2018 World Junior A Challenge

2018 World Junior A Challenge | Star of the Day

DAY 8 – SUNDAY, DECEMBER 16

Matthew Radomsky (G) – Canada West & Isaiah Saville (G) – United States
Two games, two medals, two standout efforts between the pipes. Radomsky was up first, putting the cap on a tremendous tournament with 46 saves in a bronze medal game win, while Saville turned in just the second gold medal game shutout in WJAC history with a 25-save performance to backstop the U.S. to the top of the podium.


DAY 7 – SATURDAY, DECEMBER 15

Griffin Ness (F) – United States
The Americans will play for gold on Sunday thanks to Ness, who raced away in overtime to score the game-winning goal. The Air Force Academy commit has two goals in the tournament – both against West and both on breakaways; he netted a shorthanded marker in the prelim meeting between the teams last Sunday.


DAY 6 – FRIDAY, DECEMBER 14

Zdenek Sedlak (F) – Czech Republic
The Czechs are bound for the semifinals on the back, and off the stick, of Sedlak, who scored in every period. He quickly answered East’s opener in the first period, got a fortuitous bounce off his body in the second and hit the empty net from his own zone in the third, sending his team to a final-four showdown with Russia.


DAY 5 – THURSDAY, DECEMBER 13

Jan Bambula (F) – Czech Republic
Bambula was everywhere; he set up Zdenek Sedlak less than two minutes in, netted a big power-play goal late in the second period to get his team back within one, fed Vojtech Strondala for the goal that started the third-period comeback and opened the scoring in the shootout, helping the Czechs into the win column.


DAY 4 – WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 12

Yaroslav Askarov (G) – Russia
There’s something about playing in Canada that agrees with the Russian, who made 31 saves – 16 in the second period – to become the first goaltender to blank Canada West since 2011. Including the Hlinka Gretzky Cup, World Under-17 Hockey Challenge and World Junior A Challenge, Askarov is 10-1 with a 1.73 GAA, .936 SV% and four shutouts.


DAY 3 – TUESDAY, DECEMBER 11

Trevor Janicke (F) – United States
Quiet for much of the game, the American forward needed less than three minutes late in the second period to leave his mark. Janicke gave the U.S. a two-goal lead with a quick shot under the cross-bar at 16:09 and circled the net before snapping home the eventual game-winning goal at 18:49, sending the U.S. into the win column.


DAY 2 – MONDAY, DECEMBER 10

Harrison Blaisdell (F) – Canada West
The been-everywhere forward did everything against Canada East. Quick hands to redirect in a T.J. Lloyd shot? Check. Nose for the net to knock in a feed from Ethan Leyh? Check. Hard work along the boards to spring Leyh for a breakaway goal? Check. Just another day at the office for the 2017 WJAC gold medallist.


DAY 1 – SUNDAY, DECEMBER 9

Matthew Davis (G) – Canada West
Lights. Out. The goaltender was simply spectacular, turning aside 41 of the 42 shots he faced through regulation and overtime before denying six of seven U.S. attempts in the shootout (with a little help from his posts). Davis was at his best in the third period, making 20 saves as the Americans swarmed for the winner.

Videos
Photos
2018 WJAC: CAN-W 3 – CZE 1 (Bronze)
Holloway scored twice to lead the Canadians to the bronze medal.
2018 WJAC: USA 2 – RUS 0 (Gold)
Saville made 25 saves to backstop the U.S. to its eighth WJAC gold.
2018 WJAC: RUS 4 – CZE 1 (Semifinal)
Nikolaev and Gutik scored PPGs in the third to help Russia advance.
2018 WJAC: USA 3 – CAN-W 2 OT (Semifinal)
Ness ended it in overtime to send the Americans to play for gold.

Défi mondial junior A 2018

Étoile du jour

JOUR 8 – DIMANCHE 16 DÉCEMBRE

Matthew Radomsky (G) – Canada Ouest et Isaiah Saville (G) – États-Unis
Deux matchs, deux médailles, deux solides performances devant le filet. Radomsky était à l’œuvre en premier, couronnant un superbe tournoi avec une sortie de 46 arrêts dans une victoire au match pour la médaille de bronze. Au match pour la médaille d’or, Saville a signé seulement le deuxième jeu blanc de l’histoire d’une finale du DMJA, grâce à une performance de 25 arrêts, menant les États-Unis sur la plus haute marche du podium.


