Hockey Canada Gala and Golf Legacy Funding

Hockey Canada Foundation

Learn about the HCF Gala and Golf funding legacy


Since 2009, the Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf has proudly contributed more than $4 million to various projects in seven Canadian communities, allowing the game to continue to grow and prosper from coast to coast to coast.

2017 – Saskatoon, Sask. – $333,000
In addition to celebrating Canada’s National Sledge Team for its gold medal at the 2017 IPC World Para Hockey Championship, the Hockey Canada Foundation partnered with four deserving groups to continue to grow the game on the Prairies. Legacy funds from the Gala & Golf were equally distributed among the Saskatchewan Hockey Association (to host cross-ice jamborees in northern communities), the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame (for capital upgrades to its facility in Swift Current), Merlis Belsher Place at the University of Saskatchewan (to make the facility adaptable for para hockey), and the Saskatoon Minor Hockey Association (for its Memorial Cup legacy fund).


2016 – Halifax, N.S. – $269,000
With the Hockey Canada Foundation bringing the Gala & Golf to Atlantic Canada – and to a non-NHL city – for the first time, Halifax helped celebrate back-to-back gold medals at the IIHF World Championship. Half of all proceeds remained in the province of Nova Scotia in support of legacy programming and projects with Hockey Nova Scotia, the Sidney Crosby Foundation, and the Long Pond Hockey Arena Building Society. Hockey Nova Scotia used its funds to continue development of its ‘Hockey is for All’ initiative, helping introduce the game to black youth, new Canadians, Aboriginal youth and special-needs players.


2015 – Toronto, Ont. - $353,000
In addition to celebrating Canada’s international success, including the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship team and the 2015 IIHF World Championship team, the Hockey Canada Foundation continued their long-standing partnership with Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment. A $353,000 Gala Legacy donation is part of the paralleled efforts with the MLSE Foundation to support active living, research and programming for Canadian inner city youth in the areas of hockey, basketball and soccer. The Hockey Canada Foundation will also be a leading funding partner in the MLSE led Sport For Development Centre at 261 Jarvis Street in the heart of downtown Toronto.


2014 – Vancouver, B.C. - $340,000
In addition to celebrating Canada’s men’s and women’s gold medal-winning teams from the 2014 Olympic Winter Games, the Hockey Canada Foundation partnered with the Canucks for Kids Fund to ensure legacy funding benefits KidSport B.C., Athletics for Kids, and the Boys and Girls Clubs of South Coast B.C., ultimately creating greater opportunities for underprivileged kids to enjoy Canada’s game. More than 300 minor hockey players in the Greater Vancouver area had their registration fees covered for the 2014-15 season thanks to funds raised at the Celebrity Classic.


2013 – Calgary, Alta. - $500,000
A donation of $250,000 was made by the Hockey Canada Foundation to Hockey Alberta to assist families affected by June’s catastrophic floods in southern Alberta. The funds were allocated to local minor hockey associations to offset the costs of minor hockey registration fees, keeping players who had planned to play during the 2013-14 season involved in the game. In addition, another $250,000 has been allocated to KidSport Calgary, which aims to make sports such as hockey more affordable for underprivileged youth.


2012 – Toronto, Ont. - $305,000
The Hockey Canada Foundation partnered with the MLSE Team Up Foundation with a focus on the outdoor rink in Regent Park, as part of a larger revitalization project focused on one of Toronto’s most underserviced urban communities. The Regent Park rink initiative has benefitted those in the inner city of Toronto, providing the underprivileged with accessibility to a safe and well-maintained environment to participate.


2011 – Ottawa, Ont. – $420,000
The Hockey Canada Foundation, Sens Foundation and City of Ottawa partnered to construct the Rink of Dreams at Marion Dewar Plaza at Ottawa City Hall. The outdoor rink was completed in time for development activities during the 2012 NHL All-Star Weekend, and was a centrepiece when the nation’s capital hosted the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship. It is open for skating between November and March, giving minor hockey players more accessibility to the game, and serves as a community space during the spring and summer months.


2010 – Edmonton, Alta. - $630,000
Thanks to the success of the 2010 Celebrity Classic, which honoured Canada’s men’s and women’s hockey gold medallists from the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, the Hockey Canada Foundation partnered with the City of Edmonton in allocating $400,000 to a community recreation facility – the funds supported one of the two rinks in the centre. In addition, the Hockey Canada Foundation matched an Edmonton Oilers Community Foundation grant of $230,000 for the rink refurbishment projects of two inner-city Beverly communities.


2009 – Montreal, Que. – $440,000
Inaugurated in January 2011, the outdoor rink in Willibrord Park in the Verdun borough of Montreal was the third outdoor multipurpose community rink constructed as part of the Montreal Canadiens Children’s Foundation’s BLEU BLANC BOUGE program, this one with a contribution from the Hockey Canada Foundation. The skating season at the rink lasts from the end of November until mid-March, while other sporting activities, including soccer and in-line hockey, take over for the spring, summer and fall months.


