TELUS40 - 40-36

#TELUS40 – No. 36: Alex Pietrangelo

Just months before he was the third-overall pick in the OHL Priority Selection, and following a season in which he averaged a point a game, Alex Pietrangelo helped the Toronto Jr. Canadiens to their first-ever appearance at the National Midget Championship, scoring once and adding two assists – as well as scoring a goal during the bronze medal game shootout, the only shootout in TELUS Cup history – as the Jr. Canadiens finished fourth in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

The fourth-overall selection, by St. Louis, in the 2008 NHL Entry Draft, Pietrangelo returned to the OHL after starting the season with the Blues in both 2008 and 2009, twice helping Canada reach the gold medal game at the IIHF World Junior Championship, winning gold at the 2009 world juniors in Ottawa. Joining St. Louis full time for the 2010-11 season, Pietrangelo has blossomed into one of the NHL’s top young blue-liners, finishing fifth in scoring among defencemen in 2011-12 while earning a spot on the NHL Second All-Star Team.

TELUS Cup Experience – 2006, Toronto Jr. Canadiens (4th place)
NHL Teams – St. Louis Blues (2008-present)
NHL Accomplishments – Second All-Star Team (2011-12)
NHL Entry Draft – St. Louis Blues, 2008 (1st round, 4th overall)
Team Canada Experience – National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team (2007); National Junior Team (2009, 2010); National Men’s Team (2011)
Team Canada Accomplishments – Top Defenceman (2010 WJC, 2011 WC)

NHL Career Statistics –207GP 29G 86A 115P 69PIM (as of March 25, 2013)

SELECTION COMMITTEE RANKINGS
Craig Button – 38th
Paul Coffey – 35th
Bob Nicholson – 34th
Gord Sherven – 38th
Fans – 24th


#TELUS40 – No. 37: Ryane Clowe

After an 11-year absence, Ryane Clowe helped St. John’s return to the Air Canada Cup in 2000 for the first time since the city hosted the National Midget Championship in 1989. Unfortunately for Clowe, the Maple Leafs finished without a win in Montreal, missing out on the semifinals and becoming the eighth consecutive Atlantic Region representative to fail to qualify for the final four.

Clowe moved on to the QMJHL, playing three seasons with Rimouski and Montreal, and was a sixth-round pick, 175th overall, of the San Jose Sharks in the 2001 NHL Entry Draft. After spending two full seasons with the Sharks’ AHL affiliate in Cleveland, where he was named the Barons’ MVP in 2004-05, Clowe debuted for San Jose in 2005-06 and earned a spot as a full-time NHLer the following year, helping the Sharks reach a pair of Western Conference finals, in 2010 and 2011.

TELUS Cup Experience – 2000, St. John’s Maple Leafs (6th place)
NHL Teams – San Jose Sharks (2005-present)
NHL Entry Draft – San Jose Sharks, 2001 (6th round, 175th overall)

NHL Career Statistics –420GP 101G 168A 269P 560PIM (as of March 24, 2013)

SELECTION COMMITTEE RANKINGS
Craig Button – 30th
Paul Coffey – 38th
Bob Nicholson – 36th
Gord Sherven – 36th
Fans – 37th


#TELUS40 – No. 38: Joffrey Lupul

The leading scorer in the AMHL as a 16-year-old in 1999-2000, with 73 points in 34 games, Joffrey Lupul led the Fort Saskatchewan Rangers to league and regional championships and the city’s only appearance ever at the National Midget Championship, at the 2000 tournament in Montreal. The Rangers were one of three teams to finish the preliminary round at 4-1, but came out on the wrong end of a 4-1 decision to host Montréal-Bourassa in the semifinals before falling 6-5 to Saskatoon in the bronze medal game.

Lupul was selected by Anaheim with the seventh pick in the 2002 NHL Entry Draft. He joined the Mighty Ducks for the 2003-04 season, eventually spending two seasons in Southern California, bookending the 2004-05 lockout, highlighted by a four-goal playoff performance in 2006. Lupul has twice been traded as part of a package for Chris Pronger, going from Anaheim to Edmonton in 2006 and from Philadelphia to Anaheim in 2009. He is currently in his third season with Toronto, having been selected to his first NHL All-Star Game in 2012.

