Hockey Canada Awards

2017 Hockey Canada Award Winners


Outstanding Volunteer Award

Outstanding contribution to amateur hockey and Hockey Canada

Denis Baillairge

There are few minor hockey leagues in Canada that produce future NHL stars like the Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec. From legends like Mario Lemieux, Luc Robitaille and Pierre Turgeon to current pros like Patrice Bergeron, David Desharnais and Jonathan Drouin, the league’s alumni list reads like a who’s who of French Canadian hockey.

Many of those players, and the thousands who have come through the LHMAAAQ in the last 40 years, have benefitted from the knowledge and vision of Denis Baillairgé, the winner of the Outstanding Volunteer Award.

From his start in 1978 as an assistant coach with the Insulaires de Laval, to 18 seasons as president, Denis has shaped the LHMAAAQ, and turned it into the envy of Midget leagues across the country.

His coaching career, which included two seasons with Laval and a half-year with the Angevins de Bourassa was short, but Denis was just getting started. In 1983 he became president of the Pionniers de Laurentides-Lanaudière, and two seasons later joined the league office as secretary-treasurer.

In 1987 he took over the position of LHMAAAQ president, beginning a 16-year run in the top job.

Denis was a man of action as president, helping design the anti-drugs, doping and alcohol program in the late 1980s, creating new opportunities for student-athletes, and overseeing the growth of the league.

But it wasn’t just the LHMAAAQ that benefitted from Denis and his passion for the game. He played a leading role in the creation of the Quebec Esso Cup in 1985, an event that has developed into one of the biggest on the Hockey Canada calendar, the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge.

Denis worked closely with Hockey Quebec, sitting on the Board of Directors from 1985 to 2003, and on the provincial committee for tournaments and championships from 1985 to 1999. He was also involved in the Open Ice Summit in 1998, taking his years of experience to the national level.

Denis stepped away from the LHMAAAQ in 2003 after 16 years and six gold medals at Canada’s National Midget Championship, but returned to the position in 2015 to once again provide direction for the future of Midget hockey in Quebec, with an opportunity to add to an already-impressive legacy.


Gordon Juckes Award

Contribution to national development of amateur hockey in Canada

Maurice Arsenault

It comes as no surprise that teachers often make the best coaches. After all, what is a coach but a specialized teacher? Someone who can develop their students, whether on the ice or in the classroom. Maurice Arsenault fits the description to a ‘T’, which is exactly why he is a deserving recipient of the Gordon Juckes Award.

With close to three decades of experience as a teacher, Maurice has built an impressive résumé across New Brunswick, both within the school system and local minor hockey association.

A former technical director with the Kennebecasis Valley Minor Hockey Association, he was also responsible for the creation of the first Hockey Canada Skills Academy in the province, at Rothesay High School, and played a leading role in implementing the Hockey Canada Speak Out program – designed to educate on and prevent bullying, harassment and abuse – across New Brunswick.

Maurice has been leaving his mark at the national level since the mid-1990s, serving as a course conductor for the National Coach Certification Program and Hockey Canada Safety Program, and joining the writing group for the Novice edition of the Hockey Canada Skills Manuals.

In addition to his work as an administrator, Maurice stepped behind the bench in 1999 and has shared his knowledge at every level of minor hockey, from Initiation through Major Midget, earning an Advanced Level I certification through the NCCP.

Maurice has given his time at the provincial level, working with New Brunswick’s female under-15 and under-18 teams in recent years, and he reached the national stage last spring, serving as an assistant coach with the Saint John Vito’s as the host team claimed a historic silver medal at the TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Championship.

Provincially, Maurice was honoured in 2015 with the Vance Toner Development Award from Hockey New Brunswick, which recognizes an individual who has exemplified strong qualities as a teacher, coach and administrator not only within their community, but throughout the province of New Brunswick. For those same qualities, and many more, he is deservedly recognized now on a national level.


Female Breathrough Award

Outstanding contribution to advancing female hockey

Nancy Macmillan

When Nancy MacMillan first laced up her skates with the women’s hockey team at the University of P.E.I. in 1976, or when she first stepped behind the bench with the Midget girls team in her hometown of O’Leary in 1990, she likely didn’t expect the game to take her where it has.

