History (Part 3)

Amateur clubs in Canada have the opportunity to play for many fine trophies, the most historic being the Allan Cup, emblematic of the Senior Championship of Canada, and the OHA Memorial Cup, for the Junior Championship of Canada. The Allan Cup, in continuous competition since 1908, has been retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame, and a full sized replica is now used for presentations. The Memorial Cup has been in continuous competition since being donated by the OHA in 1919 and today this national competition has become one of the classics in our sport.

Over the years other trophies have been donated to the Association and a complete history of all trophies can be found elsewhere on the Web site. The history of the competition for the trophies is carried annually as an appendix to the C.H.A. Rule Book.

The Silver Jubilee of the Association was marked with appropriate ceremony at the Annual Meeting of 1939, which fittingly was held in Winnipeg, the site of the first Annual Meeting in 1915.

Another milestone in the history of the Association occurred in 1964 when its Golden Jubilee was observed. This Jubilee was held in the Chateau Laurier, Ottawa, where the meeting which led to the formation of the Association in 1914, was held. On the occasion of this Jubilee, a special commemorative bronze plaque was unveiled in the lobby of the Chateau Laurier.. For this occasion, CHA delegates were joined by many representatives from other spheres in our sport, including the international field, professional hockey, and the Amateur Hockey Association of the United States observed the occasion at the same time and in the same location.

In its early years the Association established and maintained a very strict code of amateurism, but this has changed considerably with times down through the years. One of the first relaxations of the early, Victorian idea of amateurism, occurred in 1933 when provision was made to permit amateur players to try out with professional clubs under very strict conditions.

In 1935 a committee was appointed to consider methods of liberalizing the definition of an amateur and the committee brought in a four-point proposal which provided that a player's amateur status should not be injured if he received payment for loss of time while playing hockey; a position as a result of his playing ability; if he took part in an exhibition game against a professional club or players; or, if he were a professional in another line of sport. This brought on a very considerable controversy with the Amateur Athletic Union of Canada, with which the Association was then affiliated, with the result that in 1936 all links between the two organizations were broken.

Videos
Schedule
Close
Photo Credit:  
Close
Credit

Histoire - Page 3

Les clubs amateurs au Canada ont l'opportunité de jouer pour de nombreux et prestigieux trophées. Le plus historique est la coupe Allan, emblème du championnat senior du Canada et la coupe Memorial de l'AHO, pour le championnat junior du Canada. La Coupe Allan, en compétition depuis 1908, a été déposée au Temple de la Renommée du hockey et une réplique grandeur nature est utilisée pour les présentations. La Coupe Memorial est en compétition continuelle, depuis que l'AHO en a fait don en 1919 et aujourd'hui, cette compétition nationale est devenue un événement classique.

Au cours des années, d'autres trophées ont été donnés à l'Association et l'historique complet de tous les trophées est présenté à la partie IV de ce livret. La liste complète des gagnants des principaux trophées de l'Association est répétée chaque année en appendice au livre des règles de jeu de l'ACH.

Le vingt-cinquième anniversaire de l'Association fut célébré par une cérémonie spéciale lors de l'Assemblée générale annuelle de 1939. Le lieu de l'Assemblée annuelle de cette année-là fut Winnipeg; le choix s'avéra plus que judicieux, puisque cette ville avait été le site de la première Assemblée générale annuelle en 1915.

Un autre événement qui a marqué l'histoire de l'Association a lieu en 1964 lorsque l'on célébra son cinquantième anniversaire. Cet anniversaire eut lieu au Château Laurier à Ottawa, là où la réunion qui avait conduit à la création de l'Association en 1914 avait été tenue. A l'occasion de ce jubilé, une plaque commémorative spéciale en bronze est dévoilée dans le hall du Château Laurier. Lors de cet événement, les délégués de l'ACH ont accueilli plusieurs personnes représentant d'autres sphères de notre sport, incluant le domaine international, le hockey professionnel ainsi que l'Association de hockey amateur des États-Unis qui profitait de l'occasion pour tenir son Assemblée générale annuelle en même temps et dans les mêmes lieux.

Dès les premières années, l'Association a établi et maintenu un code d'amateurisme très strict, mais au cours des années, beaucoup de changements ont été apportés. Une des premières mesures d'assouplissement de cette vision victorienne de l'amateurisme, survient en 1933 alors que l'on inclut une clause permettant aux joueurs amateurs de participer à des essais pour des clubs professionnels, mais ceci sous des conditions très strictes.

En 1935, un comité est formé afin d'étudier les moyens d'élargir la définition d'un amateur. Ce comité formule une proposition en quatre points qui stipule que le statut amateur d'un joueur ne peut être lésé s'il reçoit un paiement pour perte de temps ouvrable lorsqu'il joue au hockey; s'il obtient un poste résultant de ses habilités à jouer; s'il a pris part à une partie hors-concours contre un club ou des joueurs professionnels; ou, s'il était professionnel dans une autre discipline sportive. Ceci provoque une controverse au sein de l'Union athlétique amateur du Canada avec laquelle l'Association est alors affiliée. À cause de cette controverse, en 1936, tous les liens entre ces deux organismes sont coupés.