2015-16 National Women's Development Team

Presented By newlogo
2015 NWDT Summer Showcase
Game #1
Final (SO)
August 11, 2015 9:30 pm AST
Markin MacPhail Centre - WinSport Arena
Calgary, Alta.

Game Story

LESLIE SEALS THE DEAL IN SHOOTOUT AS BLUE WINS DEVELOPMENT CAMP OPENER

KARA SPADY

CALGARY, Alta. – Rebecca Leslie (Ottawa, Ont./Boston University, HE) netted the game-winner in the fifth round of the shootout to give Blue a 3-2 win over Gold in the opening game at Canada’s National Women’s Development Team selection camp on Tuesday night.

Leslie went to the backhand to beat Gold goaltender Amanda Leveille (Kingston, Ont./University of Minnesota, WCHA) and end a wild game that saw Blue give up a one-lead in the dying minutes.

In a fast-paced, Blue-dominated first period, it was Gold netminder Erica Howe (Orleans, Ont./Brampton, CWHL) who stood on her head, making 13 saves as Blue held a whopping 13-1 advantage in shots on goal in the opening 20 minutes.

The scoreless hockey continued until the late stages of the second period; Erin Ambrose (Keswick, Ont./Clarkson University, ECAC) got it started for Gold, racing in from the blue-line to find Kristyn Capizzano’s (Oakville, Ont./Boston College, HE) rebound and slide the puck past Elaine Chuli (Waterford, Ont./University of Connecticut, HE).

Blue answered just 2:30 later as Catherine Dubois (Charlesbourg, Que./Limoilou, CEGEP) worked the give-and-go with Karly Heffernan (Sherwood Park, Alta./Harvard University, ECAC), who dangled her way to the hash-marks before going top shelf with a backhand past Leveille.

Shae Labbe (Calgary, Alta./Warner School, JWHL) gave Blue its first lead 16 seconds after that, rushing the puck from the neutral zone and finding the back of the net to put Blue up 2-1 after 40 minutes.

Blue looked to be on its way to victory before Rebecca Kohler’s (St. Thomas, Ont./University of North Dakota, WCHA) stretch pass found Sarah Lefort (Ormstown, Que./Boston University, HE), who fired the puck over Chuli’s glove, tying the game 2-2 with just 3:06 left in regulation time.

After a five minute, four-on-four overtime, solved nothing, Blue went the distance to get the win in a shootout. Kohler, Gold’s first shooter, put the pressure on as she went bar-down on Chuli, but Renata Fast (Burlington, Ont./Clarkson University, ECAC) kept Blue in the game as she squeaked one through Leveille’s five-hole on her team’s last chance.

Lefort, Labbe and Laura Stacey (Kleinburg, Ont./Dartmouth College, ECAC) went three up, three down to set up Leslie’s winner on the final shot.

Blue finished regulation and overtime with a one-sided 36-16 advantage in shots on goal.

The teams will meet again Friday night (8 p.m. MT) at the Markin MacPhail Centre before closing out the intrasquad series on Saturday (6 p.m. MT).

Previous Games

2 - 3 L @ GoldGLD
Aug 15, 2015
3 - 2 W vs. BlueBLU
Aug 15, 2015
2 - 1 W @ GoldGLD
Aug 14, 2015
1 - 2 L vs. BlueBLU
Aug 14, 2015
3 - 2 W @ GoldGLD
Aug 11, 2015
2 - 3 L vs. BlueBLU
Aug 11, 2015
Videos
Photos
TELUS: REG 6 – STR 3 (Bronze Medal)
Miller and Woods had three points apiece to lead the Pat Canadians over the Bisons for bronze.
TELUS: TOR - CHA (Gold Medal)
Bonsteel scored twice and Ewing made 35 saves, leading the Young Nationals to their first TELUS Cup title.
TELUS: TOR 3 – REG 1 (Semifinal)
Regan got the winner seven minutes into the third period to send the Young Nationals to the final.
TELUS: CHA 7 – STR 1 (Semifinal)
The Grenadiers scored the game’s final seven goals to beat the Bisons and return to the gold medal game.
Close
Credit

Équipe nationale féminine de développement 2015-2016

ÉNFD - Vitrine estivale 2015
P no 1
Final (TB)
11 août 2015 21:30 HNA
Markin MacPhail Centre - WinSport Arena
Calgary, Alta.

Résumé du match

LESLIE CLÔT LE DÉBAT EN TIRS DE BARRAGE DANS UN TRIOMPHE DES BLEUS AU PREMIER DUEL DU CAMP DE DÉVELOPPEMENT

KARA SPADY

CALGARY, Alb. – Rebecca Leslie (Ottawa, Ont./Université de Boston, HE) a marqué le but gagnant en cinquième ronde des tirs de barrage pour procurer une victoire de 3-2 aux Bleus contre les Or au premier match du camp de sélection de l’équipe nationale féminine de développement du Canada, mardi soir.

Leslie a battu la gardienne de but des Or Amanda Leveille (Kingston, Ont./Université du Minnesota, WCHA) du revers et a mis fin à un match endiablé au cours duquel les Bleus ont laissé filer une avance d’un but dans les dernières minutes.

Dans un duel qui s’est déroulé avec une bonne intensité, les Bleus dominant le premier vingt, la gardienne de but des Or Erica Howe (Orléans, Ont./Brampton, LCHF) a brillé, réalisant 13 arrêts alors que les Bleus avaient un fort avantage au chapitre des tirs au but, lors des 20 premières minutes.

Ce match sans but s’est poursuivi jusqu’aux derniers instants de la période médiane; Erin Ambrose (Keswick, Ont./Université Clarkson, ECAC) a lancé les hostilités pour les Or, traversant sa ligne bleue et entrant en zone adverse avant de s’emparer du rebond de Kristyn Capizzano (Oakville, Ont./Boston College, HE) et de loger le disque derrière la cerbère Elaine Chuli (Waterford, Ont./Université du Connecticut, HE).

La réplique des Bleus est venue 2 min 30 s plus tard lorsque Catherine Dubois (Charlesbourg, Qc/Limoilou, CÉGEP) s’est échangé la rondelle avec Karly Heffernan (Sherwood Park, Alb./Université Harvard, ECAC), qui s’est avancée aux lignes hachurées avant de tirer dans la partie supérieure du filet derrière Leveille.

Shae Labbe (Calgary, Alb./école Warner, JWHL) a permis aux Bleus de prendre l’avance pour la première fois 16 secondes plus tard. Elle a transporté le disque à partir de la zone neutre et touché la cible, les Bleus étant en avant 2-1 après 40 minutes.

Les Bleus semblaient sur le chemin de la victoire, puis la longue passe de Rebecca Kohler (St. Thomas, Ont./Université du Dakota du Nord, WCHA) a atteint la lame de Sarah Lefort (Ormstown, Qc/Université de Boston, HE), qui a décoché un tir par-dessus la mitaine de Chuli, égalisant la marque à 2-2, avec seulement 3 min 06 s à écouler en temps réglementaire.

Une prolongation de cinq minutes, à quatre contre quatre, n’a rien changé, mais les Bleus ont signé la victoire en tirs de barrage.

Kohler, première tireuse des Or, a mis de la pression, trompant la vigilance de Chuli, mais Renata Fast (Burlington, Ont./Université Clarkson, ECAC) a permis aux Bleus de rester dans le match, battant Leveille entre les jambières lors de la dernière chance de son équipe.

Lefort, Labbe et Laura Stacey (Kleinburg, Ont./Dartmouth College, ECAC) n’ont rien produit, puis Leslie a inscrit le but vainqueur sur le dernier tir.

Les Bleus ont terminé le match avec un net avantage de 36-16 dans la colonne des tirs au but.

Les deux formations ont à nouveau rendez-vous vendredi soir (20 h HR) au Markin MacPhail Centre avant de mettre fin à la série intraéquipe samedi (18 h HR).

Matchs précédents

D 2 - 3 à OrGLD
15 août 2015
V 3 - 2 c. BleuBLU
15 août 2015
V 2 - 1 à OrGLD
14 août 2015
D 1 - 2 c. BleuBLU
14 août 2015
V 3 - 2 à OrGLD
11 août 2015
D 2 - 3 c. BleuBLU
11 août 2015
Vidéos
Photos
TELUS : REG 6 – STR 3 (Médaille de bronze)
Miller et Woods ont récolté trois points chacun pour mener les Pat Canadians à la victoire contre les Bisons qui gagnent le bronze.
TELUS : TOR - CHA (Médaille d'or)
Bonsteel marque deux fois et Ewing réussit 35 arrêts menant les Young Nationals à leur premier titre de la Coupe TELUS.
TELUS : TOR 3 – REG 1 (Demi-finale)
Regan a inscrit le but de la victoire à la septième minute de la troisième période pour permettre aux Young Nationals de passer en finale.
TELUS : CHA 7 – STR 1 (Demi-finale)
Les Grenadiers ont compté les sept derniers buts de la partie pour battre les Bisons et retourner au match pour la médaille d’or.
Close
Credit