More than 40 years after she first wore the colours of the Lady Panthers, there are few in Atlantic Canada, and even across the country, who have had the impact on women’s hockey Nancy has, and that is why she is this year’s winner of the Hockey Canada Female Breakthrough Award.

Nancy truly has done it all. She has represented her province on the national stage as a player, coach and administrator, from the national women’s championship to the Canada Winter Games and Team Canada camps.

When her playing days were done Nancy went into coaching, working with teams from one side of P.E.I. to the other, in Atom, Bantam, Midget and Senior hockey. She was part of the staff at Atlantic Challenge Cups, National Women’s Under-18 Championships and Canada Winter Games, sharing her experience with hundreds of players.

She joined Hockey P.E.I. Development Council in 1999 and became chair in 2007, eventually spending 15 years helping shape the game on the island. She made a significant contribution to provincial programming and was a tremendous contributor to the national scene, working to champion the development of female hockey from the grassroots to the elite level, and quickly becoming the face of female hockey on P.E.I.

Nancy has worked to introduce P.E.I. to the nation, joining the mission staff for the Canada Winter Games, most recently in 2015, and to welcome the nation to P.E.I., serving on the host committee for Atlantic championships and the Esso Women’s Nationals.

She has never failed to give her time to a cause in the game, be it on the ice, behind the bench or in the boardroom, and her selflessness has made her a role model for so many of those she has come in contact with through the years.


Officiating Award

Outstanding contribution to officiating at the branch and national levels

Claude Frappier

It has been 47 years since Claude Frappier first stepped onto the ice with a whistle on his fingers, and almost five decades later the winner of the Hockey Canada Officiating Award continues to have an impact on referees and linesmen across Quebec.

Claude got his start as an official in 1970, and quickly worked his way through the system with Hockey Richelieu; he earned his Level III certification in 1976, which he maintains to this day.

While he donned the stripes on the ice, Claude became involved in the administrative side of things in 1977 as referee-in-chief of the small town of Tracy, and led the merger that created the Sorel-Tracy officials association two years later.

He joined the regional officiating committee in Richelieu in 1980, and worked his way to a position with the provincial elite program with Hockey Quebec in 1983, beginning a relationship with the member branch that has reached 34 years.

Claude has left his mark across the province, assisting in the development of NHL officials Jean Morin and François St-Laurent among the hundreds he has come in contact with over the years.

He stepped into the role of regional referee-in-chief for Hockey Richelieu in 1984 and never left, recently completing his 34th year in the position. He is the elder statesman of Quebec RICs and has acquired an uncanny knowledge of the rules of the game.

As a teacher, Claude prides himself on continuing to learn new things, and put that knowledge towards a master’s degree from the Université de Sherbrooke in 1999, including a thesis titled “Cooperative Learning Adapted to the Interpretation of the Rules of Ice Hockey.”

He has meticulously worked to ensure the accuracy of the rulebook and casebook with Hockey Canada in English and French over the last 20 years, and was a member of the national committee responsible for revamping the Hockey Canada Officiating Procedures Manual.

The recipient of the Paul Cazeau Trophy from Hockey Quebec in 2011 for his efforts within the officiating community, Claude has certainly earned the national award for a lifetime of dedication to his craft.


Order Of Merit (Atlantic)

An individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully

Ken Williams

When hockey happens anywhere on the Southern Shore of Newfoundland & Labrador, there’s a pretty good chance Ken Williams is involved. For more than 35 years he has been one of the faces and voices for the game in his home province, and for this he is the deserving winner of the Hockey Canada Order of Merit.

From his start on Maggoty Cove Pond in Bay Bulls to his work on a national level with Hockey Canada and Hockey Newfoundland & Labrador, Ken has continued to find ways to give back to the game, and to do his part to make hockey better throughout Atlantic Canada.

After a short playing career in the Southern Shore Junior League, Ken returned to the game rather inconspicuously; in 1986 the decision was made to construct an arena on the Southern Shore, and he played a leading role in seeing the project through to completion.

When it came time to choose a manager for the arena, Ken was an obvious choice, and he was soon elected as the founding president of the Southern Shore Minor Hockey Association, an organization he continues to give his time to almost three decades later.

