Looking for Canada's Minor Hockey Leaders
November 29, 2006

RBC Insurance, Hockey Canada and the Hockey Hall of Fame are teaming up to look across Canada for this country’s minor hockey leaders.

Between now and , nominations are being accepted at the contest’s website at www.rbclocalhockeyleaders.com for minor hockey volunteers who dedicate their time to grassroots hockey in their community.

Thirteen winners, one from each of Hockey Canada’s Branches, will be chosen by the judging panel, which includes National Women’s Team member Jennifer Botterill, National Sledge Hockey Team member Jean Labonté, and hockey legend Ron Ellis, along with Hockey Canada officials.

The winners will receive $10,000 towards a registered charity/hockey cause in their community, special recognition in the Hockey Hall of Fame and a signed Team Canada jersey.

RBC Local Hockey Leaders Program - Facts Sheet

RBC Local Hockey Leaders Program was established in 2003 in partnership with RBC Insurance, Hockey Canada and the Hockey Hall of Fame

Program purpose - to recognize outstanding community volunteers who dedicate their time to building grassroots hockey programs across the country

  • Over the past three years RBC has awarded a total of $375,000 to 46 individuals across the country to assist in their local hockey programs
  • Over 25 sets of jerseys have been purchased
  • Dozens of hours of ice time have been paid for
  • Financial assistance enabled four teams to participate in tournaments across Canada and Europe
  • Hundreds of coaches and players will benefit from various additional programs (such as power skating, skill development, coaching and referee clinics), which have all been funded by the donations to RBC Local Hockey Leader winners
  • Over a dozen sets of new goalie equipment have been purchased
  • Playing hockey is now more accessible to hundreds of kids because of reduced registration fees. This especially helps those kids that come from economically disadvantaged homes who otherwise would not have been able to participate
  • 5 new trophy cases have been installed
  • 2 new dressing rooms have been built
  • 2 scholarship funds have been created to recognize leadership in players both off and on the ice
  • 6 new community rinks have been built with the help of RBC
  • A website was created to bring three communities together
  • Donations have helped cover start up costs for hosting tournaments and organizing fundraisers
  • Dozens of banners and trophies were restored to their former glory to capture the history of their town

This year RBC looks forward to making even more dreams come true for hockey towns across the country. This year’s nomination period begins November 1st. Visit www.rbcinsurance.com for details.

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 Esso Cup: BRA 8 – LAN 2 (Preliminary)
Whaley had 2G 1A to help the Canadettes to their first regulation win.
2018 TELUS Cup: LET 3 – TOR 3 (Preliminary)
Beck scored in the final minutes to help the Nationals earn the draw.
2018 Esso Cup: STA 4 – NOR 1 (Preliminary)
Willan scored twice in the third period to help the Slash pull away.
2018 TELUS Cup: MON 5 – SUD 1 (Preliminary)
LeBlanc had 2G 1A, and the Flyers scored four in the second period.