Hayley Wickenheiser Named CP Female Athlete of The Year
December 27, 2007

National Women’s Team captain Hayley Wickenheiser has been named the Canadian Press Female Athlete of the Year, the first hockey player to win the award in its 74-year history.

'It's a nice award, more for our sport, because it has gained a level of respect in the media,' Wickenheiser told CP. 'You see a lot of male hockey players win it so it's great that a female has.'

The Shaunavon, SK native captained Canada to a ninth gold medal at the 2007 IIHF World Women’s Championship in April in Winnipeg, MB – scoring eight goals and adding six assists in just five games – and was named Top Forward and Most Valuable Player.

Wickenheiser also led Canada to a gold medal at the 2007 4 Nations Cup in November in Leksand, Sweden, scoring four goals and adding three assists in four games, and her club team – the Calgary Oval X-Treme – won the Western Women’s Hockey League championship and the gold medal at the 2007 Esso Women’s Nationals in Salmon Arm, BC.

With 279 career points (132 goals, 147 assists), Wickenheiser is the all-time leading scorer for Canada’s National Women’s Team. She finished first in a vote of sports editors and broadcasters from coast-to-coast, finishing ahead of speed skater Cindy Klassen, the 20 winner.

Cole Harbour, NS native Sidney Crosby was named CP’s Male Athlete of the Year on Wednesday. Crosby was a member of two National Junior Teams (20), winning gold in 2005, and led the 2006 IIHF World Championship in scoring as an 18-year-old.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 7 – TOR 4 (Preliminary)
A five-goal second period helped the Cantonniers past the Nationals.
2018 U18WC: CAN 3 – SWE 2 OT (Preliminary)
Lafrenière scored the OT winner, giving Canada first place in Group A.
2018 Esso Cup: LAN 4 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
St-Jacques had 1G 1A to lead the Pionnières to their first victory.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 4 – STA 1 (Preliminary)
The Stars scored four unanswered to keep their perfect record intact.