But he was quick to branch out from that role. Ken played a major part in organizing the Avalon West Hockey League, serving as its first president in 1993, and also volunteered as treasurer for the Avalon East league.

He had an interest in the women’s game and was instrumental in reviving senior female hockey at the provincial level, working to get Newfoundland & Labrador back on the map nationally. He served as a director with the provincial female committee for several years, and left a lasting impression.

Ken was proud to chair Senior Council in Newfoundland & Labrador, and was honoured to work as a representative with Hockey Canada, continuing to trumpet the impact of senior hockey at a national level.

With all he did for the game, it was no surprise to see Ken celebrated with induction into the Hockey Newfoundland & Labrador Hall of Fame as a builder in 2015, a fitting tribute to a man who gave so much to the game.


Order Of Merit (West)

An individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully

Gary Vivian

As long as there has been a Hockey North, Gary Vivian has been there. He has become synonymous with the member branch while serving in a number of roles over the last two decades, so it comes as no surprise that Gary is the recipient of the Hockey Canada Order of Merit.

Starting behind the bench in 1977 – the year he moved to Yellowknife from Calgary – Gary became one of the most successful coaches in the North. He won gold and silver at the Arctic Winter Games in 1998 and 2000, and worked with Midget teams that competed in Air Canada Cup playdowns in 2001 and 2002.

But as good as Gary was as a coach, his true calling was in the boardroom. In 1991 he took over as president of the Yellowknife Minor Hockey Association, a position he held until 1997, when he joined the newly-created Hockey North as a member of the board of directors.

He quickly worked his way through the organization, taking on roles with Senior Council, Minor Council and Hockey Development Council, which allowed him access to Hockey Canada and a national platform.

Gary has been a tireless supporter of hockey in the north, despite the challenges. Hockey North has the smallest registration of any member branch but covers a massive area, with thousands of kilometres separating minor hockey associations.

In 2004 he rose to become president of Hockey North, earning a seat on the Hockey Canada board of directors and taking a deserved spot among the decision-makers of the game, where his voice could be heard and his passion could be on full display.

He spent 11 years as president before stepping away from the position in 2015, although he remains past president and treasurer, contuining to support the member branch in any and all ways possible.

And he has done it all while holding down a full-time career as a decorated geoscientist; in 2014, Gary was honoured with the Canadian Professional Geoscientist Award, proving his passion for his day-to-day work matches what he has shown as a hockey volunteer.

Gary has proudly represented the Northwest Territories and the entire North, willingly accepting any challenges and taking on any tasks in the name of building a better and stronger game.


Order Of Merit (Central)

An individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully

Brad Grant

Leaders in our game become leaders for a variety of reasons. Some simply follow a natural progression, some are driven by a desire to make hockey better, and some feel the time is right and they have something to offer. Brad Grant, chairman of the Ontario Hockey Association and the recipient of the Hockey Canada Order of Merit, is all three.

For more than 30 years, from the time he saved his hometown Milton Merchants from extinction in 1986, Brad has worked to better the game locally and provincially.

What originally started as a three-year plan with the Merchants grew into a 15-year ownership that included a jump from Junior B to Junior A in 1993, five consecutive division titles, seven regular season championships in nine years and a trip to the semifinals of the Royal Bank Cup in 1998.

The team was a winner on the ice, but what mattered most to Brad were the individual successes, sending players to higher levels of hockey, and helping others secure scholarships to further their education.

While the Merchants thrived in Milton, Brad knew he had more to offer the game. When the Ontario Provincial Junior Hockey League was founded in 1998, Brad was the first chairman, helping shape the direction of the new league, and he took a seat on the OHA board of directors.

He served as finance chair of the OHA for 14 years before sliding into the chairman’s seat with an eye on the future, and a list of to-dos to strengthen the game across the province.

Player safety, along with the long-term success of Junior B and Junior C hockey, and changes to the OHA constitution are on his radar as he looks to grow the game today, and leave it in good hands for the next generation.

A trucker by trade, with more than 220 trucks on the road in Eastern Canada and the United States, Brad is no stranger to big jobs, and it is his experience, along with his ability to handle those jobs with ingenuity and creativity that has earned him the respect of the Ontario hockey community.


