24th Air Canada Cup Set for Bathurst, New Brunswick
April 22, 2002

BATHURST, NB - Bathurst, NB will play host to the 24th edition of the Air Canada Cup, Canada's National Midget Hockey Championship, from April 22-28, with the gold medal final game being televised nationally on TSN and on RDS.

Six teams are taking part in this years tournament:, Les Riverains du College Charles-Lemoyne from the Quebec region, the Tisdale Trojans from the Western region, the Dartmouth Subways from the Atlantic region, the Timmins Majors from the Central region, the Red Deer Chiefs from the Pacific region and the host team, the Miramichi Rivermen.

The teams will play round-robin games on April 22-26 with the top four teams qualifying for the playoff round. The crossover games (first against fourth, second against third) will be held on April 27th, with the Bronze and Gold medal games scheduled for April 28th. All games will be played at the K.C. Irving Regional Centre, home of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League's Acadie-Bathurst Titan. The six teams will be wearing jerseys and socks courtesy of Bauer NIKE Hockey, while all helmets, facial protection and neck protectors are provided by ITECH.

The Gold medal game will be played at 1 p.m. local time (12:00 p.m. EST) on Sunday, April 28 and will be broadcast live across Canada on TSN and on RDS.

The individuals selected as the Player-of-the-Game from each team after every game in the tournament receive Player-of-the-Game medallions compliments of Air Canada and the Canadian Hockey Association. Those chosen for the Player-of-the-Game awards in the championship final will receive Esquire watches, in addition to the individual award medallions.

Based on their individual performances during the four-day round-robin section of the 2002 Air Canada Cup, six individual player awards will be presented.

The player judged by an independent panel as the outstanding performer will receive the Air Canada Cup Most Valuable Player Trophy. He will also receive a $1,000 college scholarship from Air Canada for future use at an institution of higher learning of his choice. Completing his MVP award package will be an ITECH equipment bag, and a sportwear package, compliments of ITECH Sports Products Inc.

The other individual awards include the Air Canada Cup top scorer, best goaltender, most outstanding forward, best defenceman and most sportsmanlike player. Each player will receive a 2002 Air Canada Cup award and a sports package courtesy of ITECH Sports Products Inc. for their accomplishments.

One player at the Air Canada Cup will receive a $1,000 Esso Kids Scholarship Award. Selections will be made with input from coaches, team and championship organizers and educators, with the major consideration being academic excellence.

Noteable alumnists who have played in previous Air Canada Cups include Derek Morris and Michael Peca, two members of this year's Men's World Hockey Championship Team. Other noteables currently starring in the National Hockey League include Joe Sakic (Colorado Avalanche), Patrick Roy (Colorado Avalanche), Brad Stuart (San Jose Sharks) and Steve Yzerman (Detroit Red Wings).

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.
2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.