Hockey Canada Network |
Hockey Canada's National Award Winners Announced Terry Engen of Eckville, Alberta Named Outstanding Volunteer of The Year
May 27, 2011

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada honoured ten community leaders from across the country during the awards banquet Friday night, held as part of the governing body’s 92nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Westin Calgary.

The 2011 Outstanding Volunteer Award went to Terry Engen of Eckville, Alta. He has spent more than 25 years volunteering his time to causes in minor hockey and by serving his community, his province and his country. A fifth-generation farmer from Eckville, a town of just over 900 people, Engen has spent a quarter of a century as a director on the Eckville arena board, helping to make minor hockey accessible to as many local children as possible.

The ten award winners are as follows:

Female Hockey Breakthrough Award
(outstanding contribution to advancing female hockey)
Laurie Taylor-Bolton (Barrie, Ont.)

Liz MacKinnon Award
(special contributions of a Hockey Canada volunteer’s spouse)
Jill Donovan (Saint John, N.B.)

Hal Lewis Award
(Hockey Canada staff person who best exemplifies the spirit of the organization)
Dean McIntosh (Calgary, Alta.)

Gordon Juckes Award
(outstanding contribution to the development of amateur hockey at the national level)
Jean-François Mouton (Boucherville, Que.)

Officiating Award
(outstanding contribution to officiating at the branch and national level)
Kevin Muench (Moose Jaw, Sask.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Atlantic
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Glenn Hurley (Rothesay, N.B.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – Central
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Réal Cyr (Montreal-Nord, Que.)

Hockey Canada Order of Merit – West
(an individual who has served amateur hockey faithfully)
Lorne Wilm (Central Butte, Sask.)

Chair’s Award
(an individual who has influenced the chairman of the board in a positive way)
Al Lymer (Edmonton, Alta.)

Outstanding Volunteer Award
(outstanding volunteer work in amateur hockey and Hockey Canada)
Terry Engen (Eckville, Alta.)

Nominations for all awards were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 member branches and the winners were chosen by Hockey Canada’s selection committee. The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depends heavily on volunteers and Hockey Canada is pleased to recognize the individuals who contribute greatly to the game of hockey across the country.

More than 250 representatives from regional and provincial hockey associations are in Calgary for Hockey Canada’s 92nd Annual General Meeting, which started Thursday, May 26 and wraps up Sunday, May 29.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – USA 1
Mar 30, 2014
U18 women win gold.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 1 – RUS 0 (OT)
Mar 29, 2014
Canada edges Russia in overtime.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 5 – CZE 0
Mar 26, 2014
Canadians shut out Czechs.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – FIN 0
Mar 24, 2014
U18 women blank Finland.
2014 WWU18C: CAN 7 – JPN 1
Mar 23, 2014
Canada starts Worlds with win
2014 PARA: CAN 3 – NOR 0 (Bronze)
Mar 15, 2014
Billy Bridges scored a pair of goals to lead Canada to a Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: USA 3 – CAN 0 (Semifinal)
Mar 13, 2014
Corbin Watson made seven saves, but Canada will play for Paralympic bronze.
2014 PARA: CAN 1 – CZE 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 11, 2014
Westlake scored the lone goal to help Canada to a perfect preliminary round.
2014 PARA: CAN 4 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Mar 09, 2014
Adam Dixon scored twice to lead Canada to its second straight win in Sochi.
2014 PARA: CAN 10 – SWE 1 (Preliminary)
Mar 08, 2014
Gale, Dixon and Rempel had four points each to lead Canada to a win.
2014 PARA: Welcome to Sochi
Mar 02, 2014
Canada’s National Sledge Team has arrived ahead of the Paralympics.
2010 OLYW: Flag Raising
Feb 10, 2010
Canada's National Women's Team taking part in the Flag Raising ceremony at the Olympic Village in Vancouver, B.C.
Photo Credit: