3 Stars of The Day

DAY 1 – MONDAY, APRIL 18, 2011

1. Sam Reinhart (F) – Vancouver North West Giants
Records aren’t complete for the early years of the National Midget Championship, but if Reinhart’s performance on Monday wasn’t record-setting, it was pretty darn close. Reinhart finished with a remarkable nine points (three goals, six assists) as the Giants became the first team since 2000 to score a dozen goals in a TELUS Cup game.

2. Alex Kerfoot (F) – Vancouver North West Giants
The second half of Vancouver’s dynamic duo was just as impressive on Monday, adding a pair of goals to his six assists for an eight-point effort. Like Reinhart, Kerfoot was in on five of Vancouver’s six first-period goals, helping the Giants put Winnipeg away early en route to a one-sided tournament-opening victory.

3. Michael Matheson (D) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
Lac St-Louis’ captain opened and closed the scoring for the Lions in their tournament-opening win over London, snapping a wicked wrist shot past Craig Wood in the first period and then guiding a point shot through traffic and past Justin Tugwell late in the third to help the Quebec Region champions avoid a third-period collapse.

- - -

DAY 2 – TUESDAY, APRIL 19, 201

1. Sam Reinhart/Alex Kerfoot (F) – Vancouver North West Giants 
On Monday they took the top two spots, but since it looks as if it could be a recurring event to see their names on this list, today they share top spot. Kerfoot had five points and Reinhart four in the Giants' 6-1 win over Halifax, giving them each 13 points in just two games – on pace for somewhere in the neighbourhood of 40.

2. Ryan Power (D) – St. John's Privateers
The St. John's blue liner was in the middle of the action in the third period of his team's victory over London, scoring the eventual game-winning goal with a blast from the point early in the final frame before executing a picture-perfect give-and-go with Danny Wicks late in the period for a little insurance.

3. Teagan Sacher (G) – Winnipeg Thrasher
After lasting just six minutes and allowing three quick goals in Monday's tournament-opening blowout loss at the hands of Vancouver, the Thrashers netminder rebounded very nicely on Tuesday, stopping all 23 shots he faced and recording just the second shutout ever by a Winnipeg goaltender at the TELUS Cup.

- - -

DAY 3 – WEDNESDAY, APRIL 20, 2011

1. Kurt Etchegary (F) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
After getting the Lions on the board in the first period the St. John’s native – he played minor hockey through Bantam last season in the city – took over late in the second, scoring twice and adding an assist in a span of 1:44, turning a 3-2 lead into a 6-2 advantage and helping Lac St-Louis cruise to a convincing victory.

2. Jackson Houck (F) – Vancouver North West Giants
The third member of Vancouver’s top trio – along with Alex Kerfoot and Sam Reinhart, familiar names on this list – took a little bit of the spotlight from his high-scoring linemates on Wednesday, scoring the game-tying goal for the Giants before helping Kerfoot set up Reinhart for the game winner, keeping Vancouver perfect.

3. Marcus Power (F) – St. John’s Privateers
The Privateers’ captain almost single-handedly took out the tournament’s last undefeated team, scoring once and setting up two others as St. John’s came close to downing the Giants. Despite missing a penalty shot that would have given the Privateers a late lead, Power was the host team’s best player in its best game.

- - -

DAY 4 – THURSDAY, APRIL 21, 2011

1. Matt Jenkins (G) – St. John’s Privateers 
With his team’s season hanging in the balance Jenkins turned in one of the best goaltending performances of the 2011 TELUS Cup, stopping 27 shots in the first two periods as the Privateers were outshot 29-10 in the first 40 minutes. He finished with 30 saves to preserve the tie and keep St. John’s semifinal hopes alive.

2. Sam Reinhart (F) – Vancouver North West Giants
Through four games, the Vancouver power play has scored on a ridiculous 50% of its chances, going 13 for 26. Of those 13 goals with the man advantage, Reinhart has been in on 10 of them, scoring four goals and adding six assists. He picked up the game-winner on the power play Thursday, helping Vancouver clinch first.

3. Marcus Power (F) – St. John’s Privateers
The Privateers captain keeps his hold on third spot on the list, taking the shot that led to the first St. John’s goal and scoring the second with a gorgeous forehand-to-backhand deke, followed by a top-shelf backhand. Power has climbed to third in the tournament scoring chart with nine points, trailing only Vancouver’s dynamic duo.

