Todd Gill Named Head Coach of Canada's National Men's Summer Under-18 Team; Yanick Jean and Scott Walker to Serve As Assistant Coaches
May 22, 2012

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Tuesday that Todd Gill (Cardinal, Ont.), head coach of the OHL’s Kingston Frontenacs, will be the head coach of Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team for the 2012 Memorial of Ivan Hlinka tournament, scheduled from Aug. 13-18, 2012 in Piestany, Slovakia and Breclav, Czech Republic.

Gill will be joined on the coaching staff by assistant coaches Yanick Jean (Alma, Que./Victoriaville, QMJHL), and Scott Walker, (Cambridge, Ont./Guelph, OHL) for the tournament, which Canada has won in each of the last four years, and seven of the last nine.

Todd Gill, 46, will make his second appearance behind the Team Canada bench, his first as a head coach. He won a bronze medal last April as an assistant coach with Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team at the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship. Gill, who just completed his first season as head coach of the Frontenacs, was a two-time head coach of Canada East at the World Junior A Challenge, finishing fourth in 2009 before winning a silver medal the following year. As a player, Gill played 1,007 NHL games over 19 seasons with Toronto, San Jose, St. Louis, Detroit, Phoenix, Colorado and Chicago, and also played for Canada at the 1992 IIHF World Championship, finishing seventh.

Yanick Jean, 36, will make his Team Canada coaching debut. He has been head coach of the Tigres since Feb., and has also spent time in the QMJHL as the head coach of the P.E.I. Rocket (2005-07) and as an assistant coach with the Chicoutimi Sagueneens (2002-05). Jean played four seasons with the Sagueneens (1992-96) and was a fifth-round selection (119th overall) of the Washington Capitals in the 1994 NHL Entry Draft before spending four seasons in the ECHL with Mississippi, Mobile and Greenville.

Scott Walker, 38, will make his second appearance as part of a Team Canada coaching staff. He won a bronze medal last January with Canada’s National Junior Team at the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship. Walker, who has been head coach of the Storm since Dec., appeared in 829 NHL games with Vancouver, Nashville, Carolina and Washington. He also played for Canada at three IIHF World Championships (1999, 2001, 2005), winning a silver medal at the 2005 tournament in Austria.

These selections were announced following a thorough screening process carried out by Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence Policy Committee, which is made up of Bob Nicholson, President of Hockey Canada, Dave Branch, President of the Canadian Hockey League and Commissioner of the OHL, Gilles Courteau, the QMJHL Commissioner and WHL Commissioner Ron Robison. Hockey Canada was also represented by Claude Allain, officer, Scott Smith, chief operating officer, Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations and national teams.

Hockey Canada will announce details for Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team selection camp in the near future, including the players that will be invited to camp.

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team, please visit

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 5 – SUI 0 (Preliminary)
Rodrigue made 17 saves to lead Canada to help Canada blank the Swiss.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 3 – LAN 2 SO (Preliminary)
Hewett scored late to tie it, and the Slash earned an extra-time win.
2018 Esso Cup: NOR 3 – MBP 1 (Preliminary)
MacLean scored twice, including the late winner, to lead the Selects.
2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.