Jenny's Journal

THURSDAY, APRIL 15, 2010

Hello hockey world,

The days until the first puck drop are going by faster and faster. Just walking into the rink, the excitement is really building. All of the signs are up for Esso Cup, the arena is being finished, with banners hanging above the ice surface featuring the tournament sponsors and the provinces taking part. There are other Esso Cup signs all around the arena. The girls are really excited for Sunday to come. 

Practice went well today; we worked on team systems again, as well as some flow drills. Everything is starting to fall into place and all the Rebels are really starting to click at just the right time. I am getting more and more confident that with this much determination and drive that we all have, the Rebels will have a successful tournament next week. The main thing for us to do is be confident in ourselves, and each other, and stick with our game plan.

It is going to be great getting back to quick game play and strong competition. The Rebels have practice tomorrow (Friday), Saturday and then it’s our opening game Sunday! The days are just flying by ... can't wait!

Jenny

---

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 14, 2010

Hello hockey world,

After a nice day off, we were back on the ice for a fast-paced practice. For the last few weeks we have been working on the physical aspect of the game and getting our fitness up as high as possible, so this week we are focusing more on the mental things (systems, reacting, passing and shooting). Everybody is really excited for the tournament to begin. For most of us, it will be our last time lacing up the skates with each other as part of the Rebels program, and while representing Regina. But there is no time to be sad, because our excitement is ten times bigger.

In my mind, this is the biggest opportunity any of us will have in our hockey careers and I am hoping that with that drive we will do very well. Tomorrow we get to move into the bigger dressing room, which has just been renovated. Can't wait to finally settle into our home for two weeks and start the tournament!

Go Rebels Go!

Jenny

MONDAY, APRIL 12, 2010

Hello hockey world,

Back to practice today for the Rebels! The Hockey Canada group was out working on the ice surface in the Show Arena today so we trekked over to one of the other ice surfaces across the rink.

The skate went really well today; everything is falling into place and the tempo is very high. It is amazing to see just how much we have improved from the end of the playoffs to now. After practice, a local television station was there to ask our team a few questions about the experience so far, and about the excitement going into the tournament.

We all are very excited and can't wait for the games to begin. We have tomorrow off, but are back on the ice for the rest of the week leading up to the opening puck drop on Sunday.

Can't wait!

Jenny

---

SUNDAY, APRIL 11, 2010

Hello hockey world,

It has been a great week of hockey. I have been away for a few days but from the sounds of it, practices have been fast-paced. Yesterday, the Rebels had an exhibition game against the Team Saskatchewan Aboriginals. It was a very good game and it was great to see our improvement. Once again, the fitness level is at an all-time high and it really shows in that extra 20 seconds on a shift. Our team got the win and a nice night’s rest because today we played the University of Regina Cougars. We have had a few scrimmages against them this season, just for both teams to tune up some aspects of their play.

It was a great game today; everyone played hard and looked smooth and crisp. It's nice to play against some Rebel alumni from past seasons. The coaches were all happy with how strong we played. No time for rest though – tomorrow we are back on the ice for practice. Time is just flying by and we are all getting very excited for the tournament to begin!

On a side note, congratulations to the Notre Dame Hounds for winning the West Regional championship! It is always nice to see a team in our league be successful and we’re glad to have another Saskatchewan group representing at the Esso Cup.

Jenny

For more information:
Riley Wiwchar Manager, Events & Marketing | Responsable, événements

SCOREBOARD

Esso Cup
Thu Apr 22, 2010
PAC 3 - ATL 2
WST 2 - ONT 5
QUE 1 - HST 3
Fri Apr 23, 2010
PAC 1 - ONT 2
HST 0 - WST 5
Sat Apr 24, 2010
PAC 5 - HST 1
WST 3 - ONT 4
Click here for complete schedule/results

Journal de Jenny

JEUDI 15 AVRIL 2010

Bonjour à vous du monde du hockey,

Les journées avant la première mise au jeu passent de plus en plus vite. Le simple fait d’arriver à l’aréna nous permet de constater que l’excitation augmente. Toutes les pancartes de la Coupe Esso sont installées et les gens s’affairent aux dernières touches en affichant des bannières des commanditaires et des provinces participantes par-dessus la glace. Il y a aussi d’autres affiches de la Coupe Esso autour de l’aréna. Les filles ont vraiment hâte à dimanche.  

