Five Players Named to Team Canada for 2007 IIHF World Men's Hockey Championship
April 3, 2007

WINNIPEG – Hockey Canada, along with Team Canada general manager Steve Yzerman, has announced the first five players named to Canada’s roster for the 2007 IIHF World Men’s Hockey Championship, April 27- in Moscow, Russia.

The first five players named to Team Canada are:

- Goaltender Dwayne Roloson Simcoe, ON Edmonton Oilers

- Defenceman Eric Brewer Kamloops, BC St. Louis Blues

- Forward Mike Cammalleri Richmond Hill, ON Los Angeles Kings

- Forward Shane Doan Halkirk, AB Phoenix Coyotes

- Forward Rick Nash Brampton, ON Columbus Blue Jackets

“I’m very happy with the group of players that we are naming today,” said Yzerman. “These players bring a wealth of leadership and experience, and we feel that this is an outstanding core group of players to start with.”

Yzerman, along with Team Canada head coach Andy Murray and the rest of Canada’s coaching staff, will be scouting and monitoring NHL games and the NHL playoffs in the coming weeks looking to name additional players to Canada’s roster.

Canada will open the 2007 IIHF World Men’s Championship in Moscow on April 28 versus Germany. Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster, TSN/RDS, will be broadcasting all of Canada’s games at the World Men’s Championship live across Canada.

Canada won consecutive gold medals in 20, followed by a silver medal in 2005. At the 2006 IIHF World Men’s Championship, Canada finished fourth after losing to the eventual gold-medal winning team from Sweden in the semi-finals.

2008 IIHF Men’s World Championship in Canada - Canada will be hosting the IIHF World Men’s Championship, for the first time ever, in May 2008 in Halifax and Quebec City.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.
2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.