2012 RBC Cup Award Winners Announced; Semifinals Set for Saturday
May 11, 2012

HUMBOLDT, Sask. – The 2012 RBC Cup, Canada's 42nd National Junior A Championship, held its awards banquet on Friday night at the Humboldt Uniplex. The recipients of all six individual awards were announced at the banquet.

The awards were based on the tournament's preliminary round, which ran from Saturday to Thursday.

The 2012 RBC Cup award winners are:

Most Valuable Player (Roland Mercier Trophy) – John Kleinhans (Soo Thunderbirds)

Top Goaltender – John Kleinhans (Soo Thunderbirds)

Top Forward – Andrew Johnston (Humboldt Broncos)

Top Defenceman – Troy Stecher (Penticton Vees)

Most Sportsmanlike Player (Tubby Schmalz Trophy) – Micky Sartoretto (Soo Thunderbirds)

Top Scorer – Andrew Johnston (Humboldt Broncos)

In addition, Stouffville Spirit (Ontario Junior Hockey League) forward Christian Finch was presented with the 2012 RBC Canadian Junior Hockey League Player of the Year award. A defenceman until the start of the 2010-11 season, Finch has settled right in at forward for the Spirit, taking home the OJHL scoring title this year with 104 points (37 goals, 67 assists), 18 more than any other Ontario leaguer. He was rewarded for his offensive efforts, taking home the OJHL MVP award and earning a spot on the league’s First All-Star Team.

Theodore Hannah of the Carleton Place Canadians (Central Canada Hockey League) was on hand in Humboldt to receive the RBC National Junior A Scholarship. Hannah was chosen from 10 finalists – one from each of the Canadian Junior Hockey League's member leagues – to receive the $5,000 scholarship.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarships were also handed out at the awards banquet. Established following the 2004 RBC Royal Bank Cup in Grande Prairie, Alta. and contributed to following successful National Junior A Championships in Weyburn, Sask., Prince George, B.C., and Cornwall, Ont., these $500 scholarships are awarded to one graduating 20-year-old player from each of the five participating teams.

The RBC Cup Legacy Scholarship winners are:

Humboldt Broncos – Ryan Marshall

Penticton Vees – Kyle Beaulieu

Portage Terriers – Cody Kostecki

Soo Thunderbirds – Kris Barclay

Woodstock Slammers – Tim Campbell

After six days of preliminary round action, the semifinals are set for Saturday. In the early game at 2 p.m. MT, the host Humboldt Broncos (4-0) will face the Woodstock Slammers (1-3), while the Soo Thunderbirds (2-2) will face the Penticton Vees (2-2) in the late semifinal at 6 p.m. MT.

The semifinal winners will meet in Sunday’s championship game, which can be seen at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on TSN2/RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcasters (check your local listings). Both semifinals can be seen live via webcast through FASTHockey at hockeycanada.fasthockey.com. Fans can watch all the action for free by following three steps:

STEP 1: Visit hockeycanada.fasthockey.com and sign up for a free FASTHockey account.

STEP 2: Like the RBC Cup on Facebook at www.facebook.com/rbccup.

STEP 3: Just prior to the game, click the RBC Cup LIVE link on the RBC Cup Facebook page to watch.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Keegan Goodrich, Hockey Canada’s coordinator of media relations, will be on site at the 2012 RBC Cup and will be the media contact for interviews, information or photos. He can be reached at 403-519-5754 or kgoodrich@hockeycanada.ca.

For more information on the 2012 RBC Cup, visit www.hockeycanada.ca/rbccup, or follow the tournament via social media at www.facebook.com/rbccup and www.twitter.com/hc_rbccup.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 5 – NOR 4 SO (Preliminary)
Giaquinto and Gibbons scored in the SO to help the Canadettes survive.
2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 4 – MON 1 (Preliminary)
Poirier made 35 saves to backstop the Cantonniers past the Flyers.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – LAN 0 (Preliminary)
Kliewer made 19 saves and the Stars earned a second-straight shutout.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 2 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
Buchanan and McDowell scored to help the Hurricanes edge the hosts.