2012 RBC Cup

Woodstock Slammers (EST) 4 - Humboldt Broncos (HST) 3


HUMBOLDT, Sask. – Ben MacSwain was the overtime hero just 35 seconds into the extra period as the Woodstock Slammers advanced to the championship game at the 2012 RBC Cup with a 4-3 semifinal win over the Humboldt Broncos on Saturday afternoon.

The victory makes the Slammers the first team from the Maritime Hockey League to reach the final (Sunday, 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT, TSN2) since the Halifax Oland Exports won the national title in 2002, and the second East Region team in a row to play on the final Sunday – the Pembroke Lumber Kings were RBC Cup champions last year.

MacSwain found a loose puck in the Humboldt crease and flipped it past Broncos netminder Matt Hrynkiw to complete Woodstock’s comeback from 2-0 and 3-2 deficits and make the Slammers the first team to reach their final in their first-ever appearance at the national championship since the Prince George Spruce Kings in 2007.

Tim Campbell scored twice and Sam Caldwell had the other goal for Woodstock, which got all three of its goals in regulation time from defencemen.

Down 2-0 early in the second period, Campbell’s shot from the point hit a Humboldt player on the way through and eluded Hrynkiw, and he tied the game just under five minutes later on a Woodstock power play, streaking down the left wing and going bar-down on Hrynkiw.

Logan Sproule restored Humboldt’s lead late in the middle frame, but Caldwell tied it up 6:24 into the third, hammering home a point shot on another Slammers power play, setting up MacSwain’s heroics.

Ryan Marshall and John Lawrence scored the other two goals for the Broncos, both on first period power plays.  Humboldt, which finished atop the preliminary round standings with a perfect 4-0 record, became the second host team in four years to lose in overtime in the semifinals – the Broncos beat Victoria 3-2 in 2009.

The Broncos’ loss extends the host team’s championship to drought to seven years – the 2005 Weyburn Red Wings were the last host team to hoist the RBC Cup on home ice.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/No. de match 11 Round/Ronde Semifinal
Arena/Aréna Elgar Petersen Arena
Location/Lieu Humboldt, Sask.
Date 05/12/2012 Time/Heure 02:00 PM MT
Attendance/Assistance 1756 Game Status/État du match


Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 OT1 Total
EST 0 2 1 1 4
HST 2 1 0 0 3


Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
17:52 HST 15 Ryan Marshall (26 Andrew Johnston, 27 Andrew Herle) PP/AN
19:21 HST 18 John Lawrence  PP/AN

Penalties/Pénaltés :

01:13 EST 24 Jake Logan (Elbowing/Donner du coude)
06:54 EST 24 Jake Logan (Unsportsmanlike Cnd./Conduite antisportive)
06:54 HST 16 Adam Antkowiak (Unsportsmanlike Cnd./Conduite antisportive)
15:26 HST 27 Andrew Herle (Inter. on Goaltender/Obstruction sur le gardien)
16:07 EST 13 Nick Huard (Hooking/Accrocher)
18:28 EST 18 Philip Fife (Inter. on Goaltender/Obstruction sur le gardien)
19:47 HST 24 Taylor Duzan (Interference/Obstruction)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
04:44 EST 15 Tim Campbell (22 Ben Miller, 21 Evan Carmody)
09:27 EST 15 Tim Campbell (23 Zach Shannon, 21 Evan Carmody) PP /AN
18:47 HST 20 Logan Sproule (15 Ryan Marshall, 26 Andrew Johnston)

Penalties/Pénaltés :
02:03 EST 24 Jake Logan (Boarding/Donner de la bande)
05:21 HST 21 Mathew Backhouse (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
07:50 HST 8 Adam Zbitniff (Interference/Obstruction)
10:14 EST 61 Ben MacSwain (Tripping/Faire trébucher)
19:27 EST 24 Jake Logan (High Sticking/Bâton élevé)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
06:24 EST 3 Sam Caldwell (15 Tim Campbell, 26 Andrew Langan) PP/AN

Penalties/Pénaltés :
04:24 HST 3 Nathan Hudema (Major - Checking to the Head/Majeur - Mise en échec à la tête)
04:24 HST 3 Nathan Hudema (Game Misconduct/Extrême inconduite)
16:16 EST 28 Ryan Purvis (Interference/Obstruction)
16:16 HST 21 Mathew Backhouse (Cross Checking/Double-échec)
17:24 EST 24 Jake Logan (Roughing/Rudesse)
17:24 HST 16 Adam Antkowiak (Roughing/Rudesse)
Goals/Buts :
00:35 EST 61 Ben MacSwain (7 Connor Tresham, 14 Bradley Greene)

Penalties/Pénaltés :


Goaltenders/Gardiens de but
EST Matt Murphy
HST Matt Hrynkiw


Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 OT1 Total
EST 3 14 6 1 24
HST 15 16 11 1 43


Players of the Game/Joueurs du match
EST Tim Campbell
HST Ryan Marshall


Referee/Arbitre Adam Byblow, Devin Piccott
Lines People/Juges de lignes
Sean Dufour, Derek Craig
Wednesday, May 9, 2012
7:30 PM MT
WST 1 - PAC 3
Thursday, May 10, 2012
3:00 PM MT
EST 4 - CEN 7
7:30 PM MT
WST 3 - HST 5
Saturday, May 12, 2012
2:00 PM MT
EST 4 - HST 3
6:00 PM MT
PAC 3 - CEN 0
Sunday, May 13, 2012
5:30 PM MT
EST 3 - PAC 4

CLICK HERE for complete event schedule