- - -

DAY 5 – FRIDAY, APRIL 22, 2011

1. Anthony Duclair (F) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
One of the most talked-about players coming into the tournament thanks to his appearances with Quebec’s under-16 and under-17 teams this season, Duclair had his best game of the tournament against St. John’s, scoring the back-breaking 3-1 goal and assisting on two others to help the Lions grab second place.

2. Paul Hopkins (F) – London Jr. Knights
Goalless and with just two assists through four games, Hopkins picked an opportune time to score his first of the tournament, giving the Jr. Knights an early lead against Vancouver, and set up the 2-0 goal early in the second period to help the Jr. Knights qualify for the weekend despite entering the day winless.

3. Patrick Walsh (F) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
The Lions already knew they were semifinal bound thanks to Friday’s earlier results, but Walsh helped make sure they entered the weekend on a winning note, tying the game in the first period just seconds after St. John’s had taken the lead, setting up the important 3-1 goal and adding an assist on a third period insurance marker.

- - -

DAY 6 – SATURDAY, APRIL 23, 2011

1. Adam Rzeszutko (D) – London Jr. Knights

Rzeszutko scored the biggest goal of his young career on Saturday night, notching the overtime winner to send the Jr. Knights to the unlikeliest of gold medal game appearances. He also added two assists in the win, helping London reach the final despite entering the final day of preliminary round play without a victory.

2. Brendyn Illchuk (F) – Winnipeg Thrashers

A 27-goal scorer for the Thrashers during the regular season and playoffs, Illchuk picked an opportune time for just his second of the TELUS Cup, scoring the winner midway through the second overtime to send Winnipeg to its second gold medal game appearance in four years at the National Midget Championship.

3. Teagan Sacher (G) – Winnipeg Thrashers

The Winnipeg netminder allowed an early goal to Lac St-Louis’ Patrick Walsh but settled down after that, making 25 of his 43 saves in the third period and overtime and giving Brendyn Illchuk the opportunity to score the overtime winner, sending the Thrashers to Sunday’s gold medal game against London.

- - -

DAY 7 – SUNDAY, APRIL 24, 2011

1. Teagan Sacher (G) – Winnipeg Thrashers 
Sacher started the tournament by allowing five goals in 15 minutes during a 12-5 loss to Vancouver, and finished it by hosting the TELUS Cup. The Winnipeg netminder turned aside 31 shots during Sunday’s gold medal game victory over London, and allowed just 11 goals in six games after the disastrous start against the Giants.

2. Connor Lockhart (F) – Winnipeg Thrashers
This year’s Esso Scholarship winner at the awards banquet, Lockhart entered Sunday’s gold medal game with just two assists in six games. He picked the perfect time for his first goal of the tournament, scoring on a Winnipeg power play just 1:01 into the third period – the eventual game, and gold medal, winner.

3. Anthony Duclair (F) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
Duclair made sure the Lions left St. John’s with a medal, scoring the game-winner with 2:34 to go and adding the clinching goal into an empty net with 1.1 seconds on the clock to clinch bronze for the Quebec champs. Duclair turned up his game in the playoff round, scoring twice and adding three assists in the semifinal and bronze game.

For more information:
Jeff Beck Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

2011 TELUS Cup
 
Fri, Apr 22, 2011
CEN 4 - PAC 1 (Preliminary)
ATL 3 - WST 3 (Preliminary)
HST 1 - QUE 6 (Preliminary)
Sat, Apr 23, 2011
WST 4 - QUE 3  (OT) (Semifinal)
CEN 4 - PAC 3  (OT) (Semifinal)
Sun, Apr 24, 2011
QUE 5 - PAC 3 (Bronze Medal)
CEN 1 - WST 3 (Gold Medal)
 
2011 TELUS Cup
Team GP W L T PTS
PAC 5 4 1 0 8
QUE 5 3 2 0 6
WST 5 1 1 3 5
ATL 5 1 2 2 4
CEN 5 1 2 2 4
HST 5 1 3 1 3
Click here for complete schedule/results

