image 315ffa2fcbc860de5e29634d7552a27b

2010 TELUS Cup Award Winners Announced

April 24, 2010

LÉVIS, Que. – Some hardware was handed out at the 2010 TELUS Cup on Saturday afternoon, as individual award winners were announced at a banquet at the Lévis Convention Centre.

Slater Koekkoek (Mountain, Ont.) of the Notre Dame Hounds was named most valuable player. Koekkoek also grabbed top defenceman honours, one of two players to win multiple awards.

The other one was Zach O’Brien (St. John’s, N.L.) of the St. John’s Fog Devils, who took home the top scorer and top forward honours.

2010 TELUS Cup award winners

TELUS most valuable player/TELUS scholarship 

Slater Koekkoek (Mountain, Ont.), Notre Dame Hounds

Top goaltender 

Scott Bray (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

Top forward

Zach O’Brien (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

Top defenceman 

Slater Koekkoek (Mountain, Ont.), Notre Dame Hounds

Most sportsmanlike player

Alexandre Lemieux (Beloeil, Que.), Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard

Top scorer

Zach O’Brien (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

Esso scholarship

Andrew Sullivan (St. John’s, N.L.), St. John’s Fog Devils

The 2010 TELUS Cup continues on Saturday with two semifinal games. The St. John’s Fog Devils will meet the Notre Dame Hounds and the Mississauga Reps will take on the Gaulois du Collège Antoine-Girouard.

The winners will advance to Sunday’s gold medal game at 2:30 p.m. ET, a game that can be seen on TSN and RDS (check local listings for specific broadcast times).

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Recent News
Most Popular
2021-22 NPT: WHT 3 – RED 2 SO (Intrasquad)
Dolan scored in the shootout to lead White to the victory.
2021-22 NPT: RED 4 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
McGregor scored two and set up two to lead Red to the victory.
2021 WWC: CAN 3 – USA 2 OT (Gold Medal)
Poulin scored the OT winner to give Canada its 11th world title.
2021 WWC: CAN 4 – SUI 0 (Semifinal)
Daoust scored again, netting two to lead Canada into the gold medal game.