Cup, David Johnston University Cup, IIHF world championships, Olympic Winter Games, FISU Games).

Certification Procedures

Certification at all levels, except Level I, is a two-part process involving clinical and practical assessment. The official must attend all clinic sessions and obtain the minimum mark on the examination.

The practical assessment portion is the most difficult to apply consistently across the entire program. It is strongly recommended that all supervisors be provided with a copy of the Hockey Canada Officiating Procedures Manual to ensure a consistent approach to this task.

Certification is not complete until both phases – clinical and practical – have been completed.

General Certification Rules:

Certification at any level with the Hockey Canada Officiating Program does not make an official automatically eligible for entry to the next level (except Level I). Demonstration of ability or potential ability is necessary to move to the next level.

Being certified at any one level does not necessarily mean an official will be able to officiate all categories of hockey defined at that level. Conversely, an official does not have to officiate all categories of hockey at a certain level in order to gain certification at that level.

Where it has been determined (through supervision) that an official is no longer able to officiate at a certain level, they will be certified at a new, lower level in line with their present ability.

An individual must be at least 16 years old to be certified at Level II or higher.

Re-Certification Procedures

Once certified, it is essential that an official continues to update and be completely familiar with new rule interpretations and officiating techniques.

To maintain their present level of certification, an official must attend a full Hockey Canada officiating program clinic and write a national examination every year, earning apassing mark. An open-book exam is not acceptable for re-certification purposes.

Should an official fail the Level IV, V or VI examination, the Member shall be authorized to allow them to write a supplementary examination during the current season. The second exam shall be different from the first and shall originate from the Hockey Canada head office. Only those officials whose supplementary examinations are successful and sent to the Hockey Canada head office shall be eligible to officiate regional playoffs.

An official will not be eligible to advance more than one level of the Hockey Canada officiating program per season, except for Levels I and II. Certification at the higher level cannot be granted until one year has passed.

When an official has not officiated for one season or more, they must attend a full Hockey Canada Officiating Program clinic at the appropriate level and successfully complete a practical assessment.

When a Level VI official has not officiated for a season or more and wants to regain Level VI status, they must first obtain Level V status within the Member. They may then apply to the Hockey Canada manager of officiating for Level VI certification through their Member referee-In-chief, which requires the successful completion of the Level VI examination and an on-ice evaluation by a national supervisor.

Contact a Member referee-in-chief

Recent News
Most Popular

Programme des officiels

Où commencer pour devenir officiel au hockey


Niveaux

Si vous voulez devenir officiel au hockey, cette rubrique s’adresse à vous! Vous y trouverez toute l’information dont vous aurez besoin pour entreprendre votre carrière d’officiel.

Le système de niveaux de I à VI est la base de la formation et du développement des officiels du au Canada. Hockey Canada a déterminé que le hockey joué au Canada appartient à quatre principaux courants ayant tous des priorités différentes. Ce sont :

  • Initiation
  • Récréation
  • Compétition
  • Programme d'excellence

 

Le Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada répond aux besoins de tous, de l’initiation pour le niveau I, au programme de la haute performance pour les niveaux V et VI.

Choisissez un niveau et amorcez votre carrière d’officiel!

Niveau I
But Préparer un jeune ou un nouvel officiel à remplir son rôle au hockey mineur.
Niveau II
But Perfectionner la formation et les aptitudes des officiels du hockey mineur.
Niveau III
But Préparer les officiels à arbitrer les éliminatoires du hockey mineur (des ligues ou régionales) et les championnats nationaux féminins, ou à agir comme juge de lignes lors de championnats régionaux des catégories junior B, C, D, senior, M15 ou M18.
Niveau IV
But Préparer les officiels à arbitrer les matchs des divisions senior et junior A, B, C et D, les championnats régionaux et nationaux de hockey mineur, les championnats nationaux féminins et certaines compétitions de l’IIHF ou à être juges de lignes lors de compétitions des divisions junior majeur, junior A, senior, U Sports, lors d’éliminatoires régionales et de compétitions de l’IIHF.
Niveau V
But Préparer des officiels à arbitrer les matchs des divisions junior majeur, junior A, senior, U Sports et les éliminatoires régionales.
Niveau VI
But Préparer des officiels à arbitrer lors de championnats nationaux et de certaines compétitions de l’IIHF (p. ex., Coupe Memorial, Coupe du centenaire, Coupe Allan, Coupe universitaire David Johnston, championnats mondiaux de l’IIHF, Jeux olympiques, matchs de la FISU).