2011 TELUS Cup
Team Player G
PAC Jackson Houck 9
PAC Alex Kerfoot 9
PAC Sam Reinhart 7
QUE Alexandros Soumakis 5
QUE Anthony Duclair 5
2011 TELUS Cup
Team Player A
PAC Sam Reinhart 13
PAC Alex Kerfoot 13
PAC Cam Marks 8
QUE Anthony Duclair 7
HST Nicklas Lindstrom 6
2011 TELUS Cup
Team Player P
PAC Alex Kerfoot 22
PAC Sam Reinhart 20
QUE Anthony Duclair 12
PAC Jackson Houck 12
QUE Patrick Walsh 9
2011 TELUS Cup
Team Player Sv% GAA
WST Teagan Sacher 0.919 2.59
PAC Daniel Cotton 0.919 2.15
ATL Shawn Jeffrey 0.902 3.39
CEN Craig Wood 0.901 2.72
QUE Nicholas DesRochers 0.900 5.06

3 Étoiles du Jour

JOUR 1 – LUNDI 18 AVRIL 2011

1. Sam Reinhart (A) – Giants de Vancouver North West
Les statistiques sont incomplètes pour les premières années du championnat national midget, mais si la performance de Sam Reinhart lundi n’a pas établi un record, il s’en est sans doute failli de peu. Reinhart a cumulé neuf points (trois buts, six aides), un exploit remarquable, dans la victoire des Giants qui sont devenus la première équipe depuis 2000 à marquer une douzaine de buts dans un match de la Coupe TELUS.

2. Alex Kerfoot (A) – Giants de Vancouver North West
L’autre moitié du duo offensif de Vancouver a été tout aussi impressionnant, lundi, ajoutant deux buts à ses six mentions d’aide. Alex Kerfoot a porté huit points à sa fiche. Il a contribué à cinq des six buts de Vancouver en première période pour aider les Giants à remporter une victoire à sens unique à son premier match du championnat national.

3. Michael Matheson (D) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
Le capitaine du Lac St-Louis a marqué le premier et le dernier but des Lions dans leur gain sur London à leur match d’ouverture, décochant un puissant tir des poignets au-delà du gardien de but Craig Wood au premier tiers avant de tirer de la pointe en pleine circulation pour déjouer le gardien Justin Tugwell en fin de troisième période et empêcher que les champions du Québec s’effondrent au dernier tiers.

- - -

JOUR 2 – MARDI 19 AVRIL 2011

1. Sam Reinhart/Alex Kerfoot (A) – Giants de Vancouver North West

Lundi, ils ont ravi les deux premières étoiles, mais puisqu'ils semblent déterminés à voir leur nom sur cette liste, aujourd'hui, ils devront se partager la première. Kerfoot a cumulé cinq points et Reinhart, quatre, dans la victoire de 6 -1 des Giants sur Halifax. Ils ont maintenant 13 points chacun en seulement deux matchs – à ce rythme, ils pourraient bien se rendre à 40.

2. Ryan Power (D) – Privateers de St. John's

Le défenseur de St. John's s'est trouvé dans le feu de l'action en troisième période de la victoire des siens sur London, marquant ce qui allait être le but gagnant au moyen d'un puissant tir de la pointe au début de la dernière période avant d'exécuter un passe et va parfait avec Danny Wicks en fin de période pour le but d'assurance.

3. Teagan Sacher (G) – Thrashers de Winnipeg
Ayant été chassé du match la veille après avoir accordé trois buts au cours des six premières minutes lors de la défaite écrasante aux mains de Vancouver, le gardien des Thrashers s'est très bien tiré d'affaire, mardi, bloquant les 23 tirs dirigés vers lui et réalisant seulement le deuxième jeu blanc de l'histoire par un gardien de Winnipeg à la Coupe TELUS.

- - -

JOUR 3 – MERCREDI 20 AVRIL 2011

1. Kurt Etchegary (A) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
Après avoir marqué le premier but des Lions en première période, le jeune homme originaire de St. John’s – il a joué au hockey mineur jusqu’à sa dernière année bantam dans la ville – a pris les choses en main en fin de deuxième, marquant deux buts et obtenant une mention d’aide en l’espace de 1:44 transformant une avance de 3 -2 en un avantage de 6 -2 pour mener Lac St-Louis à la victoire.

