Russia - Sweden

THE MOMENT: Russia @ Sweden – Friday, April 5

by Mark Staffieri

NEPEAN, Ont. –As the captain of the Russian squad, Yekaterina Smolentseva accepts the role with great pride. She sets the tone for the team and made her presence felt in Friday’s win against Sweden on Sportsplex ice.

Having scored the first goal of the contest against Sweden (also on the power play), said goal would stand as the game-winner. The loss was especially visceral for Sweden, as it placed the proud program in the relegation round.

With the win, Russia made a strong statement. As the host country for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games, to be held in Sochi, Smolentseva understands the importance of finishing on the medal podium in her homeland.

While the objective is to have a strong performance at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship, every win and every great performance in Ottawa adds to the confidence of an ambitious Russian squad.

Playing on a line during this year’s women’s worlds with Iya Gavrilova, one of the elite players in the world, Smolentseva also serves as a mentor to her. Throughout the contest, they maintained remarkable puck possession whenever they graced the ice, while composing a lethal scoring combination.

One remarkable play involved Smolentseva grabbing the puck behind the Russian net. Weaving her way through traffic, she made a backhand pass past the blue line to Gavrilova, who went streaking on a breakaway.

Smolentseva employs a strong work ethic and superlative skills. The win against Sweden was just another example of how she is one of the best leaders in the game, while always providing the Russian squad with the opportunity to compete.

For the full game story, please visit www.worldwomen2013.com.

For the full game summary, including statistics, please CLICK HERE.

Videos

Russie - Suède

L’INSTANT : Russie @ Suède – Vendredi 5 avril

par Mark Staffieri

NEPEAN, Ont. – En tant que capitaine des Russes, Yekaterina Smolentseva accepte ce rôle avec fierté. Elle donne le ton pour son équipe et a fait sentir sa présence dans la victoire de vendredi face à la Suède au Sportsplex.

Ayant compté le premier but du tournoi face aux Suédoises (sur le jeu de puissance), ce but aura été celui de la victoire. Ce revers a été particulièrement viscéral pour la Suède, puisque ce programme fier jouera en ronde de relégation.

Avec cette victoire, la Russie a lancé un message clair. Alors que la Russie sera le pays hôte des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014 à Sotchi, Smolentseva comprend l’importance de monter sur le podium, à la maison.

Même si l’objectif est de connaître une solide performance au Championnat mondial de hockey sur glace féminin 2013 de l’IIHF, chaque victoire et belle performance à Ottawa ajoute à la confiance d’une ambitieuse troupe russe.

Jouant sur un trio au mondial de cette année avec Iya Gavrilova, l’une des joueuses de l’élite dans le monde, Smolentseva lui sert aussi de mentor. Tout au long du match, elles ont fait preuve d’un superbe contrôle de la rondelle peu importe quand elle se retrouvait sur la glace, tout en formant une combinaison fatale en attaque.

Un jeu remarquable a impliqué Smolentseva qui s’est emparée de la rondelle derrière le filet russe. Faisant son chemin dans la circulation, elle a effectué une belle passe du revers qui a traversé la ligne bleue en direction de Gavrilova, qui s’est échappée.

Smolentseva a fait preuve d’une belle éthique de travail et de superbes habiletés. La victoire contre la Suède n’a été qu’un autre exemple démontrant à quel point elle est l’une des meilleures meneuses de ce sport, tout en offrant toujours à la Russie l’occasion de compétitionner.

Pour voir le résumé de match, visitez le www.worldwomen2013.com.

Pour le sommaire de match, incluant les statistiques, CLIQUEZ ICI.

Videos