Hal Lewis Award

Hockey Canada staff person of the year

Paul Delparte

The driving force behind the financial successes of Hockey Canada over the last two decades, Paul Delparte has earned the respect of so many involved in Canada’s game – inside and outside the Hockey Canada office. That is why, as he counts down his final days as chief financial officer, Paul is the recipient of the Hal Lewis Award as staff person of the year, as voted by Hockey Canada staff.

The 2002 winner of the award, Paul first joined Hockey Canada as an administrative assistant in 1979, working his way through the organization to become vice-president of finance in 1996, and CFO in 2010. He played a leading role in the merger of Hockey Canada and the CAHA in the mid-1990s, relocating from Ottawa.

Heading into retirement this summer, Paul leaves behind a legacy of financial stability, and his fingerprints will long be found on the organization.


Liz MacKinnon Award

Spousal award of a Hockey Canada volunteer

Sherry Roberts

Videos
Photos
2018 HCF: Dreams Come True in London
The Hockey Canada Foundation partnered with the Ontario Hockey Federation, South London Neighbourhood Resource Centre and Neighbourhood Resource Association of Westminster Park to get 28 London-area kids into the game and on the ice through the Dreams Come True program.
2017 HCF: Dreams Come True in Dawson Creek
The Hockey Canada Foundation paid a visit to northern B.C. during the 2017 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge.
BDO launches Goals for Kids program
As part of the BDO Goals for Kids program, $100 will go to minor hockey associations across the country for every Team Canada goal scored at Hockey Canada-hosted international events, and $50 will be donated for every goal scored at a trio of national championships – the Esso Cup, TELUS Cup and RBC Cup.
Recent News
Most Popular

Prix de Hockey Canada

Lauréats des prix de 2017 de Hockey Canada


Prix du bénévole exceptionnel

Travail bénévole exceptionnel auprès du hockey amateur et de Hockey Canada

Denis Baillairgé

Rares sont les ligues de hockey mineur au Canada qui ont produit autant de futures vedettes de la LNH que la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec. Des légendes comme Mario Lemieux, Luc Robitaille et Pierre Turgeon aux professionnels d'aujourd'hui comme Patrice Bergeron, David Desharnais et Jonathan Drouin, la liste des anciens de la ligue est une véritable liste de l'élite du hockey canadien-français.

Plusieurs de ces joueurs et des milliers d'autres qui ont joué dans la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec au cours des 40 dernières années ont profité des connaissances et de la vision de Denis Baillairgé, lauréat du Prix du bénévole exceptionnel.

De ses débuts en 1978 comme entraîneur adjoint des Insulaires de Laval, à ses 18 saisons comme président, Denis a façonné la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec et en a fait l'envie des ligues midgets partout au pays.

Sa carrière d'entraîneur, au cours de laquelle il a passé deux saisons avec Laval et une demi-année avec les Angevins de Bourassa, a été de courte durée, mais il ne s'agissait là que de ses premiers pas. En 1983, il est devenu président des Pionniers de Laurentides-Lanaudière, avant de se joindre à la ligue, deux saisons plus tard, comme secrétaire-trésorier.

En 1987, il a été élu président de la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec, poste qu'il a occupé pendant 16 ans.

Comme président, Denis était un homme d'action, participant à l'élaboration du programme contre la drogue, le dopage et l'alcool vers la fin des années 1980, créant de nouvelles occasions pour les élèves athlètes et supervisant la croissance de la ligue.

Mais il n'y a pas que la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec qui a pu profiter de Denis et de sa passion pour le sport. Il a joué un rôle de chef de file dans la création de la Coupe Esso du Québec en 1985, un événement qui est devenu l'un des plus importants du calendrier de Hockey Canada, le Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans.

Denis a travaillé étroitement avec Hockey Québec, siégeant au conseil d’administration de 1985 à 2003, et au comité provincial des tournois et des championnats de 1985 à 1999. Il a également pris part au Sommet Open Ice en 1998 où la scène nationale a pu profiter de ses années d'expérience.

En 2003, après 16 ans et six médailles d'or au Championnat national midget du Canada, Denis a pris sa retraite de la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec, mais il a réintégré son poste en 2015 pour, de nouveau, orienter l'avenir du hockey midget au Québec et saisir l'occasion de laisser un legs déjà fort impressionnant.