2. Jackson Houck (A) – Giants de Vancouver North West
Le troisième membre du meilleur trio de Vancouver – aux côtés d’Alex Kerfoot et de Sam Reinhart, des habitués de cette liste – a quelque peu volé la vedette à ses coéquipiers, mercredi, marquant le but égalisateur pour les Giants avant d’aider Kerfoot à préparer le but gagnant de Reinhart et Vancouver à conserver sa fiche parfaite.

3. Marcus Power (A) – Privateers de St. John’s
Le capitaine des Privateers a presque battu la seule équipe invaincue du tournoi à lui seul, cumulant un but et deux aides dans un match serré opposant St. John’s aux Giants. Même s’il a raté un tir de punition qui aurait donné l’avance aux Privateers en fin de match, Power a été le meilleur joueur de l’équipe hôte qui a disputé son meilleur match.

- - -

JOUR 4 – JEUDI 21 AVRIL 2011

1. Matt Jenkins (G) – Privateers de St. John’s 
Alors que la saison de son équipe était en jeu, Jenkins a livré une des plus belles performances devant le filet de l’édition 2011 de la Coupe TELUS, en bloquant 27 tirs au cours des deux premières périodes, alors que les Privateers tiraient de l’arrière 29-10 au chapitre des tirs au but. Il a effectué 30 arrêts dans le match pour préserver l’égalité et garder St. John’s dans la course au carré d’as.  

2. Sam Reinhart (A) – Giants de Vancouver North West 
Après quatre matchs, le jeu de Vancouver en avantage numérique a un taux d’efficacité de 50 %, faisant mouche  13 fois en 26 occasions. Reinhart a participé à 10 de ces 13 buts en supériorité numérique, marquant quatre d’entre eux et obtenant six mentions d’aide. Il a inscrit le but gagnant en avantage numérique, jeudi, aidant Vancouver à s’emparer du premier rang au classement.

3. Marcus Power (A) – Privateers de St. John’s 
Le capitaine des Privateers conserve sa troisième place sur la liste après avoir décoché le tir qui a donné lieu au premier but de St. John’s et marqué le deuxième en effectuant une superbe feinte du coup droit au revers, suivie d’un tir du revers dans la partie supérieure. Avec neuf points, Power occupe maintenant le troisième rang des pointeurs du tournoi, derrière le duo dynamique de Vancouver.

- - -

JOUR 5 – VENDREDI 22 AVRIL 2011

1. Anthony Duclair (A) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
Un des joueurs ayant fait le plus jaser avant le tournoi à la suite de sa participation avec les équipes des moins de 16 et de 17 ans du Québec cette saison, Duclair a disputé son meilleur match du tournoi contre St. John’s, creusant l’écart à 3 -1 et obtenant deux mentions d’aide pour permettre aux Lions de s’emparer du deuxième rang.

2. Paul Hopkins (A) – Jr. Knights de London
Ayant cumulé seulement deux aides et aucun but en quatre matchs, Hopkins a choisi le moment opportun pour marquer son premier but du tournoi donnant l’avance aux Knights tôt dans le match contre Vancouver avant d’obtenir une mention d’aide sur le deuxième but en deuxième période pour aider London à se qualifier pour le carré d’as malgré le fait que l’équipe était sans victoire au début de la journée.

3. Patrick Walsh (A) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
Les lions savaient déjà qu’ils allaient participer aux demi-finales compte tenu des résultats plus tôt dans la journée, mais Walsh s’est assuré d’amorcer la fin de semaine sur une note positive en nivelant la marque au premier tiers, quelques secondes après que St. John’s avait pris l’avance, et en cumulant deux mentions d’aide par la suite.

- - -

JOUR 6 – SAMEDI 23 AVRIL 2011

1. Adam Rzeszutko (D) – Jr. Knights de London

Rzeszutko a marqué le plus important de sa jeune carrière, samedi soir, le but gagnant en prolongation, pour permettre aux Jr. Knights d’en surprendre plusieurs et d’accéder au match pour la médaille d’or. Il a aussi obtenu deux mentions d’aide dans la victoire, aidant London à atteindre la finale malgré le fait que l’équipe avait entrepris le dernier jour de la ronde préliminaire sans victoire à sa fiche.

