2009 RBC Cup

Humboldt Broncos  1 -  Vernon Vipers  7


VICTORIA, B.C. – Fans of the Vernon Vipers call it the Drive for Five, and the team’s quest for a fifth National Junior A Championship is alive and well at the 2009 RBC Cup.

2009 RBC Cup Photo Gallery

Post-game audio: PAC - Mark Ferner | WST - Dean Brockman

Rob Short scored once and set up two others and the Vipers opened up a 4-0 second-period lead en route to a convincing 7-1 win over the Humboldt Broncos – last year’s RBC Cup champions – on Monday night at Bear Mountain Arena, taking over first place with a perfect 2-0 record.

The Vipers notched a pair of quick goals late in the first period – Short’s shorthanded marker was followed 2:10 later by a Ryan Santana goal – and goals from Cole Ikkala, Mike Collins and Kellen Jones chased Humboldt starter Mathieu LaRochelle with three goals in less than six minutes in the second to open up a four-goal lead.

Chris Crowell and Sahir Gill also scored goals for Vernon, who are looking to become the all-time winningest team in National Junior A Championship history. They currently sit tied with the Prince Albert Raiders with four national titles.

Joel Belair had the lone goal for Humboldt, which suffered its first loss. The Broncos are looking to make a little history of their own – no team since Vernon in 1990 and 1991 has repeated as national champions.

Vernon is right back on the ice on Tuesday night, facing their BCHL rivals from Victoria in the day’s lone game (7 p.m. PT), while the Broncos see action next on Wednesday, when they face Kingston (2 p.m. PT).

Tickets to all games at the 2009 RBC Cup are available by contacting the Victoria Grizzlies box office at 250-385-1555, or at info@victoriagrizzlies.com


Game Information
Game Number Round Preliminary
Arena Bear Mountain Arena City, Country Victoria, B.C., Canada
Month / Day / Year 05/04/2009 Time (local) 07:00 PM PT
Attendance 1385 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Humboldt Broncos (WST) 0 1 0 1
Vernon Vipers (PAC) 2 3 2 7
First Period
   15:39 PAC 20 Rob Short (14 Braden Pimm) SH
   17:49 PAC 27 Ryan Santana (20 Rob Short, 28 Adam Thompson)

   04:21 WST 5 Brady Wacker (Roughing)
   09:25 WST 27 Nick Kalnicki (Cross Checking)
   14:33 PAC 4 Cody Ikkala (Boarding)
   19:35 PAC 2 Kevin Kraus (Interference)

Second Period
   03:44 PAC 12 Cole Ikkala (20 Rob Short, 2 Kevin Kraus)
   07:43 PAC 5 Mike Collins (14 Braden Pimm, 3 Kyle Bigos) PP
   08:06 WST 18 Joel Belair (15 Kyle Cowan, 6 Mitchell Peeke)
   09:15 PAC 15 Kellen Jones (26 Bryce Kakoske, 3 Kyle Bigos)

   06:58 WST 7 Scott Schroeder (Holding)
   09:23 WST 27 Nick Kalnicki (Slashing)
   15:53 PAC 26 Bryce Kakoske (Holding)

Third Period
   02:59 PAC 18 Chris Crowell (5 Mike Collins, 14 Braden Pimm)
   14:16 PAC 17 Sahir Gill (3 Kyle Bigos, 10 Connor Jones)

   03:32 WST 8 Bryce Walker (Hooking)
   08:00 WST 7 Scott Schroeder (Interference)
   11:50 WST 25 Tanner Vandesype (Interference)

Humboldt Broncos
31 Mathieu Larochelle On 1/20:00   Off 2/09:15
1 Andrew Bodnarchuk On 2/09:16   Off 3/20:00
Vernon Vipers
1 Andrew Hammond On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Humboldt Broncos 8 7 5 20
Vernon Vipers 10 10 10 30

Player of Game
Humboldt Broncos 23 Tory Allan
Vernon Vipers 20 Rob Short
Referee Jonathan Trudel
Lines People Clay Richardson, Chris Sweeting
Goal Judge Rob Collier, Mel Chartrand