TELUS Cup Experience – 2000, Fort Saskatchewan Rangers (4th place)
NHL Teams – Anaheim Ducks (2003-06, 2009-11); Edmonton Oilers (2006-07); Philadelphia Flyers (2007-09); Toronto Maple Leafs (2011-present)
NHL Accomplishments – NHL All-Star Game (2012)
NHL Entry Draft – Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, 2002 (1st round, 7th overall)
Team Canada Experience – IIHF World Junior Championship (2003)

NHL Career Statistics – 520GP 154G 173A 327P 321PIM (as of March 24, 2013)

SELECTION COMMITTEE RANKINGS
Craig Button – 39th
Paul Coffey – 35th
Bob Nicholson – 37th
Gord Sherven – 39th
Fans – 31st


#TELUS 40 - No. 39: Manny Fernandez

A 16-year-old Manny Fernandez shared the goaltending duties with Patrick Laferriere during the 1990-91 season as the Lions du Lac St-Louis rolled to a league-leading 30-10-2 regular season record in the LHMAAAQ and won seven of eight playoff contests to reach the Air Canada Cup. After posting a perfect 5-0 preliminary round record in Calgary, the Lions were upset by Sherwood Park in the semifinals before rebounding to take home the bronze medal.

The 52nd overall pick by Quebec in the 1992 NHL Entry Draft, Fernandez was traded to Dallas two years later, making his NHL debut during the 1994-95 season. He spent parts of five seasons with the Stars before moving on to Minnesota, where he played five years and helped the Wild reach the Western Conference Final in 2003. A two-time winner of the William M. Jennings Trophy, presented to the team with the fewest goals allowed, Fernandez finished his career with two seasons in Boston, retiring after the 2008-09 campaign.

TELUS Cup Experience – 1991, Lions du Lac St-Louis (bronze medal)
NHL Teams – Dallas Stars (1994-2000); Minnesota Wild (2000-07); Boston Bruins (2007-09)
NHL Accomplishments – William M. Jennings Trophy (2006-07, 2008-09)
NHL Entry Draft – Quebec Nordiques, 1992 (3rd round, 52nd overall)
Team Canada Experience – IIHF World Junior Championship (1994)

NHL Career Statistics – 325GP 143-123-45 2.50GAA .912SV% 15SO

SELECTION COMMITTEE RANKINGS
Craig Button – 34th
Paul Coffey – 39th
Bob Nicholson – 40th
Gord Sherven – 35th
Fans – 39th


#TELUS40 – No. 40: Chris Mason

Chris Mason was one of the stars of the Red Deer Chiefs at the 1994 Air Canada Cup in Brandon, Man., leading Red Deer to a 4-1 preliminary round record (the only loss was to fellow future NHLer Daniel Briere and Gatineau), earning Top Goaltender honours and eventually a berth in the gold medal game, although the dream of a national title ended with a double-overtime loss to Regina.

A fifth-round pick of New Jersey in the 1995 NHL Entry Draft, Mason spent three years with the WHL’s Prince George Cougars before bouncing around the minors for six seasons, with a few games of NHL experience in Nashville in 1998-99 and 2000-01. He stuck in the NHL for good with the Predators in 2003-04, and after winning a Norwegian championship with Vålerenga during the 2004-05 lockout, made additional stops in St. Louis, Atlanta and Winnipeg before returning to Nashville for the 2012-13 season.

TELUS Cup Experience – 1994, Red Deer Chiefs (silver medal)
TELUS Cup Accomplishments – Top Goaltender
NHL Teams – Nashville Predators (1998-2008, 2012-present); St. Louis Blues (2008-10); Atlanta Thrashers (2010-11); Winnipeg Jets (2011-12)
NHL Entry Draft – New Jersey Devils, 1995 (5th round, 122nd overall)
Team Canada Experience – IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship (2006, 2007, 2009, 2010)

NHL Career Statistics – 313GP 137-109-35 2.64GAA .910SV% 23SO (as of March 21, 2013)

SELECTION COMMITTEE RANKINGS
Craig Button – 33rd
Paul Coffey – 40th
Bob Nicholson – 39th
Gord Sherven – 40th
Fans – 38th

Videos
Close
Credit

TELUS40 - 40-36

#TELUS40 – No 36 : Alex Pietrangelo

Seulement quelques mois avant de devenir le troisième choix au total au repêchage de l’OHL et après une saison au cours de laquelle il a cumulé un point par match en moyenne, Alex Pietrangelo a aidé les Canadiens Jr de Toronto à se qualifier pour la première fois au championnat national midget, inscrivant un but et deux aides, en plus de compter un but en tirs de barrage au match pour la médaille de bronze, la seule période de tirs de barrage de l’histoire de la Coupe TELUS. Les Canadiens Jr ont terminé en quatrième place à Charlottetown, Î.-P.-É.

Le quatrième choix au total de St. Louis au repêchage universel 2008 de la LNH est retourné dans l’OHL après avoir amorcé la saison avec les Blues en 2008 et 2009, aidant deux fois le Canada à se rendre au match pour la médaille d’or au Championnat mondial junior de l’IIHF, remportant l’or au Mondial junior 2009, à Ottawa. Pietrangelo s’est joint à St. Louis à temps plein en 2010-11, devenant l’un des meilleurs jeunes défenseurs de la LNH, terminant cinquième meilleur pointeur chez les défenseurs en 2011-12, tout en étant nommé au sein de la deuxième équipe d’étoiles de la LNH.

Expérience à la Coupe TELUS – 2006, Canadiens Jr de Toronto (4e place)
Équipes de la LNH – Blues de St. Louis (2008-aujourd’hui)
Réalisations dans la LNH – Deuxième équipe d’étoiles (2011-12)
Repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH – Blues de St. Louis, 2008 (1re ronde, 4e au total)
Expérience avec Équipe Canada – Équipe nationale masculine estivale des moins de 18 ans (2007); Équipe nationale junior (2009, 2010); Équipe nationale masculine (2011)
Réalisations avec Équipe Canada – Meilleur défenseur (CMJ 2010, CM 2011)

Statistiques en carrière dans la LNH –207PJ 29B 86A 115P 69PUN (au 25 mars 2013)

CLASSEMENT SELON LES MEMBRES DU COMITÉ DE SÉLECTION
Craig Button – 38e
Paul Coffey – 35e
Bob Nicholson – 34e
Gord Sherven – 38e
Partisans – 24e


#TELUS40 – No 37 : Ryane Clowe

Après une absence de 11 ans, Ryane Clowe a aidé St. John’s à effectuer un retour à la Coupe Air Canada en 2000 pour la première fois depuis que la ville avait accueilli le championnat national midget en 1989. Malheureusement pour Clowe, les Maple Leafs n’ont remporté aucun match à Montréal, ratant les demi-finales et devenant la huitième équipe consécutive représentant la région atlantique à ne pas accéder au carré d’as.

Clowe a ensuite évolué dans la LHJMQ où il a joué pendant trois saisons avec Rimouski et Montréal. Il a été repêché en sixième ronde, 175e au total, par les Sharks de San Jose lors du repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH en 2001. Après deux saisons complètes à Cleveland avec l’équipe de la Ligue américaine de hockey affiliée aux Sharks où il a été nommé le Joueur par excellence des Barons en 2004-05, Clowe a fait ses débuts avec San Jose en 2005-06 et il a obtenu un poste permanent dans la LNH la saison suivante. Depuis, il a aidé San Jose à accéder à la finale de la Conférence de l’Ouest en 2010 et 2011.

Expérience à la Coupe TELUS – 2000, Maple Leafs de St. John’s (6e place)
Équipes de la LNH – Sharks de San Jose (2005-aujourd’hui)
Repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH – Sharks de San Jose, 2001 (6e ronde, 175e au total)

Statistiques en carrière dans la LNH – 420PJ 101B 168A 269P 560PUN (au 24 mars 2013)

CLASSEMENT SELON LES MEMBRES DU COMITÉ DE SÉLECTION
Craig Button – 30e
Paul Coffey – 38e
Bob Nicholson – 36e
Gord Sherven – 36e
Partisans – 37e


#TELUS40 – No 38 : Joffrey Lupul

Champion pointeur de l’AMHL à 16 ans en 1999-2000, avec 73 points en 34 matchs, Joffrey Lupul a mené les Rangers de Fort Saskatchewan au championnat de la ligue et régional et à la seule participation à vie de cette ville au championnat national midget, au tournoi de 2000, à Montréal. Les Rangers étaient l’une des trois formations à terminer la ronde préliminaire avec un dossier de 4-1, mais ils se sont inclinés 4-1 face à l’hôte, Montréal-Bourassa, en demi-finale, avant de perdre 6-5 contre Saskatoon au match pour la médaille de bronze.

Lupul a été repêché par Anaheim au septième rang du repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH de 2002. Il s’est joint aux Mighty Ducks lors de la saison 2003-2004. Il a passé deux saisons dans le sud de la Californie, la saison 2004-2005 étant marquée par un lock-out. En 2006, il a connu une performance de quatre buts avec eux. Lupul a été échangé deux fois dans une transaction pour Chris Pronger, passant d’Anaheim à Edmonton en 2006 et de Philadelphie à Anaheim en 2009. Il dispute présentement sa troisième saison à Toronto, ayant été sélectionné au Match des étoiles de la LNH en 2012.

Expérience à la Coupe TELUS – 2000, Rangers de Fort Saskatchewan (4e place)
Équipes de la LNH – Ducks d’Anaheim (2003-06, 2009-11); Oilers d’Edmonton (2006-07); Flyers de Philadelphie (2007-09); Maple Leafs de Toronto (2011-aujourd’hui)
Réalisations dans la LNH – Match des étoiles de la LNH (2012)
Repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH – Mighty Ducks d’Anaheim, 2002 (1re ronde, 7e au total)
Expérience avec Équipe Canada – Championnat mondial junior de l’IIHF (2003)

Statistiques en carrière dans la LNH – 520PJ 154B 173A 327P 321PUN (au 24 mars 2013)

CLASSEMENT SELON LES MEMBRES DU COMITÉ DE SÉLECTION
Craig Button – 39e
Paul Coffey – 35e
Bob Nicholson – 37e
Gord Sherven – 39e
Partisans – 31e


#TELUS40 – No 39 : Manny Fernandez

Alors qu’il avait 16 ans, Manny Fernandez a partagé la tâche devant le filet des Lions du Lac St-Louis avec Patrick Laferrière pendant la saison 1990-91, aidant l’équipe à accumuler une fiche de 30-10-2 en saison régulière, un record de la LHMAAAQ, pour terminer au premier rang avant de remporter sept de huit matchs éliminatoires pour accéder à la Coupe Air Canada. Après avoir accumulé une fiche parfaite de 5-0 en ronde préliminaire à Calgary, les Lions se sont inclinés devant Sherwood Park en demi-finale avant de rebondir et de remporter la médaille de bronze.

Choisi 52e au total par Québec lors du repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH en 1992, Fernandez a été échangé aux Stars de Dallas deux ans plus tard. Il a fait ses débuts dans la LNH pendant la saison 1994-95. Il a passé cinq saisons en partie avec les Stars avant de se rendre au Minnesota où il a joué pendant cinq saisons, aidant le Wild à atteindre la finale de la Conférence de l’Ouest en 2003. Il a remporté le trophée William M. Jennings remis à l’équipe ayant accordé le moins de buts, à deux reprises. Fernandez a mis fin à sa carrière après deux années à Boston, prenant sa retraite à la fin de la saison 2008-09.

Expérience à la Coupe TELUS – 1991, Lions du Lac St-Louis (médaille de bronze)
Équipes de la LNH – Stars de Dallas (1994-2000); Wild du Minnesota (2000-07); Bruins de Boston (2007-09)
Réalisations dans la LNH – Trophée William M. Jennings (2006-07, 2008-09)
Repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH – Nordiques de Québec, 1992 (3e ronde, 52e au total)
Expérience avec Équipe Canada – Championnat mondial junior de l’IIHF (1994)

Statistiques en carrière dans la LNH – 325PJ 143-123-45 2,50MOY 0,912 % ARR 15JB

CLASSEMENT SELON LES MEMBRES DU COMITÉ DE SÉLECTION

Craig Button – 34e
Paul Coffey – 39e
Bob Nicholson – 40e
Gord Sherven – 35e
Partisans – 39e


#TELUS40 – No 40 : Chris Mason

Chris Mason a été un des joueurs vedettes des Chiefs de Red Deer à la Coupe Air Canada 1994 à Brandon au Manitoba, menant Red Deer à une fiche de 4-1 en ronde préliminaire (leur seule défaite survenant aux mains de Gatineau qui comptait le futur joueur de la LNH Daniel Brière) et remportant le titre de Meilleur gardien de but avant d’accéder au match pour la médaille d’or où son rêve d’un titre national a pris fin en deuxième période de prolongation contre Regina.

Choisi en cinquième ronde par New Jersey lors du repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH en 1995, Mason a passé trois ans avec les Cougars de Prince Albert dans la WHL avant de se retrouver dans les ligues mineures pendant six saisons et de jouer quelques matchs dans la LNH avec Nashville au cours des saisons 1998-99 et 2000-01. Il a accédé à la LNH pour de bon avec les Predators en 2003-04, et après avoir remporté un championnat norvégien avec Vålerenga en 2004-05 pendant le lockout, il a joué à St. Louis, Atlanta et Winnipeg avant de retourner à Nashville pour la saison 2012-13.

Expérience à la Coupe TELUS – 1994, Chiefs de Red Deer (médaille d’argent)
Réalisations à la Coupe TELUS – Meilleur gardien de but
Équipes de la LNH – Predators de Nashville (1998-2008, 2012-aujourd’hui); Blues de St. Louis (2008-10); Thrashers d’Atlanta (2010-11); Jets de Winnipeg (2011-12)
Repêchage d’amateurs de la LNH – Devils du New Jersey, 1995 (5e ronde, 122e au total)
Expérience avec Équipe Canada – Championnat mondial de hockey sur glace de l’IIHF (2006, 2007, 2009, 2010)

Statistiques en carrière dans la LNH – 313PJ 137-109-35 2,64MOY 0,910% ARR. 23JB (au 21 mars 2013)

CLASSEMENT SELON LES MEMBRES DU COMITÉ DE SÉLECTION
Craig Button – 33
Paul Coffey – 40
Bob Nicholson – 39
Gord Sherven – 40
Partisans – 38

Videos
Close
Credit  
Nouvelles Récentes
Les plus populaires