World Junior A Challenge Yorkton Host Committee Named
April 27, 2006

The committee chairs who will make up the Yorkton Host Committee for the World Junior A Challenge to be held here in November were introduced at a news conference in Yorkton Friday morning.

The Host Committee structure and personnel has been formally approved by Hockey Canada, and has been appointed by the bid committee which secured the event for Yorkton.

The committee will immediately start the major tasks facing it, including securing sponsorships, making all the necessary arrangements for hosting the teams and fans, planning special events surrounding the Challenge, and building the large volunteer force that will assist with the nine-day event.

The organization expects to start selling ticket packages in mid-February, when Hockey Canada is expected to announce the teams which will be participating.

Members of the Yorkton Host Committee and their areas of responsibility are:

Barry Shiells and Dick DeRyk, Host Committee Co-chairs: Hockey Canada, CJAHL and SJHL liaison, Humboldt satellite site liaison, ticketing. Barry and Dick co-chaired the Prospects Game Committee. Barry is a retired RCMP member and Yorkton Terrier director. Dick is a Yorkton web developer.

Arlan Maddaford, Financial and Legal: contracts, financial controls, insurance. Arlan is a partner in Parker Quine LLP, Chartered Accountants.

Leanne Woodhouse, Marketing: Advertising, public relations, communications, merchandising. Leanne is Marketing Manager for SecurTek, at the company’s head office in Yorkton.

Wayne Rusnak, Sponsorship: Sponsorship sales and recognition. Wayne is a longtime Yorkton lawyer.

Sid Matsalla, Player/VIP Services: Hosting, transportation, accommodations, food services and associated services for players, officials and guests. Sid is Food Manager for Yorkton Co-op and a Yorkton Terrier director.

Don Kunkel, Facilities: Facility readiness and security. Don is the General Manager of the Gallagher Centre and Yorkton Exhibition Association.

James Wilson, Games Operations: Game staffing, services and supplies. James is a senior manager with SaskTel.

Dave Nussbaumer, Special Events: Team events, public events, game events and hospitality. Dave is a partner in Farrell Agencies, and President of the Yorkton Exhibition Association.

Gene Krepakevich, Volunteer Services: Volunteer recruitment, training, scheduling and recognition. Gene is a retired educator, former President of the Yorkton Terriers and former league governor.

Lyle Walsh, Media Services: Media facilities, realtime statistics, results distribution, information packages. Lyle is owner and President of GX94 Radio and The Fox FM.

Randy Goulden, Protocol: Accreditation, ceremonies and awards. Randy is a City Councillor, and executive director of Tourism Yorkton and East Central Sask Tourism.

Co-chair DeRyk expressed his appreciation to the members of the Host Committee for taking on the task, and noted that the appointment of the committee chairs is only the first step in building the volunteer force that will ensure the success of the event.

Each committee chair will appoint his or her subcommittees, who will look after the details of hosting more than 150 players and team staff, and providing them with the facilities for 12 hockey games: eight in Yorkton and four in Humboldt.

Persons interested in volunteering their services in any of the areas of committee responsibility are invited to contact the committee chair, or the Host Committee co-chairs.

The Host Committee, in conjunction with Hockey Canada, expects to announce more details in mid-February, including details about the participating teams, and various ticket packages which will go on sale at that time.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 U18WC: CAN 5 – SUI 0 (Preliminary)
Rodrigue made 17 saves to lead Canada to help Canada blank the Swiss.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 3 – LAN 2 SO (Preliminary)
Hewett scored late to tie it, and the Slash earned an extra-time win.
2018 U18WC: CAN 8 – BLR 3 (Preliminary)
Goals from seven players, including two from Serron Noel lead Canada to lopsided win over Belarus.
2018 U18WC: CAN 6 – USA 4 (Preliminary)
Lavoie scored twice to lead Canada past the U.S. in the worlds opener.