Prix Gordon-Juckes

Contribution exceptionnelle au développement du hockey amateur au Canada

Maurice Arsenault

Personne n'est surpris que les enseignants soient souvent les meilleurs entraîneurs. Après tout, qu'est-ce qu'un entraîneur sinon un enseignant spécialisé? C'est quelqu'un qui peut développer ses élèves, que ce soit sur la glace ou en classe. Maurice Arsenault incarne parfaitement cette description, et c'est pourquoi il mérite pleinement le prix Gordon-Juckes.

Après près de 30 ans de carrière comme enseignant, Maurice a accumulé une impressionnante feuille de route au Nouveau-Brunswick, tant dans le système scolaire qu'auprès d'associations de hockey mineur locales.

Ancien directeur technique de l'Association de hockey mineur de la vallée de Kennebecasis, il a aussi été responsable de la création de la première Académie des habiletés Hockey Canada dans la province, à l'École secondaire Rothesay, et il a joué un rôle clé dans la mise en œuvre du programme Dis-le de Hockey Canada – un programme d’éducation et de prévention de l'intimidation, du harcèlement et des mauvais traitements – au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Maurice laisse sa marque sur la scène nationale depuis le milieu des années 1990; il a été chargé de cours du Programme national de certification des entraîneurs et du Programme de sécurité de Hockey Canada et il s'est joint au groupe de rédaction du Manuel de Hockey Canada sur le développement des habiletés pour la catégorie novice.

En plus de son travail comme administrateur, Maurice a pris place derrière le banc en 1999, et il a partagé son expérience avec tous les niveaux du hockey mineur, de l'initiation au midget, obtenant une certification de niveau Avancé I du PNCE.

Au cours des dernières années, Maurice a donné de son temps à l'échelle provinciale, travaillant auprès des équipes féminines des moins de 15 ans et des moins de 18 ans du Nouveau-Brunswick, et il a accédé à la scène nationale au printemps dernier comme entraîneur adjoint des Vito’s de Saint John, équipe hôte de la Coupe TELUS, le championnat national midget du Canada, où il a remporté une médaille d'argent historique.

Le travail de Maurice a été reconnu à l'échelle provinciale en 2015 lorsqu'il a reçu le Vance Toner Development Award de Hockey Nouveau-Brunswick; ce prix est remis à une personne qui fait preuve d’excellentes qualités comme enseignant, entraîneur et administrateur, non seulement au sein de leur communauté, mais à la grandeur de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick. C'est pour ces qualités et plusieurs autres que nous lui rendons maintenant hommage à l’échelle nationale.


Prix de la percée du hockey féminin

Contribution exceptionnelle à l'avancement du hockey féminin

Nancy MacMillan

La première fois que Nancy MacMillan a lacé les patins avec l'équipe de hockey féminin de l'Université de l'Î.-P.-É. en 1976 ou la première fois qu'elle a pris place derrière le banc de l'équipe midget féminine de sa ville d'origine d'O'Leary en 1990, elle ne s'attendait sans doute pas au parcours que le hockey lui a permis de réaliser.

Plus de 40 ans après avoir porté les couleurs des Lady Panthers, rares sont celles au Canada atlantique, et ailleurs au pays, qui ont eu l'impact que Nancy a eu sur le hockey féminin. C'est pourquoi elle est la lauréate du Prix de la percée du hockey féminin de Hockey Canada cette année.

Nancy a vraiment tout fait. Elle a représenté sa province sur la scène nationale comme joueuse, entraîneure et administratrice au championnat national féminin, aux Jeux d'hiver du Canada et à des camps d'Équipe Canada.

Une fois sa carrière de joueuse terminée, Nancy est devenue entraîneure, travaillant auprès d'équipes d'une rive à l'autre de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard au hockey atome, bantam, midget et senior. Elle a été membre du personnel lors de Coupes Défi Atlantique, de Championnats nationaux féminins des moins de 18 ans et aux Jeux d'hiver du Canada, faisant profiter des centaines de joueuses de son expérience.

