Hockey Canada Foundation
Two legends of Canadian hockey will add another honour to their long list of achievements this fall; Paul Coffey and Danielle Goyette are part of the Class of 2015 to be inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame.
The Hockey Canada Foundation continued its tradition of leaving a legacy in HCF Celebrity Classic host cities, partnering with the Edmonton Oilers Community Foundation on Family Day to open a community rink in Beacon Heights in Edmonton, Alta.
The Hockey Canada Foundation Celebrity Classic is returning to Canada’s largest city; Toronto, Ont., will welcome the annual gala and golf tournament for the fifth time in 2015, with the Mattamy Athletic Centre and The Country Club playing host June 10-11.
Long-time NHL executive Jim Gregory, Olympic gold medal and World Cup-winning head coach Pat Quinn and eight-time Stanley Cup champion Serge Savard have been announced as Distinguished Honourees to the Order of Hockey in Canada for 2015.
A four-time Olympian and two-time Olympic gold medallist who famously backstopped Canada to its first Olympic gold in 50 years at the 2002 Games, Martin Brodeur has announced his retirement. He also won a World Cup championship in 2004.
The rink at the Regent Park Athletic Grounds was well used but in need of a major makeover. Thanks in part to funds from the 2012 Hockey Canada Foundation Celebrity Classic, residents now have a safer place to skate, and a refurbished field house to call home.
As Canada’s National Junior Team makes its way through the final few days of the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship, members of the 1993 and 1994 gold-medal-winning teams were reunited and recognized by Hockey Canada in Toronto.
It is with a heavy heart that Hockey Canada acknowledges the passing of Jean Béliveau, who died Dec. 1 at 83. Béliveau was one of the first Order of Hockey in Canada honourees, and was the honorary captain of Canada’s Men’s Olympic Team in 2010.
It is with great sadness that Hockey Canada acknowledges the passing of Pat Quinn, who died Nov. 23 at 71. Quinn made 11 appearances as a coach and GM with Team Canada, including helping end Canada’s Olympic gold medal drought in 2002.
Bob Nicholson, who led Canada’s national teams to 71 medals, 44 of them gold (including seven Olympic gold), in his 16 years as Hockey Canada’s president and CEO was honoured in Edmonton with the first COC President’s Award.
Team Canada alumnus and Calgary Flames captain Mark Giordano, along with his wife, Lauren, has launched Team Giordano: Points to the Future, which will donate $100,000 to three Calgary schools to support and encourage students in the city.
Calgary is home to a sports equipment bank that will help thousands of youngsters play hockey in southern Alberta. Comrie’s Sports Equipment Bank will help address a major hurdle that keeps many kids out of sports – the cost of equipment.
Seth Martin, who led the Trail Smoke Eaters to a gold medal at the 1961 IIHF World Championship and backstopped Canada at four world championships and an Olympic Winter Games during the 1960s, passed away Sept. 6 at the age of 81.
Hockey season has come early for 37 young players in Richmond, B.C. The Hockey Canada Foundation’s Dreams Come True program visited the Lower Mainland on Aug. 23, bringing brand-new equipment and registration fees.
As a coach, Tom Renney helped Canada win four medals on the international stage. As Hockey Canada’s new leader, he’ll be involved in every aspect of the game, and the chance to reconnect at the grassroots level has him excited.
From the Florida Panthers to a gold medal for the ages at the Olympic Winter Games and bronze at the IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship, the 2013-14 season was an unforgettable one behind the bench for Kevin Dineen.


For more information, please contact:
Chris Bright, Executive Director, Hockey Canada Foundation
Norm Dueck, Coordinator, Special Projects - send Alumni questions or concerns here.

Videos
Photos
Recent News
Most Popular
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit:

