2019 20 nmt dec 28 can hcd

Canada’s National Men’s Team roster announced for 2022 Spengler Cup

25-player roster includes three returnees from championship-winning 2019 team

December 22, 2022

CALGARY, Alta. Twenty-five players have been named to Canada’s National Men’s Team, looking to bring home a 17th championship at the 2022 Spengler Cup, Dec. 26-31 in Davos, Switzerland.

The roster includes three players who helped Canada to the tournament title in 2019 – David Desharnais (Laurier-Station, Que./HC Fribourg-Gottéron, NL), Chris DiDomenico (Woodbridge, Ont./SC Bern, NL) and Daniel Winnik (Toronto, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, NL). Desharnais and Winnik also represented Canada at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing, China.

Two goaltenders, eight defencemen and 15 forwards were selected by general manager Shane Doan (Halkirk, Alta.), Tyler Dietrich (West Vancouver, B.C.), director of hockey operations with Hockey Canada and the management group comprised of Ray Whitney (Fort Saskatchewan, Alta.), Daniel Brière (Gatineau, Que./Philadelphia, NHL) and Andrew Ebbett (Vernon, B.C./SC Bern, NL). Team Canada head coach Travis Green (Castlegar, B.C.) also provided input in player selections.

“It’s an exciting group of players we have assembled as we begin another quest for a Spengler Cup championship in Switzerland,” said Doan. “Our roster has plenty of experience in short-term competition, including previous Spengler Cups, and significant experience playing in some of the best leagues in the world. We are confident the group we have named today will represent the country with pride and compete hard for a 17th tournament title.”

The Spengler Cup is internationally recognized as the oldest club tournament in the world. Canada won its fourth title in five years and record-setting 16th overall when the tournament was last held in 2019. It was not played in 2020 or 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Canada is grouped with host HC Davos and HC Sparta Prague for the preliminary round and will open the 2022 Spengler Cup on Dec. 26 at 2:15 p.m. ET/11:15 a.m. PT against HC Sparta Prague. Preliminary-round action wraps up on Dec. 28, with the championship game set for Dec. 31.

Hockey Canada’s official broadcast partner TSN will broadcast all 11 games from the tournament; check local listings for details.

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Men’s Team, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow through social media on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

Recent News
Most Popular
2023 Men’s U18 Club Nationals: Day 4 – Thursday, April 27
The Blazers, Blizzard and Gaulois won to stay in the winner’s circle.
2023 Esso Cup: April 26 (Preliminary)
The Rush, Sabres and Rebels secured wins on Day 4 of the 2023 Esso Cup.
2023 Esso Cup: April 25 (Preliminary)
The Sabres, Rush and Étoiles earned points on Tuesday at the Esso Cup.
2023 Esso Cup April 24 (Preliminary)
The Sabres, Selects and Rush notched wins on Monday at the Esso Cup.