JOUR 7 – SAMEDI 15 DÉCEMBRE

Griffin Ness (A) – États-Unis
Les Américains joueront pour l’or dimanche grâce à Ness, qui s’est échappé en prolongation pour inscrire le but de la victoire. L’avant qui s’est engagé à fréquenter l’Air Force Academy a marqué deux buts pendant le tournoi – tous deux contre l’Ouest et tous deux en échappée. Il avait touché la cible en désavantage numérique lors de la rencontre en ronde préliminaire entre les deux équipes dimanche dernier.


JOUR 6 – VENDREDI 14 DÉCEMBRE

Zdenek Sedlak (A) – République tchèque
Les Tchèques seront des demi-finales grâce en grande partie à Sedlak qui a marqué à chaque période. Il a rapidement répliqué au but de l’Est en première période, a profité d’un heureux rebond lorsque la rondelle l’a heurté en deuxième et a fait mouche dans un filet désert d’un tir de sa propre zone en troisième, pour donner l’occasion aux siens d’affronter la Russie dans le carré d’as.  


JOUR 5 – JEUDI 13 DÉCEMBRE

Jan Bambula (A) – République tchèque
Bambula était partout. Il a préparé le filet de Zdenek Sedlak après moins de deux minutes, il a inscrit un but important en avantage numérique en fin de deuxième période pour rapprocher son équipe à but de ses adversaires, il a alimenté Vojtech Strondala, qui a amorcé la remontée en troisième période, et il a ouvert la marque en tirs de barrage pour aider les Tchèques à signer une première victoire.


JOUR 4 – MERCREDI 12 DÉCEMBRE

Yaroslav Askarov (G) – Russie
Il faut croire que l’air du Canada fait du bien au gardien russe, qui a effectué 31 arrêts – dont 16 en deuxième période – pour devenir le premier portier à blanchir Canada Ouest depuis 2011. En tenant compte de la Coupe Hlinka-Gretzky, du Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans et du Défi mondial junior A, Askarov a une fiche de 10-1, une moyenne de buts accordés de 1,73, un taux d’efficacité de 0,936 et quatre jeux blancs.


JOUR 3 – MARDI 11 DÉCEMBRE

Trevor Janicke (A) – États-Unis
Discret pendant une bonne partie de la rencontre, l’avant américain a eu besoin de moins de trois minutes en fin de deuxième période pour faire sa marque. Janicke a donné une avance de deux buts aux États-Unis grâce à un tir vif sous la barre horizontale à 16 min 9 s et à une manœuvre où il contourné l’arrière du filet avant d’inscrire ce qui allait s’avérer le but gagnant à 18 min 49 s, permettant à son équipe d’obtenir la victoire.


JOUR 2 – LUNDI 10 DÉCEMBRE

Harrison Blaisdell (A) – Canada Ouest
L’avant au bagage impressionnant a tout fait contre Canada Est. Des mains rapides pour rediriger un tir de T.J. Lloyd? Certes. Du flair devant le filet pour compléter une passe d’Ethan Leyh? Bien sûr. Du travail acharné le long de la bande pour permettre à Leyh de s’échapper et de marquer? Évidemment. Ce n’était qu’une autre journée au bureau pour le médaillé d’or du DMJA 2017.


JOUR 1 – DIMANCHE 9 DÉCEMBRE

Matthew Davis (G) – Canada Ouest
Brillant. Le gardien de but a été tout simplement spectaculaire, repoussant 41 tirs sur 42 en temps réglementaire et en prolongation avant de stopper six des sept tireurs américains en tirs de barrage (avec un peu d’aide de ses poteaux). Davis a connu ses meilleurs moments en troisième période, arrêtant 20 rondelles, alors que les États-Unis tentaient d’inscrire le but gagnant.

Vidéos
Photos