Canada 1 - Edmonton CAC Canadians 6

Canada defeated 6-1 by Edmonton CAC; crowd cheers on local Olympic star Szabados

by Kristen Lipscombe

EDMONTON, Alta. – Three games in four nights caught up with Canada’s National Women’s Team on Friday night, when the ladies in red and white were defeated 6-1 by the Edmonton CAC Canadians, despite putting all their efforts out on the ice at the end of a long road trip.

Nevertheless, Team Canada fans filled the Bill Hunter Arena, lining up for autographs from Mélodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Que./McGill University, CIS), Charline Labonté (Boisbriand, Que./Montreal, CWHL) and Marie-Philip Poulin,(Beauceville, Que./Boston University, HE) during the second intermission, and watching in eager anticipation as the puck soared up and down the ice. They cheered wildly for hometown girl Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alta./Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, ACAC), who made some fantastic saves and stayed confident through all three periods, despite the deficit on the scoreboard. The 2010 Olympic gold medallist faced 32 shots total over 60 minutes.

Edmonton CAC opened the scoring at 5:44 in the first on a goal from Cole Gammer, who scored two goals on the night. Canada held off the boys through the remainder of the period, but the middle frame ended up being a little tougher on the ladies, with Brendan Holterhus making it 2-0 just 30 seconds into the second, and two more goals scored against before the period ended.

But Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, CWHL) cut the Canadians' lead at 5:04 in the second, letting off a nice wrist shot that sent the puck flying into the opposition’s net, on an assist from Catherine Ward (Montreal, Que./Montreal CWHL), to make it 2-1. That would not only be Canada’s last goal of the period, but its last goal of the game, with Gammer scoring his second with 2:18 left on the clock before intermission and Tyler Benko notching his first of two in the final 48 seconds to make it 4-1 before the break. Benko’s goal came on a 5-on-3 power play for Edmonton CAC, with a couple of undisciplined Canadian penalties costing the canucks on the scoreboard.

The Canadians added two more in the third, from Benko on another power play midway through the period and Matthew Dykstra into an empty net with 2:44 left in the game. Canada had called a time-out and pulled Szabados in a final offensive attempt that ended up backfiring. Szabados stayed unfailingly cool and collected from the first puck drop to the final buzzer though, impressing her local fans nonetheless.

Szabados said it’s all about putting in the hard work now, so that Canada’s National Women’s Team can “peak in February” at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

Wakefield agreed playing Alberta Midget Hockey League teams such as Edmonton CAC is a “huge” step on the road to Sochi 2014.

“With the guys and their toughness, it’s really simulating games against the U.S.,” she told reporters after the game. “We played three games in four days, so we’re pretty tired, but even mentally we’re getting past barriers that we didn’t think were possible, so that’s helping us quite a bit.”

“We did a good job of creating opportunities and (getting) shots on net,” Wakefield said of Canada’s performance Friday night. “A few more bounces, and we could have easily been in the game.”

Canada’s National Women’s Team is headed back to Calgary to continue practising and training out of Hockey Canada’s home arena, the Markin MacPhail Centre. Its next Midget Series game is set for next Wednesday, Nov. 27 at 8:15 p.m. MT against the Calgary Buffaloes, in their home arena, the South Fish Creek Recreation Complex. Follow all the action this season at twitter.com/hc_women, www.facebook.com/hockeycanada and on Hockey Canada's official website at www.hockeycanada.ca/nwt.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/Match no
14 Round/Ronde Midget Series
Arena/Aréna Bill Hunter Arena Location/Lieu Edmonton, Alta.
Date Friday, November 22, 2013 Time/Heure 20:15 MT

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 0 1 0 1
EDM CAC
1 3 2 6

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
05:44 EDM CAC Cole Gammer (Joshua Harris, Ryan McKinnon)

