Hockey Canada’s National Award Winners announced; Annie Orton of Blairmore, Alberta, named Outstanding Volunteer of the Year
May 24, 2013

CHARLOTTETOWN, P.E.I. – Hockey Canada honoured community leaders from across the country during the annual awards banquet Friday night, held as part of the governing body’s 94th Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Delta Prince Edward.

The 2013 Outstanding Volunteer Award went to Annie Orton, of Blaimore, Alta. Orton has been dedicated to the game of hockey at the local level, provincial or national level for over 30 years now. A mother of two sons in the game, her involvement started with the volunteer board of the Crowsnest Pass Minor Hockey Association, where she also coached or managed teams, and she chaired the committee that organized provincial tournaments in both 1992 and 1998. Orton joined Hockey Alberta as Zone 5 discipline coordinator, moving up the ranks until she became Hockey Alberta’s president in 2009.

The 10 Hockey Canada national award winners are as follows:

Female Hockey Breakthrough Award
(outstanding contribution to advancing female hockey)
Karen Hughes (Scarborough, Ont.)

Liz MacKinnon Award
(special contributions of a Hockey Canada volunteer’s spouse)
Susan Pitcher (Windsor, Nfld.)

Hal Lewis Award
(Hockey Canada staff person who best exemplifies the spirit of the organization)
Jonah McEachern (Regina, Sask.)

Gordon Juckes Award
(outstanding contribution to the development of amateur hockey at the national level)
Rick Polutnik (Red Deer, Alta.)

Officiating Award
(outstanding contribution to officiating at the branch and national level)
Dr. Maurice Roy (Grand Falls, N.B.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Atlantic
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Nancy Orr (Hunter River, P.E.I.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Central
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Claude Gauthier (Montreal, Que.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – West
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Jerrold Lemko (Vegreville, Alta.)

Outstanding Volunteer Award
(outstanding volunteer work in amateur hockey and Hockey Canada)
Annie Orton (Blairmore, Alta.)

Nominations for all awards were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 member branches and the winners were chosen by Hockey Canada’s selection committee. The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depends heavily on volunteers and Hockey Canada is pleased to recognize the individuals who contribute greatly to the game of hockey across the country.

More than 250 representatives from regional and provincial hockey associations are in Charlottetown for Hockey Canada’s 94th Annual General Meeting, which started Thursday, May 23 and concludes Sunday, May 26.

For more information on Hockey Canada, please visit

Follow Hockey Canada through social media at, and

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 5 – NOR 4 SO (Preliminary)
Giaquinto and Gibbons scored in the SO to help the Canadettes survive.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
Buchanan and McDowell scored to help the Hurricanes edge the hosts.