Empowered to Play - 10 moments of girls and women changing the game

by Madison Koekkoek

In celebration of International Women’s Day, we’re shining the light on girls and women impacting our game - from coaching to officiating, playing, cheering and supporting.

Efforts to grow the game are underway across the country. Bringing fun, safe, inclusive hockey to girls will help them grow into strong, confident, powerful women. Our National Women’s Team athletes lead the way through their continued efforts to increase visibility and positively impact the game for generations to come.

Here are 10 remarkable stories that exemplify the involvement and leadership of women in hockey across Canada, from the grassroots to the big stage.

#1 A new Victorian reign

Victoria, B.C., is at the forefront of changing the game for girls. The Capital Region Female Minor Hockey Association is combatting the decline of women's hockey participation and continues to see growth in the game

A desire to provide more opportunities for girls to play the game in Greater Victoria led to the founding of the Capital Region Female Minor Hockey Association.

#2 Learning from legends

Women in coaching is becoming less and less of an anomaly. For Valérie Bois, spending a year learning from Caroline Ouellette and Danièle Sauvageau accelerated not only her skill-set, but her passion to continue blazing bench-boss trails.

Valérie Bois had a unique opportunity to elevate her coaching craft in 2018-19, working alongside a pair of Olympic gold medallists with the Canadiennes de Montréal.

#3 Make Hockey More: Tessa Bonhomme

Olympic gold medallist and two-time world champion Tessa Bonhomme reflects on her journey through hockey in Sudbury, Ont., and the life lessons she picked up along the way. Tessa’s continued impact on the game comes via her role as a TSN reporter and anchor.

Before Tessa Bonhomme won home-ice Olympic gold and a pair of world titles, she was just another Canadian kid, growing up in Sudbury and curious about playing hockey.

#4 Forces at play

This is the story of 26-year Canadian Forces veteran Line Laurendeau, who shows her Canadian pride on her sleeve and her hockey jersey. The self-proclaimed ‘hockey nut’ and military hockey player has competed in 17 national championships, twice being named Top Goaltender and once, in 2004, winning a national title.

CPO1 Line Laurendeau has two loves in life – hockey and the Canadian Forces – and years of dedication to both have played a major role in shaping the person she is.

#5 HC Ambassador: Eleanor Muir

It’s official. Eleanor Muir might be the coolest hockey grandma we could possibly find. Thirty years wearing stripes has turned into mentoring young officials and inspiring not only her grandkids, but the next generation.

HC AMBASSADOR: ELEANOR MUIR
More than 30 years after she pulled on the stripes because she wanted to be a part of minor hockey in Russell, Man., the grandmother continues to mentor young officials.

#6 The masked history maker

Ève Gascon’s spike in Instagram followers was no accident. It was brought on by her name being etched into the history books as the first woman to tend goal in the Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec. Gascon has also caught the attention of legends Charline Labonté (her idol and mentor) and fellow Team Canada alumna Kim St-Pierre.

Quebec netminder Ève Gascon’s pathway through the game has echoed the road taken by her idol Charline Labonté – both have made history by playing with the boys.

#7 Two new female hockey associations in Nova Scotia

The growth and development of women's hockey in Nova Scotia is trending upward with the Fundy Highland Female Hockey Association and Cape Breton Blizzard Female Hockey Association as the two newest women's hockey-focused member associations.

#8 HC Ambassador: Shellany Brewer

When people talk about Shellany Brewer, the words selfless, generous and passionate come up often. That’s because her impact on women's hockey in New Brunswick has been immeasurable on keeping girls in the game and making sure they have a place to play close to home.

HC AMBASSADOR: SHELLANY BREWER
Girls were choosing to leave the game, until Shellany Brewer stepped in and helped create the Central Female Hockey Association in and around Fredericton, New Brunwick.

#9 Hockey Canada Foundation helps grow women's para hockey

In efforts to develop women’s para hockey across Canada, the Hockey Canada Foundation extended a $50,000 grant to support Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada and its TrailblazeHERs project. The project’s mandate is to inspire over the course of a weekend of inclusion, coach education, female mentorship and fan engagement in Bridgewater, N.S.

The Hockey Canada Foundation is doing its part to develop women’s para hockey, awarding Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada and its TrailblazeHERs Project a $50,000 grant.

#10 An aspirational sister act

Twins often boast about a special magic when it comes to knowing one another. For Jordyn and Kyla Bear, members of the Ochapowace Cree First Nation, they bring this magic to the ice. The inspirational pair are community leaders when it comes to hockey and chasing their dreams.

Jordyn Bear and her twin sister Kyla have goals on and off the ice – they want to advance their hockey careers and be role models for the Ochapowace Cree First Nation.

Every year, Hockey Canada is proud to support the 13 members across the country in initiatives to grow the game for girls. This includes supporting programs such as Esso Fun Days and the First Shift, providing the opportunity to spark a lifelong love for the game. For more on women's hockey and girls-focused programming, visit HockeyCanada.ca/Hockey-Programs.

To donate to the Hockey Canada Foundation’s Hockey is Hers campaign, go to HockeyCanada.ca/Foundation.

Videos
Photos
NWT: Thank you, Mel Davidson
Take a look back at memories from Mel Davidson’s long and decorated career with Hockey Canada.
2019 TCAA: Hitting the links for hockey
Over 140 golfers took to the course Sept. 12 at the Lakeside Greens Golf Club in Chestermere, Alta.
TCAA: Fantasy becomes reality for KPMG
For the 10th year, the Team Canada Alumni Association and KPMG partnered on a fantasy game for clients in Calgary.

S’affirmer pour jouer – Dix moments où des filles et des femmes ont changé notre sport

Madison Koekkoek

Pour célébrer la Journée internationale de la femme, nous mettons en lumière les filles et les femmes qui ont un impact sur notre sport - de l’entraînement, à l’arbitrage, au jeu, aux encouragements et au soutien.

Des efforts pour assurer l’essor du hockey sont en cours à travers le pays. Offrir du hockey amusant, sécuritaire et inclusif aux filles les aidera à devenir des femmes fortes, confiantes et puissantes. Les athlètes de l’équipe nationale féminine ouvrent la voie grâce à leurs efforts continus pour accroître la visibilité et avoir un impact positif sur le sport pour les générations à venir.

Voici 10 histoires remarquables qui illustrent l’implication et le leadership des femmes au hockey à travers le Canada, du hockey local à la grande scène.

1. Un nouveau règne victorien

Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, est à l’avant-garde en ce qui concerne les changements au volet féminin du sport. L’Association de hockey mineur féminin de la région de la capitale a combattu le déclin de la participation au hockey féminin et continue de voir le jeu prendre de l’ampleur.

L’Association de hockey mineur féminin de la région de la capitale est née du désir d’offrir plus d’occasions de jouer au hockey aux filles dans la région de Victoria.

2. Épaulée par des légendes

La présence de femmes en entraînement devient de moins en moins une anomalie. Pour Valérie Bois, apprendre auprès de Caroline Ouellette et de Danièle Sauvageau au cours de la dernière année lui a permis de développer non seulement ses compétences, mais aussi sa passion pour continuer à ouvrir la voie aux femmes derrière le banc.

Valérie Bois a eu la chance de parfaire ses habiletés d’entraîneuse la saison dernière aux côtés de deux médaillées d’or olympiques avec les Canadiennes de Montréal.

3. Plus que du hockey : Tessa Bonhomme

La médaillée d’or olympique et double championne du monde Tessa Bonhomme revient sur son parcours au hockey à Sudbury, Ontario, et sur les leçons de vie qu’elle a apprises en cours de route. L’impact continu de Tessa sur le hockey se poursuit grâce à son rôle de journaliste et de présentatrice à TSN.

Avant que Tessa Bonhomme gagne l’or aux Olympiques et deux titres mondiaux, elle était une jeune comme les autres s’intéressant au hockey pendant son enfance à Sudbury.

4. Les Forces en jeu

Voici l’histoire de Line Laurendeau, vétérante des Forces canadiennes depuis 26 ans, qui affiche sa fierté canadienne sur sa manche et sur son chandail de hockey. L’autoproclamée « mordue du hockey » et joueuse de hockey militaire a participé à 17 championnats nationaux militaires où elle a été nommée Meilleure gardienne de but à deux reprises et où elle a remporté un titre national en 2004.

La PM1 Line Laurendeau a deux amours dans sa vie – le hockey et les Forces canadiennes – et son dévouement envers les deux a forgé la personne qu’elle est devenue.

5. Ambassadrice de Hockey Canada : Eleanor Muir

C’est officiel. Eleanor Muir pourrait bien être la grand-mère la plus épatante qui soit au hockey. Après trente ans à porter le chandail rayé, elle continue de mentorer et d’inspirer non seulement ses petits-enfants, mais la prochaine génération.

