2016 jersey 03

Canada’s National Para Hockey Team announces roster for 2019-20 season

20 players to wear the Maple Leaf in international competition

September 7, 2019

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada has announced the 20 players that will be part of Canada’s National Para Hockey Team during the 2019-20 season.

The roster includes 18 players who have previously donned the Canadian jersey, including 14 who earned a silver medal last spring at the 2019 IPC World Para Hockey Championship in Ostrava, Czech Republic (Armstrong, Bridges, Cozzolino, Crane, Dunn, Henry, Hickey, Larocque, Lavin, Lehoux, McGregor, Smith, Watson, Westlake), and two players who will be national team rookies (Halbert, Sison).

Canada’s National Para Hockey Team for the 2019-20 season includes:

  • Goaltenders Dominic Larocque (Quebec City) and Corbin Watson (Kingsville, Ont.)
  • Defencemen Rod Crane (Clarksburg, Ont.), Tyrone Henry (Ottawa), Liam Hickey (St. John’s, N.L.), Micah Kovacevich (Edmonton), Branden Sison (Edmonton) and Greg Westlake (Oakville, Ont.).
  • Forwards Rob Armstrong (Mississauga, Ont.), Alexis Auclair (Saint- Hyacinthe, Que.), Billy Bridges (Summerside, P.E.I.), Dominic Cozzolino (Mississauga, Ont.), Cody Dolan (Calgary), James Dunn (Wallacetown, Ont.), Auren Halbert (Calgary), Anton Jacobs-Webb (Gatineau, Que.), Zach Lavin (Okotoks, Alta.), Antoine Lehoux (Thetford Mines, Que.), Tyler McGregor (Forest, Ont.) and Corbyn Smith (Monkton, Ont.)

“We’re excited about the group of players we have named to Team Canada,” said head coach Ken Babey (Saskatoon, Sask.). “The level of competition during selection camp was high, and we knew coming in there would be tough decisions ahead of us. I think it’s a great mix of skill, speed and experience, and we’re looking forward to getting the season going.”

After a week of on-and off-ice sessions at selection camp that included practices, fitness testing, lectures, workshops, intrasquad games and match-ups against Japan’s national team, Babey selected the roster with support from assistant coaches Mike Foligno (Sudbury, Ont.) and Mike Fountain (Gravenhurst, Ont.), along with Hockey Canada’s management group.

Next up, players will participate in training and regional camps before a roster is named for the 2019 Canadian Tire Para Hockey Cup, Dec. 1-7 in Paradise, N.L.

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Para Hockey Team, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow through social media on FacebookTwitter, and Twitter.com/HC_Para.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Recent News
Most Popular
2021-22 NPT: WHT 3 – RED 2 SO (Intrasquad)
Dolan scored in the shootout to lead White to the victory.
2021-22 NPT: RED 4 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
McGregor scored two and set up two to lead Red to the victory.
2021 WWC: CAN 3 – USA 2 OT (Gold Medal)
Poulin scored the OT winner to give Canada its 11th world title.
2021 WWC: CAN 4 – SUI 0 (Semifinal)
Daoust scored again, netting two to lead Canada into the gold medal game.