2015 mwc can goal celeb ennis eakin 640
© Andre Ringuette/HHOF-IIHF Images

Canada’s National Men’s Team wins gold medal at 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship

May 17, 2015

PRAGUE, Czech Republic – Canada’s National Men’s Team has won the gold medal at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship after a 6-1 victory over Russia in Sunday’s gold medal game.

It’s Canada’s 19th gold medal at the world championship since 1931 (not including Olympic tournaments that also counted as world championships). Canada has now won 19 gold, 11 silver and six bronze since 1931.

On Sunday, Sidney Crosby (Cole Harbour, N.S./Pittsburgh, NHL), Tyler Ennis (Edmonton, Alta./Buffalo, NHL) and Claude Giroux (Hearst, Ont./Philadelphia, NHL) had a goal and an assist each for the Canadians, who scored the game’s first six goals and held the Russians to just 12 shots on goal. Cody Eakin (Winnipeg, Man./Dallas, NHL), Tyler Seguin (Brampton, Ont./Dallas, NHL) and Nathan MacKinnon (Cole Harbour, N.S./Colorado, NHL) also scored for the Canada, and Mike Smith (Kingston, Ont./Arizona, NHL) made 11 saves to record his eighth win of the tournament.

Following the game, Jason Spezza (Toronto, Ont./Dallas, NHL) was named Top Forward by the IIHF directorate, and Brent Burns (Barrie, Ont./San Jose, NHL) earned Top Defenceman honours.

Spezza and Burns were joined by Taylor Hall (Kingston, Ont./Edmonton, NHL) on the media all-star team.

The gold medal makes Crosby the 26th member, and ninth Canadian, in the IIHF Triple Gold Club; membership is reserved for players who have won gold at the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship and Olympic Winter Games, as well as a Stanley Cup championship.

Canada finished atop Group A with a perfect 7-0 record in the preliminary round, including wins over Latvia (6-1), Germany (10-0), the Czech Republic (6-3), Sweden (6-4), France (4-3), Switzerland (7-2) and Austria (10-1), and beat Belarus in 9-0 in its quarter-final on Thursday and the Czech Republic 2-0 in the semifinals on Saturday. 


Players and staff will return to North America on Monday, May 18. See below for specific flight itineraries for Canada’s players and staff. Information is listed alphabetically by FINAL destination. Arrival times are all LOCAL TIMES. Flight information may change without notice.

Calgary, Alta. / AC845 / 3:10 p.m.
Jordan Eberle, Tom Renney (president and chief executive officer), Scott Salmond (vice-president, hockey operations/national teams)

Dallas, Texas / UA6364 / 7:32 p.m.
Cody Eakin

Dallas, Texas / AA79 / 7:30 p.m.
Jim Nill (general manager)

Denver, Colo. / LH446 / 3:42 p.m.
Matt Duchene, Ryan O’Reilly

Detroit, Mich. / AC8023 / 6 p.m.
Aaron Ekblad, George McPhee (management group)

Detroit, Mich. / DL135 / 12:17 p.m.
Pat Verbeek (management group)

Kingston, Ont. / AC7256 / 5:07 p.m.
Taylor Hall

Montreal, Que. / LX86 / 4:34 p.m.
Sean Couturier

Newark, N.J. / DL271 / 3:39 p.m.
Peter DeBoer (assistant coach)

Ottawa, Ont. / AC8527 / 6:03 p.m.
Claude Giroux

Phoenix, Ariz. / UA1101/ 6:18 p.m.
Sean Burke (management group)

Quebec City, Que. / AC8768 / 5:41 p.m.
David Savard

San Francisco, Calif. / UA927 / 7:06 p.m.
Todd McLellan (head coach), Jay Woodcroft (assistant coach)

Toronto, Ont. / LH470 / 4:20 p.m.
Tyler Ennis, Mike Smith, Jason Spezza

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Men’s Team, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, or follow along through social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


2021-22 NWDT: BLU 3 – YEL 1 (Intrasquad)
Serdachny scored with one second left to send Blue past Yellow.
2021-22 POE: RED 7 – WHT 2 (Intrasquad)
Bolduc scored twice in the first period to help Red to the win.
2021-22 WU18: BLK 4 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
Duscio, Newhook and MacSween scored in the third period to lead Black.
2021-22 POE: WHT 9 – RED 8 (Intrasquad)
Ceulemans scored 51 seconds into OT to give White a wild win.