L’entraînement s’est bien déroulé aujourd’hui; nous avons à nouveau travaillé les systèmes collectifs et certains exercices continus. Tout commence à tomber en place et tout semble cliquer au bon moment. J’ai de plus en plus confiance qu’avec une telle détermination et une telle motivation, les Rebels connaîtront du succès au tournoi la semaine prochaine. Pour nous, l’essentiel c’est d’avoir confiance en nos habiletés, de nous appuyer les unes les autres et de respecter notre plan de match. 

Ce sera fantastique de retrouver des matchs à vive allure et des adversaires de taille. Les Rebels s’entraînent demain (vendredi) et samedi avant de disputer leur premier match dimanche! Le temps passe si vite… j’ai hâte!

Jenny

---

MERCREDI 14 AVRIL 2010

Bonjour à vous du monde du hockey,

Après une belle journée de congé, nous sommes de retour sur la glace pour un entraînement à vive allure. Au cours des dernières semaines, nous avons travaillé l’aspect physique du jeu et notre conditionnement physique, alors cette semaine, nous nous concentrons sur l’aspect mental (systèmes, réactions, passes et tirs). Tout le monde a hâte que le tournoi commence. Pour la plupart d’entre nous, ce sera la dernière fois que nous allons jouer ensemble dans le cadre du programme des Rebels pour représenter Regina. Mais l’heure n’est pas à la tristesse parce que notre excitation est dix fois plus grande.

Pour moi, c’est la plus belle occasion de nos carrières au hockey et j’espère que cette motivation fera en sorte que nous connaîtrons du succès. Demain, nous déménageons dans le grand vestiaire qui vient tout juste d’être rénové. J’ai hâte que nous nous installions dans notre vestiaire pour les deux prochaines semaines et que le tournoi commence! 

Go Rebels Go!

Jenny

LUNDI 12 AVRIL 2010

Bonjour à vous du monde du hockey,

De retour à l’entraînement avec les Rebels! Le groupe de Hockey Canada travaillait sur la principale surface glacée aujourd’hui, alors nous avons dû utiliser une des autres patinoires.

L’entraînement s’est bien déroulé aujourd’hui; tout semble rentré dans l’ordre et l’allure est vive. C’est fantastique de constater comme nous nous sommes améliorées depuis la fin des éliminatoires. Après l’entraînement, un poste de la télévision locale était sur place pour nous poser des questions sur notre expérience jusqu’à présent et sur l’excitation qui plane dans l’air avant le tournoi.

Nous sommes toutes très excitées et nous sommes impatientes que les matchs commencent. Nous avons congé demain, mais nous serons de retour sur la glace pour le reste de la semaine avant l’ouverture du tournoi dimanche.

J’ai hâte!

Jenny

---

DIMANCHE 11 AVRIL 2010

Bonjour à vous du monde du hockey,

Ce fut une belle semaine de hockey. J’ai été à l’extérieur pendant quelques jours, mais d’après ce que j’entends, les séances d’entraînement se sont déroulées à vive allure. Hier, les Rebels ont joué un match hors concours contre l’équipe autochtone de la Saskatchewan. Ce fut un très bon match et ce fut bien de constater notre amélioration. Notre forme physique est à son niveau le plus élevé de tous les temps et cela paraît lors des 20 secondes supplémentaires pendant une présence sur la glace. Notre équipe a gagné et nous avons eu la soirée de repos puisqu’aujourd’hui, nous jouons contre les Cougars de l’Université de Regina. Nous avons eu quelques jeux dirigés contre elles cette saison afin de permettre aux deux équipes de peaufiner certains aspects de leur jeu.

Ce fut un excellent match aujourd’hui; tout le monde a travaillé fort et notre jeu était sans heurt et vif. C’est amusant de jouer contre d’anciennes Rebels. Les entraîneurs étaient satisfaits de notre jeu. Nous n’avons aucun congé, car demain nous sommes de retour sur la glace pour un entraînement. Le temps passe si vite et nous attendons toutes le début du tournoi avec impatience!

J’aimerais féliciter les Hounds de Notre Dame qui ont remporté le championnat régional de l’Ouest! C’est bien de voir une équipe de notre ligue connaître du succès et nous sommes fières qu’un autre groupe de la Saskatchewan participe à la Coupe Esso.

Jenny

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Riley Wiwchar Manager, Events & Marketing | Responsable, événements

TABLEAU

Coupe Esso
Jeudi 22 Avr. 2010
PAC 3 - ATL 2
WST 2 - ONT 5
QUE 1 - HST 3
Vendr. 23 Avr. 2010
PAC 1 - ONT 2
HST 0 - WST 5
Sam. 24 Avr. 2010
PAC 5 - HST 1
WST 3 - ONT 4
Cliquez ici pour l'horeire/resultats complet