Elle s'est jointe au conseil du développement de Hockey Î.-P.-É en 1999, et elle en est devenue la présidente en 2007, aidant à façonner le sport sur l'île pendant 15 ans. Elle a contribué de façon importante à la programmation provinciale et à la scène nationale, travaillant à promouvoir le développement du hockey féminin de l'échelle locale à l'élite, devenant rapidement le visage du hockey féminin à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Nancy a travaillé à présenter l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard au pays, se joignant au personnel de mission pour les Jeux d'hiver du Canada, le plus récemment en 2015, et à accueillir le pays à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard en tant que membre du comité hôte des championnats de l'Atlantique et du Championnat national Esso.

Elle n'a jamais hésité à donner de son temps pour défendre le sport, que ce soit sur la glace, derrière le banc ou dans la salle du conseil, et son altruisme a fait d'elle un modèle pour plusieurs des gens qui ont eu la chance de la côtoyer au fil des ans.


Prix des officiels

Contribution exceptionnelle à l'arbitrage à l'échelle de la division et à l'échelle nationale

Claude Frappier

Il y a maintenant 47 ans que Claude Frappier a sauté sur la glace pour la première fois avec un sifflet dans ses mains et, près de cinq décennies plus tard, le lauréat du Prix des officiels de Hockey Canada continue d'avoir un impact sur les arbitres et les juges de ligne partout au Québec.

Claude a fait ses débuts comme arbitre en 1970 et a rapidement gravi les échelons du système au sein de Hockey Richelieu. Il a obtenu sa certification de niveau III en 1976, et il détient toujours celle-ci à ce jour.

Tandis qu'il portait le chandail zébré sur la glace, Claude a commencé à prendre part à l'aspect administratif du sport en 1977 à titre d'arbitre en chef de la petite ville de Tracy. Deux ans plus tard, il a été à la tête de la fusion menant à la création de l'association des officiels de Sorel-Tracy.

Il s'est joint au comité régional des officiels de Richelieu en 1980, pour ensuite cheminer jusqu'à l'obtention d'un poste au sein du programme élite provincial à Hockey Québec en 1983, amorçant ainsi sa relation qui dure depuis maintenant 34 ans avec la division membre.

Claude a fait sa marque partout dans la province auprès des centaines d'officiels qui l'ont connu au fil des ans, participant notamment au développement de Jean Morin et de François St-Laurent, qui sont des officiels dans la LNH.

Il a accepté le rôle d'arbitre en chef régional de Hockey Richelieu en 1984 et occupe toujours cette fonction, ayant récemment terminé sa 34e année en poste. Doyen des arbitres en chef du Québec, il a acquis une maîtrise exceptionnelle des règlements de jeu.

En tant qu'enseignant, Claude se fait un point d'honneur de continuer à apprendre de nouvelles choses et a mis ce désir au service de l'obtention d'une maîtrise à l'Université de Sherbrooke en 1999, intitulant sa thèse Cooperative Learning Adapted to the Interpretation of the Rules of Ice Hockey (Adaptation de l'apprentissage coopératif à l'interprétation des règles du hockey sur glace).

Il a travaillé de façon méticuleuse pour veiller à l'exactitude du livre des règles de jeu et du manuel des cas de Hockey Canada en anglais et en français au cours des 20 dernières années, et il a été membre du comité national responsable de la révision du manuel des procédures d'arbitrage de Hockey Canada.

Lauréat du trophée Paul-Cazeau de Hockey Québec en 2011 pour ses efforts auprès de la communauté des officiels, Claude mérite sans aucun doute ce prix national pour avoir dévoué sa vie à l'arbitrage.


Ordre du mérite (Atlantique)

Personne qui a fidèlement servi le hockey amateur

Ken Williams

Lorsqu'il y a du hockey quelque part sur la rive sud de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, il y a de bonnes chances que Ken Williams soit de la partie. Depuis plus de 35 ans, il est l'un des visages et l'une des voix pour le hockey dans sa province natale et, pour cette raison, il est lauréat de l'Ordre du mérite de Hockey Canada.

Tant lors de ses débuts sur le lac Maggoty Cove Pond à Bay Bulls que dans le cadre de son travail sur le plan national pour Hockey Canada et Hockey Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Ken a toujours trouvé des façons de redonner au sport et de participer à l'essor du hockey partout dans le Canada atlantique.

