Hockey Program

Introduction to Initiation Hockey Program

 

How a player gets their initial taste of hockey is crucial. The first few years of hockey must be a positive experience full of fun and excitement. That is the goal of the Hockey Canada Initiation Program.

If the beginner has fun, develops basic skills and builds confidence, there is a better chance they will go on to enjoy hockey for a lifetime. But if a young player has an unhappy, unrewarding experience, they may quit at an early age and never discover the real joy of Canada's game. Every young player should have the opportunity to enjoy hockey for life!

Almost all local minor hockey associations organize house leagues and/or representative teams. But more and more minor hockey associations are also delivering age-appropriate programming. It is obvious that unprepared young players who are put directly into playing the adult version of the game are at a distinct disadvantage to youngsters who have had the benefits of experiencing progressive skill development.

The goal of Hockey Canada is to see the day when every youngster across Canada getting started in hockey will have the opportunity to participate in and benefit from a program designed to meet their specific needs. One that ensures progressive skill development through well-delivered practice sessions and age-appropriate game play in an environment well-suited to their skill level.

A minor hockey association's programming at the Novice level will serve as the foundation upon which the entire minor hockey association is built. Youngsters at every level in minor hockey benefit from getting the ‘right start’ in the game. Programming at the Novice level is a crucial piece in building the skills of house league and rep team players alike.

More than 30 years ago, Hockey Canada developed the Initiation Program to ensure a fun, safe and positive hockey experience. It served as a structured, learn-to-play program designed to introduce beginners to basic skills. It also enabled young players to build a solid skill base and become contributing members of a team effort, develop self-confidence and experience a sense of personal achievement – goals achieved in an atmosphere of fun and fair play.

Dating back to 1995, Hockey Canada passed a motion requiring the Initiation Program to be implemented by every minor hockey association across the country and to change their constitution/bylaws to reflect the creation of a new division in hockey.

Learning the basic skills at a young age will set the foundation for everything a player will accomplish in the game of hockey.”

– Corey McNabb,
Director, Hockey Development Programs
Hockey Canada

 

About the Initiation and Novice Program

  • Programming should be delivered through a progressive learn-to-play teaching curriculum that spans the five- to eight-year-old age group.
  • Children learn best through participating in practice drills and sessions as well as informal and modified games such as shinny, freeze tag and obstacle courses.
  • The program consists of two levels of instruction, designed specifically for young hockey players. Each level consists of a series of practice plans (lesson plans) that follow a defined path of progressions.
  • The skills of skating, puck control, passing and shooting are introduced and refined in a progressive ‘one step at a time’ manner.
  • Although the emphasis is on fun and skill development, hockey at these ages should also allow youngsters to experience fitness, fair play and cooperation.
  • To ensure a positive experience for the children, a coaching clinic has been designed for the on-ice coaches that focuses on communication, teaching skills, leadership, skill analysis, lesson organization, and safety and risk management.

 

Videos
Recent News
Most Popular

Programme d’initiation Timbits de Hockey Canada

Introduction au programme d’initiation Timbits de Hockey Canada

 

La première expérience d’un joueur au hockey est critique. Les premières années au hockey doivent être une expérience positive remplie de plaisir et d’excitation. C’est l’objectif du programme d’initiation Timbits de Hockey Canada.

Si un débutant s’amuse tout en développant les habiletés de base et qu’il développe sa confiance, il est fort probable qu’il continuera d’aimer jouer au hockey pendant le reste de sa vie. Mais si un jeune joueur vit une expérience désagréable qui ne lui rapporte rien, il risque d’arrêter de jouer rapidement et de ne jamais connaître le réel plaisir de pratiquer le sport du Canada. Tout jeune joueur de hockey mérite d’avoir la chance de s’amuser au hockey toute sa vie!

Presque toutes les associations de hockey mineur locales organisent des ligues maison ou gèrent des équipes doubles lettres. Toutefois, de plus en plus d’associations de hockey mineur offrent aussi des programmes appropriés à l’âge. Les jeunes joueurs non préparés qui sont exposés directement à la version adulte du sport sont clairement désavantagés comparativement aux jeunes qui ont profité d’un développement progressif des habiletés.

Hockey Canada a pour but de permettre à tous les jeunes qui découvrent le hockey partout au Canada de tirer profit d’un programme conçu pour répondre à leurs besoins. Un tel programme doit assurer un développement progressif des habiletés par des séances d’entraînement bien dirigées et des situations de match appropriées à l’âge dans un milieu correspondant au niveau de jeu des joueurs.

Le programme d’une association de hockey mineur dans la catégorie novice permettra de jeter les bases pour développer l’ensemble de cette association. Peu importe la catégorie au hockey mineur, les jeunes tirent avantage d’un bon départ. La programmation de la catégorie novice est un volet essentiel du développement des habiletés des joueurs, peu importe s’ils évoluent au sein d’une ligue maison ou d’une équipe doubles lettres.

Il y a plus de 30 ans, Hockey Canada a élaboré le programme d’initiation pour offrir une expérience amusante, sécuritaire et positive au hockey. Il s’agissait d’un programme structuré d’apprentissage du hockey conçu pour initier les débutants aux habiletés de base. Il permettait aussi aux jeunes joueurs de devenir des membres actifs au sein d’une équipe, de développer leur estime de soi et d’éprouver un sentiment d’accomplissement sur le plan personnel – des objectifs atteints dans une ambiance de plaisir et de franc-jeu.

En 1995, Hockey Canada avait adopté une motion selon laquelle toutes les associations de hockey mineur au pays devaient mettre en place un programme d’initiation et modifier leurs statuts ou leurs règlements administratifs pour tenir compte de la création d’une nouvelle catégorie de hockey.

L’apprentissage des habiletés de base à un jeune âge sert de fondement pour tout ce qu’un joueur accomplira au hockey.”

– Corey McNabb,
directeur des programmes de développement du hockey
Hockey Canada

 

À propos du programme d’initiation Timbits de Hockey Canada

  • Les programmes doivent comporter un curriculum d’apprentissage progressif du jeu visant le groupe d’âge de cinq à huit ans (initiation et novice).
  • L’apprentissage des enfants est plus efficace lorsqu’ils participent à des exercices et à des séances d’entraînement ainsi qu’à des matchs non officiels et modifiés, comme des matchs amicaux, des jeux divers et des parcours à obstacles.
  • Le programme comporte deux étapes d’instruction conçues expressément pour les jeunes hockeyeurs débutants. Chaque niveau consiste en une série de plans d’entraînement (plans de leçons) qui suivent une progression établie.
  • Les habiletés comme le patinage, le contrôle de la rondelle, les passes et les tirs sont introduites et perfectionnées de façon progressive, une étape à la fois.
  • Même si l’accent est sur le plaisir et le développement des habiletés, le hockey doit permettre aux jeunes de cet âge d’aborder les notions de la bonne condition physique, du franc-jeu et de la coopération.
  • Pour veiller à ce que l’expérience des enfants soit positive, un stage a été conçu pour les entraîneurs sur glace. Celui-ci porte sur la communication, l’enseignement des habiletés, le leadership, l’analyse des habiletés, l’organisation de leçons, la sécurité et la gestion du risque.

 

Vidéos

 Programme d’initiation Timbits de Hockey Canada logo

Aide et commentaires

  • Avez-vous des questions sur les matchs novices sur demi-glace?
  • Avez-vous de la difficulté à trouver des renseignements précis?
  • Vous voulez fournir un commentaire général?

 

CLIQUEZ ICI pour vous faire entendre.

 

Nouvelles récentes
Les plus populaires