Fondation Hockey Canada
La Fondation Hockey Canada a perpétué sa tradition de laisser un legs aux villes hôtes de la Classique des célébrités de la FHC en s’associant à la Fondation communautaire des Oilers d’Edmonton et en ouvrant une patinoire communautaire dans Beverly Heights à Edmonton, Alberta.
La Classique des célébrités de la Fondation Hockey Canada sera de retour dans la plus grande ville du Canada; Toronto, Ont., accueillera le gala et tournoi de golf annuel pour la cinquième fois en 2015 au Mattamy Athletic Centre et The Country Club les 10 et 11 juin.
Le dirigeant de longue date de la LNH, Jim Gregory, l’entraîneur-chef médaillé d’or olympique et gagnant de la Coupe du monde, Pat Quinn, et Serge Savard, huit fois champion de la Coupe Stanley, seront les personnes de marque honorées de l’Ordre du hockey au Canada en 2015.
Olympien à quatre reprises et double médaillé d’or olympique ayant gardé le filet canadien lors de sa première médaille d’or olympique en 50 ans aux Jeux de 2002, Martin Brodeur annonce sa retraite. Il a aussi remporté le championnat de la Coupe du monde en 2004.
Hockey Canada exprime ses sincères condoléances à la famille de J.P. Parise qui a perdu son combat contre le cancer du poumon le 7 janvier. Originaire de Smooth Rock Falls, Ont., Parise a été membre d’Équipe Canada lors de la Série du siècle de 1972 accumulant quatre points en six matchs.
La patinoire de l’aire d’athlétisme de Regent Park était fort utilisée, mais nécessitait des rénovations majeures. Grâce en partie à des fonds provenant de la Classique des célébrités 2012 de la Fondation Hockey Canada, les résidents ont maintenant une patinoire sécuritaire et un pavillon rénové bien à eux.
Alors que l’équipe nationale junior du Canada poursuit son parcours en ces derniers jours du Championnat mondial junior 2015 de l’IIHF, des membres des équipes médaillées d’or de 1993 et 1994 sont réunis et reconnus par Hockey Canada à Toronto.
C’est avec une profonde tristesse que Hockey Canada a appris le décès de Jean Béliveau mardi à l’âge de 83 ans. Jean Béliveau a été l’un des premiers récipiendaires de l’Ordre du hockey au Canada et capitaine honoraire de l’équipe olympique masculine du Canada en 2010.
C’est avec beaucoup de tristesse que Hockey Canada a reçu la nouvelle au sujet du décès dimanche soir de Pat Quinn, à l’âge de 71 ans. Quinn a été 11 fois entraîneur et directeur général d’Équipe Canada. Il a aidé à mettre fin à la disette lorsque le Canada a remporté l’or olympique en 2002.
Bob Nicholson, qui a mené les équipes nationales du Canada à 71 médailles, dont 44 d’or (incluant sept médailles d’or olympiques), au cours de ses 16 années comme président et chef de la direction de Hockey Canada, a été honoré samedi soir à Edmonton, recevant le premier Prix du président du COC.
Un des défenseurs les plus décorés de l’histoire du hockey et une pionnière du hockey féminin ont mérité le plus grand honneur international. Scott Niedermayer et Fran Rider seront intronisés au Temple de la renommée de l’IIHF au sein de la cohorte de 2015.
L’ancien d’Équipe Canada et capitaine des Flames de Calgary Mark Giordano et sa femme Lauren lancent Team Giordano : Points to the Future, un programme qui versera 100 000 $ à trois écoles de Calgary pour appuyer et encourager des élèves de la ville.
Calgary accueille une banque d’équipement de sport aidant des milliers de jeunes du sud de l’Alberta à jouer au hockey. La Banque d’équipement de sport Comrie aidera à surmonter un obstacle majeur empêchant nombre d’enfants à faire du sport – le coût de l’équipement.
Seth Martin, qui a mené les Smoke Eaters de Trail à la médaille d’or au Championnat mondial 1961 de l’IIHF et qui a défendu le filet du Canada quatre fois au Championnat mondial et une fois aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver dans les années 1960, s’est éteint le 6 septembre, à l’âge de 81 ans.
La saison de hockey a commencé tôt pour trente-sept jeunes joueurs de Richmond, C.-B. Le programme Rêves devenus réalité de la Fondation Hockey Canada a visité la vallée du bas Fraser le 23 août, apportant de l’équipement de hockey flambant neuf et payant les frais d’inscription.
À titre d’entraîneur, Tom Renney a aidé le Canada à remporter quatre médailles sur la scène internationale. Désormais, en tant que nouveau président et chef de la direction de Hockey Canada, il sera impliqué dans tous les aspects du sport national et il est excité de la chance qu’il a de rétablir un lien avec les Canadiens à l’échelle de base du hockey.
Des Panthers de la Floride à une médaille d’or digne des annales aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver et à une de bronze au Championnat mondial de hockey sur glace des M18 de l’IIHF, la saison 2013-14 derrière le banc sera inoubliable pour Kevin Dineen.


Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter :
Chris Bright, Responsable, Fondation Hockey Canada
Norm Dueck, Coordonnateur, projets spéciaux

Videos
Photos
Close
Credit  
Close
Photo Credit: