Red 3 - UFA Bisons 1

LEFORT SCORES TWO IN TWENTY-TWO SECONDS EN ROUTE TO RED WIN

CALGARY, Alta. – Good things came in twos Wednesday for Team Red at Canada’s National  Women’s Team September Camp/Fall Festival, taking place this week inside the WinSport Canada Athletic & Ice Complex.

Near the end of the second period, Sarah Lefort (Ormstown, Que./Boston University, HE) notched two goals in twenty-two seconds, giving Red its second win in two days, this time a 3-1 victory over the Midget AAA UFA Bisons.

It was a sweet result for Lefort, who is attending a senior women’s camp with Hockey Canada for a first time here in Calgary. Lefort didn’t do it alone though, with NCAA Division 1 teammate Marie-Philip Poulin (Beauceville, Que./Boston University, HE) and linemate Jessica Campbell (Melville, Sask./Cornell University, ECAC) adding assists on both goals, one at 17:10 and the other at 17:32 in the period, to make for an unstoppable trio on the ice.

But it was National Women’s Team veterans who helped kick off the game on a high note, with Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) opening the scoring at 3:28, on assists from Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) and Catherine Ward (Montreal, Que./Montreal, CWHL), to put Red up 1-0 at 3:28 in the first. The early lead put Red in the right frame of mind, with fast movement up-and-down the ice despite less than 24 hours since the team’s most recent game, but Mark McLeod was able to tie it up for the UFA Bisons at 16:52 in the second, just before Lefort and company came out flying.

The two-goal shift gave Red the momentum it needed to maintain its lead for the remainder of the game, giving coach Danielle Goyette and her squad another solid camp win. Red will do it all again Thursday, and hopes to make it three Ws in three days, when it takes on another team from the Alberta Midget Hockey League (AMHL), this time the Calgary Northstars. The puck drops at 5 p.m. MT on Rink A at Hockey Canada’s home arena. Follow @HC_TeamCanada for live game updates from the rink.

Game Information
Game # 2
Round Exhibition
Arena Winsport Athletic and Ice Complex Location Calgary, Alta.
Date Wed. Sep. 26, 2012 Time 5:00 pm MT

Box Score 1 2 3 Total
RED 1
2
0 3
UFA 0
1
0
1

Goals & Penalties
First Period
Goals :
03:28 RED Jayna Hefford (Gillian Apps, Catherine Ward)

Penalties :
03:50 RED Gillian Apps (Hooking)
10:26 UFA Bench/Banc (Too many players)

Second Period
Goals :
16:52 UFA Mark McLeod (Connor McCallum, Ryan Zeniuk)
17:10 RED Sarah Lefort (Jessica Campbell, Marie Philip-Poulin)
17:32 RED Sarah Lefort (Marie-Philip Poulin Jessica Campbell)

Penalties :
None

Third Period
Goals :
None

Penalties :
01:46 Jocelyne Larocque (Holding)
07:00 Jayna Hefford (Hooking)
08:57 Marie-Philip Poulin (Hooking)
14:02 Marie-Philip Poulin (Boarding)

Goaltenders
RED Shannon Szabados
UFA James Fisk

Shots on Goal 1 2 3 Total
RED 6 5 2 13
UFA 7 8 8 23

Referee & Linesman
Referee Ricki-Lee Gavin
Linesman Cody Pollock
Curtis Robb
Videos
Close
Credit

Rouges 3 - UFA Bisons 1

LES ROUGES L’EMPORTENT GRÂCE À DEUX BUTS DE LEFORT EN VINGT-DEUX SECONDES

CALGARY (Alberta) – Mercredi, une joueuse des Rouges a frappé dans le mille deux fois plutôt qu’une au camp de septembre/Festival d’automne de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada, au Complexe de glace et de sport WinSport Canada.

Vers la fin du deuxième tiers, Sarah Lefort (Ormstown, Qc/Université de Boston, HE) a inscrit un doublé en vingt-deux secondes, permettant aux Rouges de remporter un deuxième match en deux jours, cette fois par la marque de 3-1, contre la formation midget AAA des UFA Bisons.

Lefort a connu une bonne partie, elle qui participe à un premier camp avec l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada ici à Calgary. Lefort a été appuyée de sa coéquipière de la division 1 de la NCAA, Marie-Philip Poulin (Beauceville, Qc/Université de Boston, HE) et de sa partenaire de trio, Jessica Campbell (Melville, Sask./Université Cornell, ECAC), qui ont récolté une aide sur chacun des deux buts. Le premier a été marqué à 17:10 de la période et l’autre à 17:32. Leurs adversaires n’ont pu contenir cette ligne.

Toutefois, ce sont les vétérantes de l’équipe nationale féminine qui ont cassé la glace, alors que Jayna Hefford (Kingston, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) a compté à 3:28 sur des aides de Gillian Apps (Unionville, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) et Catherine Ward (Montréal, Qc/Montréal, LCHF), ce qui avait donné l’avance aux Rouges, 1-0, en première période. Cette priorité rapide a permis aux Rouges d’être en confiance. Les joueuses bougeaient bien d’un bout à l’autre de la patinoire même si elles étaient de retour sur la glace moins de 24 heures après leur dernier duel. Pourtant, Mark McLeod a été en mesure de créer l’égalité pour les UFA Bisons à 16:52 de la période médiane, juste avant que Lefort et ses amies ne prennent le contrôle.

La présence de deux buts a donné le momentum dont les Rouges avaient besoin pour le reste du match, permettant à l’entraîneure Danielle Goyette et sa troupe de remporter un autre gros match au camp. Les Rouges voudront gagner un troisième duel en trois jours, jeudi, face à un autre club de la Ligue de hockey midget de l’Alberta (AMHL), les Northstars de Calgary. La rencontre s’amorcera à 17 h HR sur la patinoire A du domicile de Hockey Canada. Suivez @HC_ÉquipeCanada pour des mises à jour du match en provenance de l’aréna.

Renseignements sur le match
No. de match 2
Ronde Exhibition
Aréna Winsport Athletic and Ice Complex Emplacement Calgary, Alb.
Date Merc. 26 sep. 2012 Heure 17h00 HR

Compte 1 2 3 Total
RED 1
2
0 3
UFA 0
1
0
1

Buts & Pénalités
Première période
Buts :
03:28 RED Jayna Hefford (Gillian Apps, Catherine Ward)

Pénalités :
03:50 RED Gillian Apps (Accrocher)
10:26 UFA Bench/Banc (Trop du joueurs)

Deuxième période
Buts :
16:52 UFA Mark McLeod (Connor McCallum, Ryan Zeniuk)
17:10 RED Sarah Lefort (Jessica Campbell, Marie Philip-Poulin)
17:32 RED Sarah Lefort (Marie-Philip Poulin Jessica Campbell)

Pénalités :
Aucune

Troisième période
Buts :
Aucun

Pénalités :
01:46 Jocelyne Larocque (Retenir)
07:00 Jayna Hefford (Accrocher)
08:57 Marie-Philip Poulin (Accrocher)
14:02 Marie-Philip Poulin (Donner de la bande)

Gardiennes de but
RED Shannon Szabados
UFA James Fisk

Tirs au but 1 2 3 Total
RED 6 5 2 13
UFA 7 8 8 23

Arbitre & Juges des lignes
Arbitre Ricki-Lee Gavin
Juges des lignes Cody Pollock
Curtis Robb
Vidéos
Close
Credit