2016-17 National Junior Team

Message from the Premier of Quebec

World Junior Hockey Championship

As the national sport of Québecers, hockey has been part of our history and identity for more than 100 years. In fact, Québec and especially Montréal have had a major impact on the development of the sport. Rumour has it that the very first "official" game of hockey in 1875 was played in our metropolis. Since then, hockey has never ceased to arouse passions, attract fans and give us some of the greatest stars.

Montréal, therefore, has every reason to be especially proud and honoured to be hosting the World Junior Hockey Championship in 2017 as the city marks its 375th anniversary. This major and highly anticipated sporting event will showcase hockey and its talented young players to Québec and the world.

I wish to congratulate all these young hockey enthusiasts from a dozen countries who are coming to compete in Montréal. They are models of the determination, pursuit of excellence, willpower, discipline and perseverance needed to achieve great things. I also wish to highlight the work and support of the families, coaches and the teams of volunteers that will accompany the young players on this unique experience.

Last, I invite everyone to take advantage of your stay with us to visit our beautiful metropolis and discover the other regions of Québec. And our winter activities, part Québec’s unique signature, are always sure to please.

Best wishes for the Championship!

 

Philippe Couillard
Premier of Québec

Videos
Photos
2019 WJC: FIN 2 – CAN 1 OT (Quarter-final)
DiPietro was spectacular with 32 saves, but Canada was edged in OT.
2019 WJC: RUS 2 – CAN 1 (Preliminary)
Glass scored early, but Canada came up one short in its prelim finale.
2019 WJC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Five different players scored to keep Canada perfect in the prelims.
2019 WJC: CAN 3 – SUI 2 (Preliminary)
Dobson scored the game-winning goal to help Canada edge the Swiss.
Close
Credit  
Recent News
Most Popular

Équipe nationale junior 2016-2017

Message du premier ministre du Québec

Championnat mondial de hockey junior

Sport national des Québécoises et des Québécois, le hockey est inscrit dans notre histoire et notre identité depuis plus de 100 ans. D’ailleurs, le Québec et plus spécialement Montréal ont grandement marqué le développement de ce sport. La rumeur veut que ce soit dans notre métropole que ce serait disputée la toute première partie de hockey « officielle » en 1875. Depuis, ce sport n’a cessé de susciter les passions, de faire des adeptes et de nous donner de formidables étoiles.

Montréal a donc toutes les raisons d’être particulièrement fière et honorée, alors qu’elle souligne en 2017 son 375e anniversaire de fondation, d’accueillir le Championnat mondial de hockey junior. Un événement sportif majeur et des plus attendus, qui fait rayonner le hockey ainsi que sa talentueuse relève au Québec et dans le monde.

Je souhaite féliciter tous les jeunes passionnés de hockey provenant d’une dizaine de pays qui viennent s’affronter à Montréal. Ils sont de véritables exemples de détermination, de dépassement de soi, de volonté, de discipline et de persévérance qui mènent à la réalisation de grandes ambitions. Je souhaite également souligner le travail et le soutien des familles, des entraîneurs et des équipes de bénévoles qui accompagnent les jeunes lors de cette expérience unique.

En terminant, je vous invite toutes et tous à profiter de votre séjour chez nous pour visiter notre belle métropole et découvrir les autres régions du Québec. Les activités hivernales qui font partie de la signature unique du Québec ne manqueront pas de vous plaire.

Bon Championnat!

Le premier ministre du Québec,
Philippe Couillard

Vidéos
Photos
Camp de l’ENJ 2019 : USA 5 – CAN 3 (Hors concours)
Foote a un but et une aide, mais le Canada perd son dernier match.
Camp de l’ENJ 2019 : CAN 5 – SWE 2 (Hors concours)
Thomas et Fortier récoltent deux points dans un gain du Canada.
Camp de l’ENJ 2019 : FIN 8 – CAN 3 (Hors concours)
Noel marque deux buts, mais le Canada perd contre la Finlande.
Camp de l’ENJ 2019 : CAN 4 – USA 1 (Hors concours)
Dach accumule deux buts et une aide dans la victoire des siens au camp.
Close
Credit