AMBASSADRICE DE HC : ELEANOR MUIR
Trente ans après avoir commencé à porter le chandail rayé pour faire partie du hockey mineur à Russell, Man., la grand-mère continue de guider de jeunes officiels.

6. Une portière qui laisse sa trace

La montée en flèche d’Ève Gascon sur Instagram n’était pas un hasard. Elle a été provoquée par le fait que son nom a été gravé dans les annales du hockey en tant que première gardienne de but de la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec. Gascon a également attiré l’attention des légendes Charline Labonté (son idole et sa mentore) et d’une autre ancienne d’Équipe Canada, Kim St-Pierre.

Le cheminement de la cerbère québécoise Ève Gascon fait écho au parcours suivi par son idole Charline Labonté – les deux ont marqué l’histoire au hockey masculin.

7. Deux nouvelles associations de hockey féminin en Nouvelle-Écosse

La croissance et le développement du hockey féminin en Nouvelle-Écosse suivent une tendance à la hausse avec la venue de l’Association de hockey féminin Fundy et de l’Association de hockey féminin du Blizzard du Cap-Breton, deux nouvelles associations membres axées sur le hockey féminin.

8. Ambassadrice de Hockey Canada : Shellany Brewer

Lorsque les gens parlent de Shellany Brewer, les mots désintéressée, généreuse et passionnée reviennent souvent. C’est parce que son impact sur le hockey féminin au Nouveau-Brunswick a été incommensurable pour garder les filles dans le sport et s’assurer qu’elles ont un endroit où jouer près de chez elles.

AMBASSADRICE DE HC : SHELLANY BREWER
Des filles décidaient d’abandonner le hockey jusqu’à ce que Shellany Brewer aide à créer l’Association de hockey féminin Central dans la région de Fredericton, N.-B.

9. La Fondation Hockey Canada contribue à l’essor du parahockey féminin

Afin d’aider à développer le parahockey féminin au Canada, la Fondation Hockey Canada a accordé une subvention de 50 000 $ pour appuyer Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada et son projet TrailblazeHERs. Le mandat du projet est d’inspirer, au cours d’une fin de semaine d’inclusion, la formation d’entraîneuses, le mentorat féminin et l’engagement des partisans à Bridgewater, N.-É.

La Fondation Hockey Canada contribue à l’essor du parahockey féminin grâce à une subvention de 50 000 $ à Women’s Sledge Hockey of Canada et à son projet TrailblazeHERs.

10. Des sœurs inspirantes

Les jumelles se vantent souvent de posséder une magie spéciale lorsqu’il s’agit de se connaître. Pour Jordyn et Kyla Bear, membres de la Première nation crie d’Ochapowace, elles apportent cette magie sur la glace. Les membres de ce duo sont des chefs de file communautaires en ce qui a trait au hockey et à la poursuite de leurs rêves.

Jordyn Bear et sa sœur jumelle Kyla ont des objectifs sur et hors glace : progresser au hockey et jouer un rôle de modèle pour la Première Nation crie d’Ochapowace.

Chaque année, Hockey Canada est fière d’appuyer les 13 membres à travers le pays dans des initiatives pour développer le sport pour les filles. Cela comprend le soutien des membres pour la prestation de programmes comme Découvrez le hockey avec Esso et Première Présence qui offrent l’occasion de susciter un amour permanent pour notre sport. Pour en savoir plus sur le hockey féminin et les programmes axés sur les filles, consultez le hockeycanada.ca/programmes.

Pour faire un don à la campagne Hockey pour elle de la Fondation Hockey Canada, consultez le site hockeycanada.ca/fondation.

Vidéos
Photos
AAEC 2019 : Fouler les verts pour le hockey
Plus de 140 golfeurs ont participé à la 10e édition du Tournoi de golf-bénéfice de l’AAEC au Lakeside Golf Club de Chestermere, Alb., amassant plus de 36 000 $ pour la FHC.
AAEC : La concrétisation d’un rêve pour KPMG
Pour une 10e année, l’Association des anciens d’Équipe Canada et KPMG se sont associées pour offrir un match de rêve à des clients à Calgary.
AAÉC 2016 : Des anciens foulent les verts pour des œuvres caritatives
Des anciens foulent les verts pour des œuvres caritatives
Recent News
Most Popular