2015 RBC Cup

Star of the Day

SUNDAY, MAY 17
Shawn Bowles (F) – Portage Terriers

Twin brother Brad who stole the headlines all week, finishing atop the tournament scoring race with an MVP performance, but Shawn Bowles stepped into the national spotlight on Sunday. Bowles helped set up Davis Ross’ 2-0 goal and was in on brother Brad’s power play marker in the third period that made it 4-1 before finding the empty net himself with 2:59 to go, capping a three-point night and helping the Terriers to an unforgettable home-ice national title.


SATURDAY, MAY 16
Jordan Larson (F) – Carleton Place Canadians

Scoring the biggest goal of your young career – and the biggest goal in your team’s history – certainly makes a player worthy of this honour. On his third team in four Junior A seasons, Larson found a home in Carleton Place this year and permanently etched his name into Canadians lore on Saturday night, knocking in a Ryker Killins rebound at 3:43 of double overtime to send Carleton Place back to the RBC Cup championship game for the second year in a row.


FRIDAY, MAY 15
Brad Bowles (F) – Portage Terriers

No player was as important to his team’s success during the preliminary round as Brad Bowles, who picked up MVP, Top Forward and Top Scorer honours at the tournament awards banquet. The Terriers forward scored four goals, added four assists, was involved in eight of Portage’s 13 goals in the round robin, and was on the ice for the game-winning goal in each of his team’s three victories, helping the tournament hosts to first place and a spot in the semifinals.


THURSDAY, MAY 14
Patrick Newell (F) – Penticton Vees

There’s no shortage of offence in the Penticton line-up, and Thursday just happened to be Newell’s turn to lead the way; the Thousand Oaks, Calif., native scored twice to give the Vees a 3-0 lead, and added a pair of assists in the third period after Soo had clawed back to within a goal, helping Penticton to its third straight victory. Newell’s performance bumped him all the way to second in the tournament scoring race, with six points (4-2—6) in four games.


WEDNESDAY, MAY 13
Cole Hyrsky (F) – Melfort Mustangs

Was there really any other choice? OK, Guillaume Therien was spectacular in the Carleton Place goal, finishing with 46 saves, but the nod has to go to the overtime hero. Hyrsky earned an assist on Adam Fauchoux’s game-tying goal with four minutes to go, then stripped a Canadians defenceman in the offensive zone midway through the extra period before finding a loose puck in a scramble, spinning and finding the back of the net to keep the Mustangs’ first-place hopes alive.


DAY 4– TUESDAY, MAY 12
Brad Bowles (F) – Portage Terriers

The Terriers are going to the semifinals at the RBC Cup, thanks in large part to the play of their big line, and Bowles in particular. The winger, who combined with twin brother Shawn and Zack Waldvogel to take three of the top five spots in the MJHL scoring race, had a hat trick against Soo – scoring a goal in each period – and added an assist for good measure to pace Portage to a one-sided victory that confirmed its spot in Saturday’s final four festivities at the PCU Centre.


DAY 3 – MONDAY, MAY 11
Owen Headrick (D) – Soo Thunderbirds

Headrick ends the two-day reign of goaltenders, albeit in a losing cause. The defenceman, who earned the playoff MVP award in the NOJHL after scoring 12 times in 14 games and averaged more than a point per contest at the Dudley Hewitt Cup, continued to provide offence from the back end against Melfort, scoring the Thunderbirds’ first goal of the tournament in the second period before finding the back of the net again in the third, giving him 40 points (18-22—40) in 33 total games this season.


DAY 2 – SUNDAY, MAY 10
Guillaume Therien (G) – Carleton Place Canadians

The honour is more the result of Therien’s two-day effort than just Sunday’s performance; the Canadians goaltender was a perfect 13-for-13 against host Portage, making it two shutouts in as many days to start the RBC Cup. Therien is the first goaltender in 20 years – since David Weninger of the 1995 Calgary Canucks – to open Canada’s National Junior A Championship with back-to-back shutouts, and is just the second goaltender (along with OCN’s Devon Fordyce) to blank the high-scoring Terriers this season.


DAY 1 - SATURDAY, MAY 9
Zac Robidoux (G) – Portage Terriers

Robidoux has been, for the most part, a passenger on the Terriers’ playoff run, making just three starts while Portage was winning the MJHL championship and reaching the Western Canada Cup final. But he was front and centre on Saturday afternoon in the RBC Cup opener, making 31 saves and getting a little help from his friends – Penticton hit two posts and a crossbar in the first 40 minutes – to beat a very good Vees team for the second time in the last 12 days and help the Terriers start with a victory on home ice.