Penalties/Pénalités :
12:28 EDM CAC Tyler Benko (Interference/Obstruction)
Second Period/Deuxième période
Goals/Buts :
00:30 EDM CAC Brendan Holterhus (Tyler Benko, Brayden Burke)
05:04 CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Catherine Ward)
17:45 EDM CAC Cole Gammer (Ryan McKinnon)
19:12 EDM CAC Tyler Benko (Brayden Burke, Brendan Holterhus) PP/AN
           
Penalties/Pénalités :
06:28 EDM CAC Brody Surette (Interference/Obstruction)
11:09 EDM CAC Josh Michener (Hooking/Accrocher)
18:24 CAN Vicki Bendus (Slashing/Coup de bâton)
18:24 CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Delay of Game/Retarder le match)
Third Period/Troisième période
Goals/Buts :
10:24 EDM CAC Tyler Benko (Brayden Burke, Matthew Benko) PP/AN
17:16 EDM CAC Matthew Dykstra EN/FD SH/DN

Penalties/Pénalités :
08:47 CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Hooking/Accrocher)
17:00 EDM CAC Holden Daley (Hooking/Accrocher)

 

Goaltenders/Gardien(ne)s de but
CAN Shannon Szabados
EDM CAC
Levi Nelson; Eric Szudor (in 2nd/13:45)

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 9 10 8 27
EDM CAC
10 11 11 32
Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close

Canada 1 - Edmonton CAC Canadians 6

Le Canada est battu 6-1 par le CAC d’Edmonton; la foule encourage la joueuse olympique locale Szabados

par Kristen Lipscombe

EDMONTON, Alb. – Trois matchs en quatre jours auront rattrapé l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada vendredi soir, les femmes vêtues de rouge et blanc s’inclinant par la marque de 6-1 devant le Canadian Athletic Club d’Edmonton malgré le fait qu’elles ont tout donné sur la glace à ce dernier match d’un long séjour sur la route.

Les amateurs étaient au rendez-vous à l’aréna Bill Hunter, faisant la queue pour des autographes de Mélodie Daoust (Valleyfield, Qc/Université McGill, SIC), Charline Labonté (Boisbriand, Qc/Montréal, LCHF) et Marie-Philip Poulin (Beauceville, Qc/Université de Boston, HE) pendant le deuxième entracte, et suivant attentivement le match. Ils ont vivement encouragé la joueuse locale, la gardienne Shannon Szabados (Edmonton, Alb./Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, ACAC), qui a réussi de superbes arrêts et a su rester confiante tout au long du match malgré le pointage. La médaillée d’or olympique de 2010 a affronté 32 tirs au total en 60 minutes de jeu.

Le CAC d’Edmonton a ouvert la marque à 5 min 44 s du premier tiers grâce au premier des deux buts de Cole Gammer. Les Canadiennes ont repoussé les garçons pour le reste de la période, mais le deuxième tiers aura été beaucoup plus difficile pour les femmes. Brendan Holterhus a doublé l’avance du CAC à la 30e seconde de la période puis les midgets ont marqué deux autres buts avant la fin du deuxième tiers.  

Mais Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, Ont./Toronto, LCHF) avait réduit l’écart à 2-1 à 5 min 4 s de la deuxième période grâce à un superbe tir du poignet avec l’aide de Catherine Ward (Montréal, Qc/Montréal LCHF). Son but allait être le seul du Canada dans la période et dans le match. Gammer  a ensuite réussi son deuxième de la rencontre alors qu’il restait 2 min 18 s avant l’entracte et Tyler Benko a réussi le premier de ses deux buts à 48 secondes de la fin du deuxième tiers pour porter le pointage à 4-1 après 40 minutes de jeu. Le but de Benko est survenu alors que le CAC d’Edmonton profitait d’une supériorité numérique de 5 contre 3 à la suite de punitions aux Canadiennes pour indiscipline.

