2009 National Midget Championship

Calgary Buffaloes  7 -  Winnipeg Thrashers  0


SELKIRK, Man. – There will be no second chance at gold for the Winnipeg Thrashers at the TELUS Cup.

Sam Brittain stopped all 38 shots he faced for the first shutout at this year’s National Midget Championship – including a crucial second-period penalty shot – as the Calgary Buffaloes routed the host Thrashers 7-0 in Saturday semifinal action, advancing to Sunday’s gold medal game.

The line of Dylan Nowakowski, Joel Lowry and Brett Pinder combined for eight points as the Buffaloes handed Winnipeg the most lopsided semifinal loss at the tournament since Prince Albert beat Châteauguay 8-0 in 2006 en route to gold.

Nowakowski opened the scoring in the final minute of the first period and gave Calgary some insurance in the dying seconds of the second, while Lowry, Drydn Dow, Greg Lamoureux, Doug Jones and Cody Irving also put their names on the scoresheet.

Dow’s goal came just minutes after Brittain stoned Craig Scott on a penalty shot after Dow was caught closing his hand on the puck in the crease. Scott faked on the forehand and tried to lift a backhand over Brittain, but the sprawling netminder got his right pad on the puck to preserve the Calgary lead.

The Buffaloes will face the Notre Dame Hounds on Sunday night (5 p.m. CT) with the national championship on the line. Calgary is celebrating the 20th anniversary of its 1989 national title, and will look to add a second gold to their collection on Sunday.

The Thrashers, who won silver at the 2008 TELUS Cup in Arnprior, Ont., will face the Rousseau Sports de Laval-Bourassa for bronze on Sunday morning (11 a.m. CT).


Game Information
Game Number 17  Round Semi-Final
Arena Selkirk Recreation Complex City, Country Selkirk, Man., Canada
Month / Day / Year 04/25/2009 Time (local) 06:00 PM CT
Attendance 996 Game Status Final

Box Score   1     2     3   Total
Calgary Buffaloes (PAC) 1 2 4 7
Winnipeg Thrashers (HST) 0 0 0 0
First Period
   19:07 PAC 18 Dylan Nowakowski (20 Brett Pinder)

   03:59 HST 16 Cody Waterman (Interference)
   08:35 PAC 14 Riley Point (Interference)
   10:16 PAC 23 Cody Irving (Interference)
   14:25 HST 21 Michael Hay (Interference)
   17:03 HST 8 Michael Lazo (Tripping)

Second Period
   14:24 PAC 6 Drydn Dow (10 Joel Lowry, 18 Dylan Nowakowski)
   19:38 PAC 18 Dylan Nowakowski (10 Joel Lowry, 20 Brett Pinder)

   03:50 PAC 20 Brett Pinder (Hooking)

Third Period
   05:16 PAC 17 Greg Lamoureux (12 Chris Collins)
   05:33 PAC 10 Joel Lowry (18 Dylan Nowakowski, 20 Brett Pinder)
   17:33 PAC 11 Doug Jones (9 Brandon McLean, 3 Austin Frank) PP
   18:52 PAC 23 Cody Irving (7 Peter Kosterman, 14 Riley Point) PP

   16:47 HST 4 Alex Kampen (Holding)
   17:12 HST 14 Derek Wasylyshen (Roughing)

Calgary Buffaloes
1 Sam Brittain On 1/00:00   Off 3/20:00
Winnipeg Thrashers
35 Brett Gagnon On 1/00:00   Off 3/05:33
1 Jason Kasdorf On 3/05:34   Off 3/20:00

Shots on Goal   1     2     3   Total
Calgary Buffaloes 16 10 13 39
Winnipeg Thrashers 11 14 13 38

Player of Game
Calgary Buffaloes 1 Sam Brittain
Winnipeg Thrashers 15 Colin Mospanchuk
Referee Chris Hanline
Lines People Derek Reimer, Willie MacDonald