Coupe Esso 2011

Notre Dame Hounds 3 - Toronto Aeros 1


ST. ALBERT, Alta. – The 2010 Esso Cup silver medal-winning Notre Dame Hounds (West) won their fourthstraight game at the 2011 edition of the national championship, and settled comfortably into second placeafter preliminary play Thursday afternoon, when they topped the Toronto Aeros (Ontario) 3-1 inside ServusPlace.

Galerie des médias |

Dependable power forward Olivia Howe (Moose Jaw, Sask.) put the puck in the net midway through the first,with help from Julia Flinton (Williams Lake, B.C.) and Jennifer More (Deloraine, Man.) while Notre Dame hadthe man advantage.

Natasha Kostenko (Fanystelle, Man.) carried that Notre Dame momentum into the second, notching anunassisted marker less than a minute and a half into the period. Kostenko followed up her goal with a pass toCourtney Jacklin (Regina, Sask.), who fed a goal from Brooke Wilgosh (Regina, Sask.) at 10:47 to cap off herteam’s scoring at three.

The Aeros pulled it together for the third, and Hayley Masters (Horseshoe Valley, Ont.) was able to findsome clear ice for a shot and the back of the Notre Dame net for a goal, to score an unassisted one of herown at 8:40 in the period.

But that’s all the Hounds would allow to slip past netminder Samantha Langford (Pense, Sask.) and theysuccessfully held off the Aeros for the remainder of the game.

Despite the loss, the Toronto Aeros finished in third place after the preliminary round, and will have achance for revenge in a semifinal rematch with the Notre Dame Hounds at 12 p.m. MT on Friday.


Renseignements sur le match
Numéro de match 14 Ronde Préliminaire
Aréna Servus Place Ville, Pays St. Albert, Alb.
Mois / Jour / Année 04/21/2011 Heure 00h00 MT
Assistance État du match Final

Compte   1     2     3   Total
Notre Dame Hounds (WST) 1 2 0 3
Toronto Aeros (ONT) 0 0 1 1

Première Période
   11:19 WST 16 Olivia Howe (17 Julia Flinton, 14 Jennifer More) AN

   00:08 WST 14 Jennifer More (Accrocher)
   10:16 ONT 3 Morgan Kelly (Retenir)

Deuxieme Période
   01:23 WST 8 Natasha Kostenko 
   10:47 WST 19 Brooke Wilgosh (10 Courtenay Jacklin, 8 Natasha Kostenko) AN

   01:40 WST 8 Natasha Kostenko (Faire trébucher)
   07:20 WST 18 Meghan Sherven (Accrocher)
   10:41 ONT 4 Breanne Grant (Accrocher)
   11:50 ONT 18 Morgan Sly (Accrocher)
   16:04 ONT 24 Emma Korbs (Bâton élevé)
   17:49 WST 14 Jennifer More (Obstruction)

Troisième Période
   08:40 ONT 17 Hayley Masters  AN

   03:04 WST 14 Jennifer More (Accrocher)
   06:40 WST 18 Meghan Sherven (Faire trébucher)
   07:43 WST 2 Taylor Woods (Faire trébucher)
   12:21 ONT 17 Hayley Masters (Accrocher)
   18:08 ONT 21 Lauren Wildfang (Accrocher)

Gardiens de but
Notre Dame Hounds
1 Samantha Langford Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00
Toronto Aeros
29 Taylor Hough Entrée 1/00:00 Sortie 3/20:00

Tirs au but   1     2     3   Total
Notre Dame Hounds 12 14 4 30
Toronto Aeros 4 3 9 16

Arbitre Shauna Wing
Juges de lignes Jeannine Panten, Jeannine Panten
Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter:
Jeff Beck Manager, Marketing Services and Events | Responsable, services de marketing et événements