In addition to legacy funding, other proceeds from the event will go toward Hockey Canada Foundation programming that promotes accessibility and diversity in the sport, as well as other positive values such as health and wellness, Canada’s hockey heritage and skill development, from the grassroots level to Canada’s Olympic teams.

The Hockey Canada Foundation Celebrity Classic, which celebrates the season’s world championship-winning national teams while also raising funds for a local minor hockey legacy program and minor hockey programs across the country, has raised a total of more than $5 million in its first 10 years.

Videos
Photos
2018 HCF: Canadian hockey gathers at gala
Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf.
2018 HCF: Dreams Come True in London
The Hockey Canada Foundation partnered with the Ontario Hockey Federation, South London Neighbourhood Resource Centre and Neighbourhood Resource Association of Westminster Park to get 28 London-area kids into the game and on the ice through the Dreams Come True program.
2017 HCF: Dreams Come True in Dawson Creek
The Hockey Canada Foundation paid a visit to northern B.C. during the 2017 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge.
Recent News
Most Popular

Fondation Hockey Canada

Apprenez-en plus sur le legs du Gala et tournoi de golf de la FHC


Depuis 2009, le Gala et tournoi de golf de la Fondation Hockey Canada a fièrement contribué plus de 4 millions de $ à divers projets dans des communautés canadiennes, permettant au hockey de continuer de prendre de l'ampleur et de prospérer d'un océan à l'autre à l'autre.

2017 – Saskatoon, Sask. – 333 000 $
En plus de célébrer la médaille d’or de l’équipe nationale sur luge du Canada au Championnat mondial de parahockey 2017 du CIP, la Fondation Hockey Canada a établi des partenariats avec quatre groupes méritants en vue de continuer de favoriser l’essor du hockey dans les Prairies. Les fonds du legs du Gala et tournoi de golf ont été répartis également entre l’Association de hockey de la Saskatchewan (pour la tenue de jamborees sur la largeur de la patinoire dans les communautés du nord de la province), le Temple de la renommée du hockey de la Saskatchewan (pour la réalisation d'importantes améliorations à ses installations à Swift Current), la Merlis Belsher Place à l’Université de la Saskatchewan (pour permettre aux installations d’accueillir du parahockey) et à l’Association de hockey mineur de la Saskatchewan (pour son fonds de legs de la Memorial Cup).


2016 – Halifax, N.-É. – 269 000 $
Avec le Gala et tournoi de golf de la Fondation Hockey Canada qui avait lieu au Canada atlantique – et dans une ville sans équipe de la LNH – pour la première fois, Halifax a participé aux célébrations des deux médailles d’or de suite remportées au Championnat mondial de l’IIHF. La moitié des profits sont restés dans la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour appuyer des programmes et des projets du legs auprès de Hockey Nouvelle-Écosse, de la Sidney Crosby Foundation et de la Long Pond Hockey Arena Building Society. Pour Hockey Nouvelle-Écosse, ces fonds ont permis de poursuivre le développement de l'initiative Hockey is for All (le hockey, c'est pour tous), qui est conçue en vue d'initier les jeunes noirs, les Néo-Canadiens, les jeunes autochtones et les jeunes ayant des besoins spéciaux au hockey.


2015 – Toronto, Ont. – 353 000 $
En plus de célébrer le succès du Canada sur la scène internationale, incluant l’équipe du Championnat mondial junior 2015 de l’IIHF et celle du Championnat mondial 2015 de l’IIHF, la Fondation Hockey Canada a poursuivi son partenariat de longue date avec Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment. Un legs du gala totalisant 353 000 $ fait partie des efforts conjoints avec la MLSE Foundation pour appuyer un mode de vie actif, la recherche et les programmes pour les jeunes Canadiens du centre-ville dans les secteurs du hockey, du basketball et du soccer. La Fondation Hockey Canada sera également un partenaire essentiel de financement du Sport For Development Centre mené par MLSE au 261 rue Jarvis, au cœur du centre-ville de Toronto.


2014 – Vancouver, C.-B. – 340 000 $
En plus de rendre hommage aux équipes médaillées d’or masculine et féminine du Canada aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014, la Fondation Hockey Canada s’est associée avec le fonds Canucks for Kids Fund pour faire en sorte que le financement du legs profite à SportJeunesse C.-B., Athletics for Kids et le Club Garçons et Filles de la Côte sud de la C.-B., pour ainsi offrir de meilleures occasions aux enfants issus de milieux défavorisés de pratiquer le sport favori du Canada. Les frais d’inscription à la saison 2014-2015 de plus de 300 joueurs de hockey mineur dans la région du Grand Vancouver ont été couverts par les fonds amassés grâce à la Classique des célébrités.


2013 – Calgary, Alb. – 500 000 $
La Fondation Hockey Canada a versé un don de 250 000 $ à Hockey Alberta qui utilisera les fonds pour aider les familles affectées par les inondations catastrophiques survenues dans le sud de l’Alberta en juin. L’argent a été versé à des associations locales de hockey mineur pour payer les frais d’inscription au hockey mineur de sorte que les jeunes qui avaient prévu jouer pendant la saison 2013-2014 puissent continuer de participer au sport. De plus, un autre montant de 250 000 $ a été versé à SportJeunesse Calgary dont l’objectif est de rendre la pratique de sports comme le hockey plus abordable pour les jeunes issus de milieux défavorisés.


2012 – Toronto, Ont. – 305 000 $
La Fondation Hockey Canada s’est associée à la MLSE Team Up Foundation pour le projet de la patinoire extérieure à Regent Park dans le cadre d’un plus important projet de revitalisation de l’un des quartiers urbains de Toronto le plus mal desservi. L’initiative de Regent Park a profité à la population des quartiers centraux de la ville de Toronto en offrant un endroit sécuritaire et bien entretenu aux jeunes issus de milieux défavorisés.


2011 – Ottawa, Ont. – 420 000 $
La Fondation Hockey Canada, la Fondation des Sénateurs et la Ville d’Ottawa se sont associées pour construire la Patinoire de rêves sur la Place Marion Dewar devant l’Hôtel de Ville d’Ottawa. La patinoire extérieure a été construite à temps pour permettre la tenue d’activités de développement pendant la fin de semaine du Match des étoiles 2012 de la LNH et elle a  joué un rôle important lorsque la capitale nationale a accueilli le Championnat mondial de hockey sur glace féminin 2013 de l’IIHF. Il est possible d’y patiner de novembre à mars, ce qui améliore l’accessibilité au jeu pour les jeunes du hockey mineur, et elle sert d’espace communautaire au printemps et à l’été.


2010 – Edmonton, Alb. – 630 000 $
Grâce au succès de La Classique des célébrités 2010, qui a rendu hommage aux médaillés d’or du Canada en hockey masculin et féminin aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2010 à Vancouver, la Fondation Hockey Canada et la Ville d’Edmonton se sont associées pour l’attribution d’un don de 400 000 $ versé à un centre récréatif communautaire – les fonds serviront à soutenir une des deux patinoires de ce centre. De plus, la Fondation Hockey Canada a égalé une subvention de 230 000 $ accordée par la Fondation communautaire des Oilers d’Edmonton pour les projets de remise à neuf de patinoires dans deux communautés urbaines de Beverly.


2009 – Montréal, Qc – 440 000 $
Inaugurée en janvier 2011, la patinoire extérieure du Parc Willibrord de l’arrondissement Verdun de Montréal était la troisième patinoire extérieure communautaire polyvalente à être construite dans le cadre du programme BLEU BLANC BOUGE de la Fondation des Canadiens pour l’enfance, celle-ci avec une contribution de la Fondation Hockey Canada. La saison de patinage s’y étend de novembre à la mi-mars et d’autres activités sportives, comme le soccer et le hockey en patins à roues alignées, y ont lieu au printemps, à l’été et à l’automne.


En plus du financement du legs, d’autres profits de l’événement iront à des programmes de la Fondation Hockey Canada faisant la promotion de l’accessibilité et de la diversité dans le sport et d’autres valeurs positives comme la santé et le bien-être, le patrimoine en hockey du Canada et le développement d’habiletés, et ce, des équipes locales jusqu’aux équipes olympiques du Canada.

La Classique des célébrités de la Fondation Hockey Canada, qui rend hommage aux équipes nationales ayant remporté une médaille d’or aux championnats mondiaux pendant la saison tout en recueillant des fonds pour le programme de legs du hockey mineur local et les programmes de hockey mineur partout au pays, a amassé plus de 5 millions de $ à ses dix premières années.

Vidéos
Photos
FHC 2018 : Le monde du hockey canadien se réunit au gala
Gala et tournoi de golf de la Fondation Hockey Canada.
FHC 2018 : Rêves devenus réalité à London
La Fondation Hockey Canada s’est associée à la Fédération de hockey de l’Ontario, au South London Neighbourhood Resource Centre et à la Neighbourhood Resource Association of Westminster Park pour permettre à 28 jeunes de la région de London de s’initier au hockey et d’aller sur la glace grâce au programme Rêves devenus réalité.
FHC 2017 : Rêves devenus réalité à Dawson Creek
La Fondation Hockey Canada a visité le Nord de la Colombie-Britannique pendant le Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans 2017.
Recent News
Most Popular