2008 Allan Cup

2008 ALLAN CUP CHAMPIONS | BRANTFORD BLAST

 

ALLAN CUP 2008

In a recent interview, Peter Ham - owner and president of the 2008 Allan Cup host team, the Brantford Blast - said these are exciting times. He can’t wait for the 2008 event when Canada will come to Brantford. “We are thrilled to be able to bring the oldest and most prestigious amateur hockey championship to Brantford, and it’s that much more special in light of the milestone occasion we’ll be celebrating.

The 2008 tournament marks the 100th anniversary of the Cup, which was donated by Sir Montague Allan in 1908. The championship is held annually during the third week of April. The Allan Cup remains the oldest amateur hockey title in Canada.

 

BRANTFORD, ON

The Brantford area has long been known as a true hockey town and hometown of many famous NHLers. Greats such as Pat Hickey, Doug Risebrough, Doug Jarvis, Stan Jonathan, Jay Wells, Keith Jones, Chris and Dan Gratton and of course the Gretzkys all laced them up first in Brantford before moving on to chase their dream. For as far back as most local residents can remember, hockey has been an intrinsic part of what best symbolizes Brantford.

It’s only fitting then, that the City has been selected by Hockey Canada to host the 2008 Allan Cup Tournament. The winning combination of Brantford’s passionate hockey community and phenomenal arena facility - the 3,750 seat Civic Centre - certainly helped secure this opportunity for thousands to be part of the rich history of the Allan Cup.

 

 

For more information:
Bryan Swain Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, service du marketing et événements

Coupe Allan 2008

2008 COUPE ALLAN | BRANTFORD BLAST

 

L'OCCASION D'UNE VIE
COUPE ALLAN 2008

Au cours d’une entrevue récente, Peter Ham – propriétaire et président du Blast de Brantford, équipe hôtesse de la coupe Allan 2008 – a dit que c’était une période excitante. Il est impatient d’accueillir le Canada à Brantford lors de l’événement en 2008. « Nous sommes enchantés de pouvoir présenter le plus vieux et plus prestigieux tournoi de hockey amateur à Brantford et tout cela est d’autant plus spécial qu’il s’agit d’une occasion importante. »

Le tournoi de 2008 marque le 100e anniversaire de la coupe qui a été offerte par Sir Montague Allan en 1908. Le championnat a lieu tous les ans pendant la troisième semaine du mois d’avril. La coupe Allan demeure le plus ancien championnat de hockey amateur au Canada.

 

BRANTFORD, ON

La région de Brantford a depuis longtemps la réputation d’être une vraie ville de hockey en plus d’être la ville d’origine de plusieurs joueurs vedettes de la LNH. Des grands comme Pat Hickey, Doug Risebrough, Doug Jarvis, Stan Jonathan, Jay Wells, Keith Jones, Chris et Dan Gratton, et bien sûr, les Gretzky ont tous lacé les patins pour la première fois à Brantford avant de partir en quête de leur rêve. De la mémoire de la plupart des résidents de l’endroit, le hockey a toujours été partie intégrante de l’identité de Brantford.

Cela explique sans doute pourquoi la ville a été choisie par Hockey Canada pour accueillir le tournoi de la coupe Allan 2008. L’heureux mariage de cette communauté passionnée de hockey et du superbe aréna local – le Centre civique qui contient 3 750 sièges – a sans doute aidé à confirmer le choix de Brantford pour permettre à des milliers de partisans de faire partie de la riche tradition de la coupe Allan.

 

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Bryan Swain Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, service du marketing et événements

ÉVENEMENT