Procédures pour la certification

La certification à tous les niveaux, à l’exception du niveau I, est un processus en deux parties qui requiert une évaluation clinique et pratique. L’officiel doit assister à toutes les séances et obtenir la note minimale de passage à l’examen.

L’évaluation pratique est tout aussi importante et, de plus, la plus difficile à appliquer de façon uniforme dans le programme. Il est fortement recommandé que tous les superviseurs aient un exemplaire du Manuel des procédures de l’officiel de Hockey Canada afin d’assurer une approche uniforme pour cette démarche.

La certification n’est pas obtenue tant que les deux phases – clinique et pratique – ne sont pas réussies.

Règles générales de certification

La certification à tout niveau au sein du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada ne signifie pas qu’une personne est automatiquement admissible à accéder au niveau suivant (à l’exception du niveau I). La démonstration d’habiletés ou d’un certain potentiel est nécessaire pour accéder au niveau suivant.

Le fait d’être certifié à un certain niveau ne signifie pas pour autant qu’une personne soit capable d’arbitrer dans toutes les catégories de hockey appartenant à ce niveau. D’autre part, une personne n’a pas nécessairement besoin d’arbitrer dans toutes les catégories de hockey associées à un certain niveau pour obtenir sa certification à ce niveau.

Tout officiel (après une supervision) jugé comme n’ayant plus les habiletés pour arbitrer à un certain niveau se verra certifié à un nouveau niveau inférieur qui reflète mieux ses habiletés actuelles.

Il faut être âgé d’au moins 16 ans pour obtenir une certification du niveau II ou plus.

Procédures de recertification

Une fois certifié, il est essentiel qu’un officiel se tienne à jour et qu’il se familiarise avec les nouvelles interprétations des règles et les nouvelles techniques d’arbitrage.

Pour conserver sa certification, un officiel doit, chaque année, assister à un stage complet du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada, subir un examen national et obtenir la note de passage appropriée. Un examen à livre ouvert n’est pas approprié à des fins de recertification.

Si un officiel échoue à l’examen des niveaux IV, V ou VI, le membre sera autorisé à permettre au candidat de passer un examen supplémentaire pendant la saison en cours. Ce second examen devra être différent du premier et provenir du bureau national de Hockey Canada. Seuls les officiels qui réussissent leur examen supplémentaire et dont les résultats sont envoyés au bureau national de Hockey Canada seront admissibles à arbitrer des éliminatoires régionales.

Un officiel ne pourra accéder à plus d’un niveau du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada par saison, à l’exception des niveaux I et II. La certification à un niveau plus avancé ne pourra être accordée tant qu’une année complète ne se sera pas écoulée.

Lorsqu’un officiel n’a pas agi comme officiel pendant une saison ou plus, il devra assister à un stage du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada au niveau approprié et réussir une évaluation pratique.

Lorsqu’un officiel de niveau VI n’a pas agi comme officiel pendant une saison ou plus et qu’il veut retrouver son statut de niveau VI, il devra d’abord obtenir le statut de niveau V au sein de son membre. Le candidat pourra ensuite présenter une demande auprès du responsable des officiels de Hockey Canada, par l’entremise de l’arbitre en chef de son membre, pour la certification de niveau VI qui requiert la note de passage à l’examen de niveau VI et une évaluation par un superviseur national.

Contactez l’arbitre en chef d’un membre