Après une courte carrière de joueur dans la Southern Shore Junior League, Ken a réintégré le monde du hockey dans les coulisses. En 1986, il a été décidé de construire un aréna sur la rive sud, et Ken a été l'un des principaux acteurs de ce projet jusqu'à son achèvement.

Lorsqu'est venu le moment de choisir un responsable de l'aréna, Ken était un choix évident, et, peu de temps après, il est devenu président fondateur de l'Association de hockey mineur Southern Shore, une organisation dans laquelle il s'investit toujours près de trente ans plus tard.

Il n'a toutefois pas tardé à diversifier ses activités dans le monde du hockey. Ken a joué un rôle important dans l'organisation de l'Avalon West Hockey League, ayant été son premier président en 1993, en plus de se proposer comme trésorier pour l'Avalon East League.

Il s'est intéressé au hockey féminin et a joué un rôle clé dans la renaissance du hockey féminin senior dans la province, s'efforçant de redonner du lustre à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador à l'échelle nationale. Il a été administrateur au sein du comité provincial du hockey féminin pendant plusieurs années, laissant une marque profonde dans ce milieu.

C'est avec fierté que Ken a présidé le conseil du hockey senior de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, et il était honoré d'agir à titre de représentant auprès de Hockey Canada pour faire la promotion de l'importance du hockey senior à l'échelle nationale.

Compte tenu de son immense apport au hockey, c'est sans surprise que Ken a eu l'honneur d'être intronisé au Temple de la renommée du hockey de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, un juste hommage pour cet homme qui a tant donné au sport.


Ordre du mérite (Ouest)

Personne qui a fidèlement servi le hockey amateur

Gary Vvian

Dès ses débuts, Hockey Nord a pu compter sur la présence de Gary Vivian. On l'associe désormais d'emblée à cette division membre, au sein de laquelle il a joué de nombreux rôles au fil des 20 dernières années. C'est donc sans surprise que Gary est lauréat de l'Ordre du mérite de Hockey Canada.

À ses débuts derrière le banc en 1977 – année où il est déménagé de Calgary à Yellowknife –, Gary est devenu l'un des entraîneurs connaissant le plus de succès dans le Nord. Il a remporté l'or et l'argent aux Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique en 1998 et en 2000 et il a travaillé avec les équipes midgets qui ont participé aux éliminatoires de la Coupe Canada en 2001 et en 2002.

Pourtant, aussi bon fût-il comme entraîneur, sa véritable vocation était dans le travail en coulisses. En 1991, il est devenu président de l'Association de hockey mineur de Yellowknife, un poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'en 1997, où il s'est joint à Hockey Nord, qui venait alors d'être créée, en tant que membre du conseil d’administration.

Il a rapidement exploré les différents volets de l'organisation, notamment comme membre du conseil du hockey senior, du conseil du hockey mineur et du conseil de développement du hockey, ce qui lui a donné accès à Hockey Canada et à une plateforme nationale.

Gary a toujours été un ardent défenseur du hockey dans le Nord, malgré les défis qui s’y rattachent. Hockey Nord a le moins grand nombre d'inscriptions parmi les divisions membres, mais couvre un territoire immense où des milliers de kilomètres séparent les associations de hockey mineur.

En 2004, il a été nommé président de Hockey Nord, devenant par le fait même membre du conseil d’administration de Hockey Canada et se voyant ainsi décerné une place méritée parmi les décideurs du hockey, où il pouvait faire entendre sa voix et mettre à profit sa passion.

Il a passé 11 ans comme président avant de quitter son poste en 2015, mais il demeure le président sortant et le trésorier, continuant de soutenir la division membre de toutes les façons possibles.

De plus, Gary a réalisé tous ces accomplissements parallèlement à une carrière à temps plein en tant que géoscientifique émérite. En 2014, il a reçu le Prix canadien du géoscientifique professionnel, une preuve qu'il se passionne autant pour son travail quotidien que pour son bénévolat au hockey.

Gary est un fier représentant des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de l'ensemble du Nord, toujours prêt à relever tous les défis et à accomplir toutes les tâches en vue du développement et de l'essor du hockey.


