Burnaby, B.C., to Host 2013 Esso Cup, Canada's National Female Midget Championship Fraser Valley Phantom Named Host Team
August 21, 2012

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with BC Hockey, the Burnaby Minor Hockey Association and the BC Hockey Female Midget AAA League, announced Tuesday that Burnaby, B.C., will host the 2013 Esso Cup, Canada’s fifth annual National Female Midget Championship, from April 21-27.

The Fraser Valley Phantom, which competes in the BC Hockey Female Midget AAA League, will serve as host team at the 2013 Esso Cup. Canada’s National Female Midget Championship will feature the top female Midget teams from across the country at the twin-rink, 2,000-seat Bill Copeland Sports Centre next April.

“BC Hockey is extremely excited to host the Esso Cup for the first time,” said BC Hockey president Wilf Liefke. “This event will showcase some of the best women’s hockey in the country, including Fraser Valley Phantom players from our own backyard, and will also help grow and strengthen the female game across our province.”

The 2013 Esso Cup will feature five regional champions (Pacific, West, Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic), in addition to the host Phantom, with the six teams competing in a five-day round robin, followed by semifinals and the bronze and gold medal games. The gold medal game will air on TSN/RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada.

“We have no doubt that Burnaby will be a fantastic host to this special women’s hockey event, which continues to grow in popularity and prestige,” said Dean McIntosh, director of marketing services and events for Hockey Canada. “We look forward to seeing Canada’s top female Midget teams face off for a national championship on B.C. ice.”

For more information on the 2013 Esso Cup, please visit www.HockeyCanada.ca/EssoCup, or follow along through social media at www.Facebook.com/EssoCup and www.Twitter.com/HC_EssoCup.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


2017 TELUS Cup: SSF 4 – REG 3 OT (Semifinal)
Pelletier was the hero, sending the Blizzard to the gold medal game.
2017 Esso Cup: DUR 4, PVH 1 (Bronze)
Durham West wins 4-1 to claim the 2017 Esso Cup bronze medal.
2017 Esso Cup: STA 1, TRI 0 (Gold)
The St. Albert Slash are the 2017 Esso Cup Champions.
2017 TELUS Cup: CBW 2 – MIS 1 (Semifinal)
Stewart scored the GWG and the Islanders booked a trip to the final.