2. Brendyn Illchuk (A) – Thrashers de Winnipeg

Auteur de 27 buts pour les Thrashers pendant la saison régulière et les éliminatoires, Illchuk a choisi le moment opportun pour inscrire son deuxième de la Coupe TELUS – le but gagnant au milieu de la deuxième prolongation – et permettre à Winnipeg d’accéder au match pour la médaille d‘or pour une deuxième fois en quatre ans au championnat national midget.

3. Teagan Sacher (G) – Thrashers de Winnipeg

Le gardien de Winnipeg a accordé un but à Patrick Walsh du Lac St-Louis tôt dans le match, puis il s’est ressaisi et a effectué 25 de ses 43 arrêts en troisième période et en prolongation, donnant l’occasion à Brendyn Illchuk de marquer le but gagnant en prolongation de sorte que les Thrashers seront de la finale, dimanche, contre London.

- - -

JOUR 7 – DIMANCHE 24 AVRIL 2011 

1. Teagan Sacher (G) – Thrashers de Winnipeg 
Sacher a entrepris le tournoi en allouant cinq buts en 15 minutes lors d’une défaite de 12 -5 aux mains de Vancouver, mais il a mis fin au tournoi en soulevant la Coupe TELUS. Le gardien de but de Winnipeg a repoussé 31 tirs, dimanche, dans le match pour la médaille d’or contre London, et il n’a alloué que 11 buts en six matchs après le désastre face aux Giants.

2. Connor Lockhart (A) – Thrashers de Winnipeg 
Récipiendaire de la bourse d’études Esso lors du banquet de remise des prix, Lockhart a amorcé le match pour la médaille d’or dimanche avec seulement deux mentions d’aide à sa fiche. Il a choisi le moment idéal pour marquer son premier but du tournoi, faisant mouche pendant une supériorité numérique à 1:01 de la troisième période. Son but a été le but gagnant, le but de la médaille d’or.

3. Anthony Duclair (A) – Lions du Lac St-Louis
Duclair s’est assuré que les Lions allaient quitter St. John’s avec une médaille en marquant le but gagnant à 2:34 de la fin puis en ajoutant le but d’assurance dans un filet désert avec 1,1 seconde au chronomètre pour permettre aux champions du Québec de s’emparer du bronze. Duclair a rehaussé son jeu d’un cran en ronde éliminatoire, cumulant deux buts et trois mentions d’aide en demi-finale et dans le match pour la médaille de bronze.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Jeff Beck Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, événements spéciaux et internationaux

2011 Coupe TELUS
 
Vendr. 22 avril 2011
CEN 4 - PAC 1 (Préliminaire)
ATL 3 - WST 3 (Préliminaire)
HST 1 - QUE 6 (Préliminaire)
Sam. 23 avril 2011
WST 4 - QUE 3  (Prol.) (Demi-finale)
CEN 4 - PAC 3  (Prol.) (Demi-finale)
Dim. 24 avril 2011
QUE 5 - PAC 3 (Médaille de bronze)
CEN 1 - WST 3 (Médaille d'or)
 
2011 Coupe TELUS
Equipe PJ V D T PTS
PAC 5 4 1 0 8
QUE 5 3 2 0 6
WST 5 1 1 3 5
ATL 5 1 2 2 4
CEN 5 1 2 2 4
HST 5 1 3 1 3
Cliquez ici pour l'horaire/résultats complet

2011 Coupe TELUS
Équipe Joueur G
PAC Jackson Houck 9
PAC Alex Kerfoot 9
PAC Sam Reinhart 7
QUE Alexandros Soumakis 5
QUE Anthony Duclair 5
2011 Coupe TELUS
Équipe Joueur A
PAC Sam Reinhart 13
PAC Alex Kerfoot 13
PAC Cam Marks 8
QUE Anthony Duclair 7
HST Nicklas Lindstrom 6
2011 Coupe TELUS
Équipe Joueur P
PAC Alex Kerfoot 22
PAC Sam Reinhart 20
QUE Anthony Duclair 12
PAC Jackson Houck 12
QUE Patrick Walsh 9
2011 Coupe TELUS
Équipe Joueur %Arr MOY
WST Teagan Sacher 0.919 2.59
PAC Daniel Cotton 0.919 2.15
ATL Shawn Jeffrey 0.902 3.39
CEN Craig Wood 0.901 2.72
QUE Nicholas DesRochers 0.900 5.06