Ordre du mérite (Centrale)

Personne qui a fidèlement servi le hockey amateur

Brad Grant

Les chefs de file de notre sport deviennent des meneurs pour différentes raisons. Certains suivent une progression naturelle, certains sont motivés par un désir d'améliorer le hockey et certains sentent que le moment est bien choisi et qu'ils ont quelque chose à offrir. Dans le cas de Brad Grant, président de l'Association de hockey de l'Ontario et lauréat de l'Ordre du mérite de Hockey Canada, toutes ces raisons s'appliquent.

Pendant plus de 30 ans, à partir du moment où il a sauvé les Merchants de Milton, sa ville d’origine, en 1986, Brad a travaillé à l'essor du hockey dans sa ville et dans sa province.

Ce qui était initialement un plan sur trois ans pour les Merchants est devenu une période de 15 ans pendant laquelle il a été propriétaire de l'équipe. Cette période a été marquée par un passage du junior B au junior A en 1993, cinq titres de division consécutifs, sept championnats en saison régulière en neuf ans et une participation en demi-finale à la Coupe Banque Royale en 1998.

L'équipe avait un parcours gagnant sur la glace, mais Brad s'intéressait surtout aux succès individuels, aidant les joueurs à passer à des catégories supérieures au hockey et à décrocher des bourses pour poursuivre leurs études.

Les Merchants avaient du succès à Milton, mais Brad savait qu'il avait plus à offrir au hockey. Lors de la fondation de l'Ontario Provincial Junior Hockey League en 1998, Brad en a été le premier président. Il a participé à l'établissement de la direction de la nouvelle ligue et il est devenu membre du conseil d’administration de l'OHA.

Il a agi à titre de président des finances de l'OHA pendant 14 ans avant de devenir le président de l'organisation, portant son regard vers l'avenir et dressant une liste de tâches nécessaires à l'essor du hockey partout dans la province.

La sécurité des joueurs, le succès à long terme des catégories junior B et junior C ainsi que des modifications à l'acte constitutif sont ses chevaux de bataille actuels dans sa quête pour développer le hockey et le laisser en bonnes mains pour la prochaine génération.

Camionneur de métier responsable d’une flotte de plus de 220 camions qui parcourent les routes dans l'est du Canada et les États-Unis, Brad n'a pas peur des tâches d'envergure, et c'est son expérience ainsi que sa capacité à effectuer ces tâches avec ingéniosité et créativité qui lui valent le respect de la communauté de hockey en Ontario.


Prix Hal-Lewis

Employé(e) de l'année de Hockey Canada

Paul Delparte

Architecte des succès financiers de Hockey Canada au cours des 20 dernières années, Paul Delparte est respecté par d’innombrables intervenants dans le domaine du hockey au Canada – tant dans les bureaux de Hockey Canada qu’ailleurs. C’est pourquoi Paul, qui écoule ses derniers jours à titre de chef des finances, est le lauréat du prix Hal-Lewis à titre d’employé de l’année, tel que voté par le personnel de Hockey Canada.

Gagnant de ce prix en 2002, Paul s’est d’abord joint à Hockey Canada en tant qu’adjoint administratif en 1979, gravissant ensuite les échelons de l’organisation jusqu’au poste de vice-président des finances en 1996, puis de chef des finances en 2010. Il a joué un rôle clé dans la fusion de Hockey Canada et de l’ACHA au milieu des années 1990, où il a quitté le bureau d’Ottawa pour celui de Calgary.

Paul, qui prend sa retraite cet été, laisse derrière lui un héritage de stabilité financière, et sa marque se fera ressentir pendant longtemps au sein de l’organisation.


Prix Liz MacKinnon

Contribution spéciale du conjoint ou de la conjointe d'un bénévole du Hockey Canada

Sherry Roberts

Vidéos
Photos
AAEC : La concrétisation d’un rêve pour KPMG
Pour une 10e année, l’Association des anciens d’Équipe Canada et KPMG se sont associées pour offrir un match de rêve à des clients à Calgary.
AAHC 2018 : Une ronde de golf pour le hockey
Avec l’appui de 30 commanditaires, 150 golfeurs ont bravé le froid pour disputer une ronde de golf le 18 septembre au Lakeside Greens Golf Club, à Chestermere, Alb.
FHC 2018 : Le monde du hockey canadien se réunit au gala
Gala et tournoi de golf de la Fondation Hockey Canada.