2010 National Midget Championship

Notre Dame Hounds  5 -  Mississauga Reps  5


LÉVIS, QUE. – The Notre Dame Hounds are going to have to work for a second-straight national title. That much is certain, following another tie for the defending-champion Hounds.

2010 TELUS Cup photo gallery

On Friday, Notre Dame battled the Mississauga Reps to a 5-5 tie. Mississauga carried the play for the majority of the game, including over the final 20 minutes.

Notre Dame had a strong start and opened up a 3-0 lead in the first period.

But, as was the case on Thursday when Notre Dame beat Lévis, the Hounds allowed their opponent to get back into the game. Mississauga found its offence late in the first period and scored two goals in 12 seconds on Notre Dame’s Mark Foley (London, Ont.).

Both teams tallied twice in the second period and Notre Dame held a 5-4 lead going into the final 20 minutes.

Nick Weiss (Port Hope, Ont.), Stefan Matteau (Blaineville, Que.) and James Melindy (Gould, N.L.) scored for Notre Dame in the first period, with Marcus Basara (Coquitlam, B.C.) and Marcus Messier (Canmore, Alta.) adding goals in the second.

Alex D’Oliveira (Georgetown, Ont.) and Andreas Tsogkas (Toronto, Ont.) scored for the Reps in the first, with Eric Locke (Toronto, Ont.) and James Ryan (Richmond Hill, Ont.) adding goals in the second.

Josh Wiley (Oakville, Ont.) scored the lone goal of the third as the Reps fought back for the tie and a point. Mississauga concludes the preliminary round at 2-2-1 and with five points, which gives the Reps a berth in semifinal play on Saturday. Notre Dame moved to 2-0-3 and will also play on the weekend.


Game Information
Game Number 13  Round Round Robin
Arena Aréna de Lévis City, Country Lévis, Que., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/23/2010 Time (local) 11:00 AM ET
Attendance 726 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3  Total
Notre Dame Hounds (WST) 3 2 05
Mississauga Reps (CEN)2215
First Period
   07:36 WST 9 Nick Weiss (3 James Melindy, 21 Morgan Rielly) PP
   12:04 WST 11 Stefan Matteau (3 James Melindy)
   13:41 WST 3 James Melindy (12 Catlin Foley, 7 Liam O’Brien) PP
   17:56 CEN 51 Alex D’Oliveira (12 Kevin Pietrobon, 21 Patrick Megannety)
   18:08 CEN 11 Andreas Tsogkas (2 Jordan Auld) PP

   04:28 WST 20 Slater Koekkoek (Cross Checking)
   07:09 CEN 9 Josh Wiley (Interference)
   09:01 WST 18 Paul Brisebois (Tripping)
   12:49 CEN 55 Eric Locke (High Sticking)
   18:03 WST 9 Nick Weiss (Tripping)

Second Period
   09:29 CEN 55 Eric Locke (11 Andreas Tsogkas, 51 Alex D’Oliveira)
   11:16 WST 17 Marcus Basara (6 Josh Bruha)
   13:46 WST 8 Marcus Messier (19 Shea Howorko)
   18:09 CEN 48 James Ryan (16 Terry Trafford, 9 Josh Wiley)

   05:28 CEN 77 Jake Crow (Roughing)
   07:27 WST 18 Paul Brisebois (Interference)
   07:33 CEN Team (Too Many Men)
   09:01 WST 19 Shea Howorko (Holding)

Third Period
   15:36 CEN 9 Josh Wiley (16 Terry Trafford, 48 James Ryan)

   07:04 CEN 71 Chris Goulet (Hooking)
   09:00 CEN 11 Andreas Tsogkas (High Sticking)
   12:59 WST 14 Andrew Ryan (Interference)
   18:13 CEN 9 Josh Wiley (Tripping)

Notre Dame Hounds
1 Mark Foley On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
Mississauga Reps
1 Malcolm Subban On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Notre Dame Hounds1591034
Mississauga Reps1013629

Player of Game
Notre Dame Hounds 9 Nick Weiss
Mississauga Reps 11 Andreas Tsogkas
Referee Nicolas Leduc
Lines People Jean-Francois Laferriere, Francois Dussureault