Le CAC d’Edmonton a fait mouche à deux autres reprises au troisième tiers. Benko a réussi son deuxième but au milieu de la période et Matthew Dykstra a marqué dans un filet désert alors qu’il restait 2 min 44 s au match. Le Canada avait demandé un temps d’arrêt et retiré Szabados pour lancer une dernière offensive, mais en vain. Szabados a su garder son sang-froid tout au long de la rencontre, épatant les partisans locaux.

Szabados dit que l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada doit travailler fort maintenant pour être au sommet de sa forme en février aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014 à Sotchi en Russie.
Wakefield a déclaré que le fait de jouer contre des équipes de la Ligue de hockey midget de l’Alberta comme le CAC d’Edmonton est une étape importante sur le parcours vers Sotchi 2014.

« Avec les gars et leur rudesse, cela simule vraiment les parties contre les États-Unis », a-t-elle dit aux journalistes après la rencontre. « Nous avons joué trois matchs en quatre jours et nous sommes fatiguées, mais mentalement, nous surmontons des obstacles qui nous semblaient impossibles, alors cela nous aide beaucoup. »

« Nous avons fait du bon travail en créant des occasions de marquer et en tirant au but », a dit Wakefield au sujet de la performance du Canada vendredi soir. « Quelques heureux rebonds de plus et le match aurait facilement pu être plus serré. » 

L’équipe nationale féminine du Canada rentrera maintenant à Calgary où elle continuera de s’entraîner à l’aréna situé au siège social de Hockey Canada au Markin MacPhail Centre. Son prochain match contre une équipe masculine midget AAA aura lieu le mercredi 27 novembre à 20 h 15. Les femmes affronteront alors les Buffaloes de Calgary au South Fish Creek Recreation Complex. Suivez toute l’action cette saison au twitter.com/hc_feminin et au www.facebook.com/hockeycanada ainsi que sur le site Web officiel de Hockey Canada, le www.hockeycanada.ca/enf.

Game Information/Renseignements sur le match
Game #/Match no
14 Round/Ronde Midget Series
Arena/Aréna Bill Hunter Arena Location/Lieu Edmonton, Alta.
Date Friday, November 22, 2013 Time/Heure 20:15

 

Box Score/Compte 1 2 3 Total
CAN 0 1 0 1
EDM CAC
1 3 2 6

 

Goals & Penalties/Buts et pénalités
First Period/Première période
Goals/Buts :
05:44 EDM CAC Cole Gammer (Joshua Harris, Ryan McKinnon)

Penalties/Pénalités :
12:28 EDM CAC Tyler Benko (Interference/Obstruction)
Second Period/Deuxième période

Goals/Buts :
00:30 EDM CAC Brendan Holterhus (Tyler Benko, Brayden Burke)
05:04 CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Catherine Ward)
17:45 EDM CAC Cole Gammer (Ryan McKinnon)
19:12 EDM CAC Tyler Benko (Brayden Burke, Brendan Holterhus) PP/AN
           
Penalties/Pénalités :
06:28 EDM CAC Brody Surette (Interference/Obstruction)
11:09 EDM CAC Josh Michener (Hooking/Accrocher)
18:24 CAN Vicki Bendus (Slashing/Coup de baton)
18:24 CAN Jocelyne Larocque (Delay of game/Retarder le match)

Third Period/Troisième période

Goals/Buts :
10:24 EDM CAC Tyler Benko (Brayden Burke, Matthew Benko) PP/AN
17:16 EDM CAC Matthew Dykstra EN/FD SH/DN

Penalties/Pénalités :
08:47 CAN Jennifer Wakefield (Hooking/Accrocher)
17:00 EDM CAC Holden Daley (Hooking/Accrocher)

 

Goaltenders/Gardiennes de but
CAN Shannon Szabados
EDM CAC
Levi Nelson; Eric Szudor (13:45 in 2nd)

 

Shots on Goal/Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
CAN 9 10 8 27
EDM CAC
10 11 11 32
Vidéos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: