The National Men’s Under-18 Team is part of a three-stage Program of Excellence beginning with the Under-17 regional teams and ending with the National Junior Team. The primary objectives of the Under-18 program are to identify, evaluate and condition players to the rigors of international competition by giving first exposure to off-shore officiating, ice-surfaces, and travel.

The Under-18 squad traditionally competes in the month of August, during the off season, to allow players to further develop skills with their respective junior teams in the winter following a week-long camp. A 22-player roster is chosen by scouts and coaches from Hockey Canada to represent Canada on the international stage.

The first National Men’s Under-18 Team was created in 1981 with the development of the Program of Excellence and has since competed in many international competitions. For the first 10 years of the program the National Men’s Under-18 Team participated in exchange camps with the United States to provide both countries the opportunity to refine the skills of their most gifted young players against top caliber international competition. It was not until the Japanese Ice Hockey Federation introduced the Phoenix Cup, a four-nation tournament designed to improve Japan's international hockey program, in 1991 that Canada took part in an international tournament.

The Phoenix Cup (later the Pacific Cup and La Copa Mexico) was a single round robin competition between the national under-18 teams of Canada, Russia, Japan and the United States. It was competed for between 1991 and 1996, with tournaments in Japan, Mexico City and Nelson, B.C. In its six-year history, Canada took home three gold medals, two silver and one bronze.

In 1997 the National Men’s Under-18 Team competed against Slovakia and the Czech Republic in a three-nation tournament in the Czech Republic. Canada captured gold and repeated their performance the following year in Slovakia against Belarus, Slovakia, and the Czech Republic.

Canada won the 1998, 1999 and 2000 Four Nations tournaments took home gold from the Six Nations Cup and Eight Nations Cup in 2001 and 2002, respectively. Since 2003 Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team has competed in the Junior World Cup (now known as the Memorial of Ivan Hlinka) in the Czech Republic and Slovakia, winning gold in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2017.

Since 2002, Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team has taken part in the IIHF World Under-18 Championship, winning gold in 2003, 2008 and 2013.

Videos
Photos
2018-19 NWT: CAN 2 – USA 0 (Game 3)
Szabados stopped all 38 shots to help Canada win the Rivalry Series.
2018-19 NWT: CAN 4 – USA 3 (Game 2)
Poulin and Rattray had 1G 1A each to help Canada even the series.
2018-19 NWT: USA 1 – CAN 0 (Game 1)
Maschmeyer made 20 saves, but Canada was blanked in the opener.
2019 U18WWC: CAN 3 – USA 2 (OT) (Gold Medal)
Wheeler scored 1:34 into OT, giving Canada its 5th gold medal.

Reseau de Hockey Canada |
Championnat mondial de hockey sur glace des M18 2013 de l'IIHF
Trouver un tournoi

L'Équipe nationale des moins de 18 ans fait partie intégrante du Programme d'excellence à trois étapes, en commençant avec les équipes régionales des moins de 17 ans et terminant avec l'équipe nationale junior. Les objectifs primaires du programme des moins de 18 ans sontd'identifier, d'évaluer et de conditionner les joueurs aux rigueurs du hockey international en leur donnant une première expérience d'arbitrage européen, des patinoires et du voyage.

Une équipe qui ne se regroupe qu'une fois, les moins de 18 ans participent traditionnellement à un tournoi au mois d'août, pour permettre aux joueurs de développer davantage leurs habiletés avec leur équipe junior au cours de l'hiver. Un alignement de 22 joueurs est sélectrionné par Barry Trapp, le directeur du dépistage pour représenter le Canada sur la scène internationale.

La première équipe des moins de 18 ans a été forme en 1981 avec le développement du Programme d'excellence et depuis, a pris part à de nombreuses compétitions. Pour les 10 premières années du programme, l'équipe des moins de 18 ans participait à des camps d'échange avec les États-Unis pour donner aux deux pays l'occasion de raffinê les habiletés des jeunes joueurs les plus doués contre de la compétition internationale. Ce ne fut pas avant que la Fédération de hockey sur glace du Japon ait introduit la Coupe Phoenix, un tournoi de quatre nations mis sur pied pour améliorer le programme de hockey international au Japon, que le Canada a pris part à un tournoi international.

La Coupe Phoenix était formée d'un double tournoi à la rondeet mettait aux prises les équipes nationales des moins de 18 ans de la Russie, du Canada, du Japon et des États-Unis. Le même format a continué entre 1991 et 1996, avec des tournois au Japon, à Mexico City et à Nelson, C.-B. En six ans, le Canada a remporté trois médailles d'or, deux d'argent et une de bronze.

En 1997, l'Équipe nationale des moins de 18 ans a joué contre la Slovaquie et les Tchéques lors d'un tournoi de trois nations en République Tchèque. Le Canada a pris l'or et a répété le même exploit l'année suivante en Slovaquie contre la Biélorussie, la Slovaquie et la République tchèque.

Cette année, l'équipe nationale des moins de 18 ans sera à nouveau en République tchèque, quittant le 14 août 1999 pour une semaine de compétition contre la Russie, la Slovaquie et les Tchéques.

Il y a d'énormes bénéfices, non seulement pour les joueurs dans le programme, mais pour tous les niveaux de hockey organisé au Canada. En remportant un grand succès sur la scène internationale, nous espérons maintenir notre fierté dans notre sport national et signaler au monde entier que le hockey appartient, en effet, au Canada.