Videos
Photos
2015 RBC: POR 5 – CPC 2 (Championship)
Shawn Bowles had three points to lead the Terriers to their first national title.
2015 RBC: CPC 2 – PEN 1 (2OT) (Semifinal)
Larson scored the winner 3:43 into double overtime, sending the Canadians to the final.
2015 RBC: PEN 5 – SOO 2 (Preliminary)
Newell had two goals and two assists to help the Vees finish the prelims with a win.
2015 RBC: POR 3 – MEL 2 (Preliminary)
The Terriers scored three times in 7:29 in the first period to help clinch first place.
Scoring
Goaltending
R Player Goals Assists PTS
1. Brad Bowles 5 4 9
1. Zack Waldvogel 1 8 9
2. Patrick Newell 4 2 6
2. Shawn Bowles 3 3 6
2. Cole Hyrsky 2 4 6
3. Andy Sturtz 2 3 5
3. Demico Hannoun 0 5 5
3. Jordan Larson 3 2 5
3. Stephen Baylis 3 2 5
3. Tanner Jago 2 3 5
R Player GAA SV %
1. Zac Robidoux 1.75 .923
2. Hunter Miska 1.85 .922
3. Guillaume Therien 2.00 .928
4. Justin Laforest 2.50 .891
5. Richard Palmer 3.57 .867
6. Mario Culina 4.94 .856
7. Brian Kment 6.59 .848
Close
Credit  
Results
Standings
May 09, 2015
2
3
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
0
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
May 10, 2015
0
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
0
3
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
May 11, 2015
5
3
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
May 12, 2015
3
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
2
7
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
May 13, 2015
3
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
May 14, 2015
5
2
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
3
2
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
May 16, 2015
2
1
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
1
6
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
May 17, 2015
2
5
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
Recent News
Most Popular

Coupe RBC 2015

Étoile du jour

DIMANCHE 17 MAI
Shawn Bowles (A) – Terriers de Portage

Son frère jumeau Brad a fait les manchettes toute la semaine, terminant au sommet des pointeurs du tournoi et obtenant le titre de Joueur par excellence, mais c’est Shawn Bowles qui a brillé sur la scène nationale dimanche. Bowles a participé au but de Davis Ross qui a porté le compte à 2-0 et a contribué à celui de son frère Brad en avantage numérique en troisième période qui a augmenté l’avance à 4-1 avant de compter dans une cage déserte avec 2 min 59 s à écouler, couronnant une soirée de trois points et aidant les Terriers à gagner un titre national sur leur patinoire dans une performance inoubliable.


SAMEDI 16 MAI
Jordan Larson (A) – Canadians de Carleton Place

Cet honneur est certainement mérité pour un joueur qui inscrit le plus gros but de sa carrière et de l’histoire de son équipe. À sa troisième formation en quatre saisons dans le hockey junior A, Larson a trouvé sa place à Carleton Place cette année et a inscrit son nom à jamais dans le livre des Canadians samedi soir, s’emparant d’un retour de Ryker Killins à 3 min 43 s de la deuxième période de prolongation pour envoyer à nouveau Carleton Place au match de championnat de la Coupe RBC pour une deuxième année de suite.


VENDREDI 15 MAI
Brad Bowles (A) – Terriers de Portage

Aucun joueur n’a été aussi important au succès de son équipe en ronde préliminaire que Brad Bowles qui a été nommé Joueur par excellence, Meilleur avant et Meilleur marqueur lors du banquet de remise des prix. L’avant des Terriers a marqué quatre buts, ajouté quatre mentions d’aide et a participé à huit des 13 buts de Portage pendant le tournoi à la ronde. Il était aussi sur la glace lors du but gagnant des trois victoires des siens, aidant les hôtes du tournoi à terminer au premier rang et à accéder aux demi-finales.


JEUDI 14 MAI
Patrick Newell (A) – Vees de Penticton

Ce n’est pas l’offensive qui manque dans la formation de Penticton et jeudi, il semble que c’était au tour de Newell de mener la charge; le joueur natif de Thousand Oaks, Californie, a inscrit un doublé pour donner une avance de 3-0 aux Vees et a ajouté deux aides à sa fiche en troisième période après avoir vu Soo s’approcher à un but, aidant Penticton à signer un troisième gain de suite. La performance de Newell l’a fait grimper au deuxième rang des pointeurs du tournoi, avec six points (4-2—6) en quatre matchs.


MERCREDI 13 MAI
Cole Hyrsky (A) – Mustangs de Melfort

Y avait-il vraiment un autre choix? Oui, Guillaume Therien a été spectaculaire devant la cage de Carleton Place, terminant avec 46 arrêts, mais l’honneur doit aller au héros de la prolongation. Hyrsky a obtenu une aide sur le but égalisateur d’Adam Fauchoux avec quatre minutes à faire avant de déculotter un défenseur adverse en zone offensive à mi-chemin de la prolongation et de saisir une rondelle libre dans une mêlée pour toucher la cible et permettre aux Mustangs de garder espoir pour le premier rang du classement.


JOUR 4– MARDI 12 MAI
Brad Bowles (A) – Terriers de Portage

Les Terriers seront des demi-finales de la Coupe RBC, grâce, en grande partie, à leur premier trio, et plus particulièrement à Bowles. L’ailier, qui avec son jumeau Shawn et Zack Waldvogel se sont emparés de trois des cinq premiers rangs des compteurs de la MJHL, a réussi un tour du chapeau contre Soo – marquant un but par période – et a ajouté une aide pour aider Portage à remporter une victoire à sens unique qui a confirmé sa place en demi-finale samedi au PCU Centre.


JOUR 3 – LUNDI 11 MAI
Owen Headrick (D) – Thunderbirds de Soo

Headrick a mis fin au règne de deux jours des gardiens de but, mais dans une cause perdante. Le défenseur, qui a été le Joueur par excellence de la NOJHL en séries éliminatoires, ayant marqué 12 fois en 14 parties et obtenant plus d’un point par match en moyenne à la Coupe Dudley Hewitt, a continué de produire offensivement contre Melfort. Il a inscrit le premier but du tournoi des Thunderbirds en deuxième période avant de toucher la cible à nouveau au troisième tiers, ce qui lui vaut un total de 40 points (18-22—40) en 33 matchs cette saison.


JOUR 2 – DIMANCHE 10 MAI
Guillaume Therien (G) – Canadians de Carleton Place

Cet honneur se veut davantage le résultat du travail de Therien en deux jours que seulement sa performance de dimanche. Le gardien de but des Canadians a été parfait sur 13 tirs contre Portage, l’équipe hôte, signant un deuxième jeu blanc en autant de sorties à la Coupe RBC. Therien est le premier portier en 20 ans, depuis David Weninger des Canucks de Calgary en 1995, à amorcer le Championnat national junior A du Canada avec deux jeux blancs de suite et seulement le deuxième (après Devon Fordyce d’OCN) à blanchir la puissante offensive des Terriers cette saison.


JOUR 1 – SAMEDI 9 MAI
Zac Robidoux (G) – Terriers de Portage

La plupart du temps, Robidoux a été un passager lors du parcours des Terriers en éliminatoires puisqu’il n’a été le gardien de but partant que trois fois pendant que Portage remportait le championnat de la MJHL et atteignait la finale de la Coupe de l’Ouest canadien. Mais il a été sous le feu des projecteurs samedi après-midi lors du match d’ouverture de la Coupe RBC, effectuant 31 arrêts et obtenant de l’aide de ses amis – Penticton a heurté les poteaux à deux reprises et la barre transversale une fois au cours des 40 premières minutes – pour battre les Vees de Penticton, une très bonne équipe, pour la deuxième fois en 12 jours et aider les Terriers à entreprendre le tournoi avec une victoire à domicile.

Vidéos
Photos
CNJA 2019 : BRO 4 – PG 3 (Championnat)
Boyko marque deux fois et mène les Bandits à un autre titre national.
CNJA 2019 : BRO 4 – OTT 3 (Demi-finale)
Boyko marque et prépare le but gagnant et les Bandits iront en finale.
CNJA 2019 : PG 2 – OAK 1 (Demi-finale)
Neaton réussit 32 arrêts et aide les Spruce Kings à passer en finale.
CNJA 2019 : OAK 7 – OTT 4 (Préliminaire)
Reeves obtient trois buts et les Blades prennent le troisième rang.
Close
Credit  
Results
Standings
sam. 9 mai
2
3
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
0
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
dim. 10 mai
0
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
0
3
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
lun. 11 mai
5
3
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
mar. 12 mai
3
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
2
7
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
mer. 13 mai
3
4
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
jeu. 14 mai
5
2
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
3
2
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
sam. 16 mai
2
1
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
1
6
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
dim. 17 mai
2
5
Final
PCU Centre, Portage la Prairie, Man.
Nouvelles Récentes
Les plus populaires