Hockey Canada Network |
The Real Heroes of The Game: 2010 RBC Local Hockey Leaders Announced
May 11, 2010

TORONTO, Ont. – RBC Insurance, with support from Hockey Canada and the Hockey Hall of Fame, today recognized Canada’s most dedicated behind the scenes hockey volunteers as part of the annual RBC Local Hockey Leaders® program. This year’s 14 winners – one representing each Hockey Canada branch and an RBC employee winner – hail from Fort Simpson, N.T. to Durrell, N.L.

“We’re proud to celebrate these exceptional individuals who generously give their time to enrich our nation’s game in communities from coast to coast,” said Neil Skelding, president and CEO of RBC Insurance. “Hockey means so much to Canada and this is our opportunity to say thank you to those who make it happen.”

The 2010 RBC Local Hockey Leaders receive $10,000 towards a registered hockey cause in their community and a signed Team Canada jersey. The winners will also be flown to Toronto for a special ceremony on June 16, where their efforts will be recognized in a permanent display at the Hockey Hall of Fame. In addition, each winner will be celebrated in their hometown, as a banner recognizing their achievement will be raised in their local arena.

2010 RBC Local Hockey Leaders:

Hockey North Owen Rowe Fort Simpson, N.T.

BC Hockey Helga Steenhof Smithers, B.C.

Hockey Alberta Wanda Schuba Edmonton, Alta.

Saskatchewan Hockey Association Bob Fawcett Saskatoon, Sask.

Hockey Manitoba Mary Ellen Clark Neepawa, Man.

Ontario Hockey Federation Steve Sanderson Plattsville, Ont.

Hockey Northwestern Ontario Doug Novak Kenora, Ont.

Ottawa District Hockey Association Gord Powell Almonte, Ont.

Hockey Quebec Peter Jacobs Kahnawake, Que.

Hockey New Brunswick Marc Dube St-Andre, N.B.

Hockey Nova Scotia Steve Clayton Bridgetown, N.S.

Hockey PEI Joanne Wallace O’Leary, P.E.I.

Hockey Newfoundland & Labrador Craig Clarke Durrell, N.L.

RBC’s Own Local Hockey Leader Donna Taylor Craik, Sask.

Full biographies on all 14 winners can be found at

A panel including Neil Skelding, Olympic gold medalist Cheryl Pounder, National Sledge Team captain Jean Labonté, hockey legend Ron Ellis, Hockey Canada chairman of the board Ken Corbett and other Hockey Canada officials selected winners from hundreds of nominations submitted through the program website.

The RBC Local Hockey Leaders contest inspired hundreds of nominations from cities and towns from all corners of the country. Hard work, dependability, impact and leadership were among the criteria considered during the evaluation of submissions.

“Volunteers are the lifeblood of Canadian hockey – without them there would be no game, no place for children to live their dreams, and RBC Insurance deserves a big thank you for their support of these volunteers,” said Bob Nicholson, president and CEO of Hockey Canada. “The RBC Local Hockey Leaders program has recognized more than 100 tremendous hockey volunteers, giving more than 100 communities the opportunity to better their hockey environments.”

Over the past seven years RBC Insurance has awarded more than $700,000 to grassroots hockey initiatives across Canada through the RBC Local Hockey Leaders program. Grants from the 2009 RBC Local Hockey Leaders program went towards a new score clock in Moosomin, SK, new goalie equipment in Grand Falls-Windsor, NL, subsidizing travel expenses for a special needs ice hockey tournament in St. Catharines, ON, and many other worthy initiatives.

For more information and biographies on all of the RBC Local Hockey Leaders, please visit

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SWE 1
Apr 17, 2014
Virtanen scored twice to lead Canada to the tournament-opening win.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: