Hockey Canada Network |
Fort St. John Flyers Win 2010 Allan Cup
April 24, 2010

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – For the first time ever, the Fort St. John Flyers have won the Allan Cup, Canada’s National Senior Championship. The Flyers earned the 102nd national title with a 3-1 win over the Bentley Generals on Saturday afternoon at North Peace Arena.

Todd Alexander, Chris Stevens, Ryan Carter and Rod Stevens scored for the Flyers, who led 1-0 after one period and 2-0 after two. Scott Hood scored the lone goal for Bentley, cutting Fort St. John’s lead to 2-1 midway through the third period before Carter added an insurance marker at 17:04 of the final frame and Stevens rounded out the scoring into an empty net in the dying seconds.

Fort St. John went through the tournament undefeated, beating Bentley 7-1 and the Clarenville Caribous 6-3 during round-robin play, and knocking off the South East Prairie Thunder, last year’s runners-up, 7-3 in Friday’s semifinal.

The Generals, who reached their third-consecutive national championship game and were looking to become the first team since the 1993-95 Warroad Lakers to win back-to-back Allan Cups, finished second behind Fort St. John in round-robin action (7-1 loss to Fort St. John, 7-2 win over Clarenville) before beating the Powell River Regals 5-1 in the quarter-finals and the Dundas Real McCoys 4-2 in their semifinal.

The Flyers became the ninth host team to win the Allan Cup since the tournament went to a round-robin format in 1992, the first since the Brantford Blast in 2008. The national title is the 12th all-time for British Columbia, second only to Ontario’s 48. The last B.C. team to win the Allan Cup was the Powell River Regals in 2006.

The Allan Cup is one of the oldest club-team hockey competitions in North America, having been first competed for in 1908. Only once in the past 103 years, in 1945, has an Allan Cup champion not been crowned.

Kenora, Ont. will host the 2011 Allan Cup in April 2011.

For more information:

André Brin
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada

Francis Dupont
Manager, Media Relations/Communications
Hockey Canada

Jason LaRose
Manager, Content Services
Hockey Canada

Kristen Lipscombe
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada

Keegan Goodrich
Coordinator, Media
Hockey Canada

2014 Esso Cup: SUD 6 - FRA 3
Apr 24, 2014
A trio of Lady Wolves scores two goals each to lead Sudbury over Fraser Valley.
2014 WU18C: CAN 3 - SUI 2
Apr 24, 2014
Konecny’s late goal sends Canada to the semifinals in Lappeenranta.
2014 TELUS Cup: HFX 5 - OKA 4
Apr 24, 2014
Halifax scored four times in the third period to stun Okanagan.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 3 - CHA 1
Apr 24, 2014
Harland had the winner to help the Young Nationals to the victory.
2014 Esso Cup: EDM 4 – STC 3 (OT)
Apr 24, 2014
Alexandra Poznikoff scored 4:21 into overtime to win it for the Thunder.
2014 Esso Cup: SUD 3 - EDM 2
Apr 23, 2014
A pair of power play goals in the second led Sudbury to its third win.
2014 Esso Cup: FRA 7 – MON 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Phantom fired 50 shots on net in picking up its first win of the Esso Cup.
2014 TELUS Cup: HAL 3 - CHA 7
Apr 23, 2014
Eight players had multi-point games to lead Châteauguay to its first win.
2014 TELUS Cup: TOR 4 - MJ 2
Apr 23, 2014
Marco Bozzo’s hat trick helped the Young Nationals to another win.
2014 Esso Cup: STC 3 - WEY 2
Apr 23, 2014
The Sabres scored three in the first and hung on to defeat the Gold Wings.
2014 TELUS Cup: OKA 1 - PA 1
Apr 23, 2014
Kjargaard and Bryshun traded goals in yet another tie game.
2014 Esso Cup STC 2 – SUD 1
Apr 22, 2014
A shorthanded goal from Alexa Vasko late in the second was the difference.
Photo Credit: