2019 ipc worlds roster announcment
Canada finalizes roster for IPC world championship
Seventeen players to wear Maple Leaf and defend worlds gold in Ostrava
April 9, 2019

CALGARY, Alta. – Canada’s National Para Hockey Team  has finalized its roster and is set to defend its world title at the 2019 IPC World Para Hockey Championship, April 27-May 4 in Ostrava, Czech Republic. 

Canada’s coaching and management staff selected the 17 players following a season of training camps and international competition, which included a silver-medal performance at the 2018 Canadian Tire Para Hockey Cup in London, Ont., and a two-game series split against the United States in Indian Trail, N.C., last month.

“Having to narrow it down is never easy, but the team we put together has the right mix of skill, speed and experience to give us the best chance at a gold medal,” said head coach Ken Babey. “They’ve been putting in the work individually, and their improvement over the season has been noticeable on the ice. We’re confident that our individual abilities, team tactics and team spirit will give us an opportunity to compete for gold.”

The roster, which includes two goaltenders, six defencemen and nine forwards, is a mix of internationally-seasoned veterans and youth. It includes:

  • Four players making their world championship debut (Crane, Lavin, Lehoux, Riley);
  • 12 players who won gold at the 2017 IPC World Para Hockey Championship (Armstrong, Bridges, Cozzolino, Gemmell, Henry, Hickey, Larocque, McGregor, Smith, Sorley, Watson, Westlake);
  • 12 players who earned silver at the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games (Armstrong, Bridges, Cozzolino, Dunn, Gemmell, Henry, Hickey, Larocque, McGregor, Smith, Watson, Westlake); and
  • 16 players who took silver at the 2018 Canadian Tire Para Hockey Cup (Armstrong, Bridges, Cozzolino, Crane, Dunn, Gemmell, Henry, Hickey, Larocque, Lavin, Lehoux, McGregor, Riley, Smith, Sorley, Watson).

Canada is a four-time gold medallist at the IPC World Para Hockey Championship (2000, 2008, 2013, 2017), along with one silver medal (2015) and three bronze (1996, 2009, 2012). Only once since the first para worlds in 1996 has Canada failed to make the podium.

For more information on the Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Para Hockey Team and Canada’s para hockey programs, visit HockeyCanada.ca and follow along via social media at Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)
[email protected]


2019 MWC: FIN 3 – CAN 1 (Gold Medal)
Theodore scored, but Canada was left with silver in Bratislava.
2019 MWC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Semifinal)
Matt Murray stopped 40 shots to lead Canada to the gold medal game.
2019 MWC: CAN 3 – SUI 2 OT (Quarter-final)
Severson tied it late and Stone scored in OT to give Canada the win.
2019 MWC: CAN 3 – USA 0 (Preliminary)
Murray stopped 28 shots to backstop Canada to top spot in Group A.