Hockey Canada Foundation

Enable, Educate, Engage – Three pillars of the Hockey Canada Foundation


The fundraising efforts of the Hockey Canada Foundation are embodied in its three pillars: Enabling every Canadian to have access to hockey. Education of players, coaches and volunteers. Engaging Canadians with hockey's unique ability to promote the best aspects of Canada.

para enable e

The Hockey Canada Foundation believes that every single Canadian – regardless of geography, gender, background or socio-economic status – should have access to the game, and it strives to remove any and all barriers that hinder that access.

Since 2007, the HCF has been running its Dreams Come True program in communities from coast to coast to coast. From Victoria to Charlottetown, the program has reached over a thousand kids who wanted to play hockey but were unable due to socio-economic challenges.

Providing new equipment and covering registration costs, as well as access to ice time and trained coaches, means that many from underprivileged communities get to experience Canada’s game first-hand.

And off the ice, Hockey Canada visits schools across the country to give new Canadians their first taste of hockey through floorball, a program funded by the Hockey Canada Foundation. Floorball is a fast and exciting form of the game that promotes end-to-end plays with quick transitions and fluid game play, and does not require athletes to wear any protective equipment.

para educate e

As part of its role as the steward responsible for the growth and development of the game of hockey in Canada, it is critical that Hockey Canada provides appropriate education for sport leaders across the country. The HCF invests in the delivery of hundreds of Hockey Canada programs to make the game and the experience better for all participants.

Are you a coach? Hockey Canada educates and certifies volunteers to become coaches through the National Coaching Certification Program, building their tools and knowledge of the game so they can work more effectively with players.

Are you a parent? In partnership with Respect Group and the Respect in Sport Parent Program, Hockey Canada assists parents in setting reasonable expectations for their child, for the game, and for the volunteers who make it happen.

Are you a player? The Initiation Program is designed to make a child’s first contact with hockey a safe and positive experience in an atmosphere of fun and fair play. And with Canada’s success on the international stage, female hockey has grown by leaps and bounds. The Guide to Female Hockey in Canada helps young girls realize their dream of being part of our beloved hockey legacy.

para engage e

Hockey is more than just a game. It is part of the fabric of Canada, part of what shapes us as Canadians. The Hockey Canada Foundation believes the game has the ability to promote our country, and the best things about it. Canadians have a unique connection to hockey, and what it can do to bring us together.

Fred Sasakamoose knows the power of the game. The first indigenous player to reach the NHL, Saskakamoose played 11 games with the Chicago Blackhawks in the winter and spring of 1954. But his lasting legacy isn’t what he did on the ice. He is an icon in the First Nations community and continues to help aboriginal children through sport, using his celebrity to help others strive for the same opportunities he had.

So does Joé Juneau. A 13-year NHL veteran and 1992 Olympian, Juneau – now an HCF board member – has worked since 2006 to develop the Nunavik Youth Hockey Development Program, providing a busy and positive learning environment for kids to be part of while promoting important life skills and healthy lifestyles using a tool Inuit youth are passionate about – hockey.

And those are just two of the more notable examples. Communities in every corner of the country have people who have built their lives around the game, for the sole purpose of building a better game, building a better community, and building better Canadians.

 

2019 World Juniors eBay auction

Videos
Photos
2018 TCAA: Hitting the links for hockey
With the support of 30 sponsors, 150 golfers braved the cold and took to the course Sept. 18 at the Lakeside Greens Golf Club in Chestermere, Alta.
2018 HCF: Canadian hockey gathers at gala
Hockey Canada Foundation Gala & Golf.
2018 HCF: Dreams Come True in London
The Hockey Canada Foundation partnered with the Ontario Hockey Federation, South London Neighbourhood Resource Centre and Neighbourhood Resource Association of Westminster Park to get 28 London-area kids into the game and on the ice through the Dreams Come True program.

Fondation Hockey Canada

Faciliter, éduquer, engager – Les trois piliers de la Fondation Hockey Canada


Les campagnes de collecte de fonds de la Fondation Hockey Canada sont représentées dans ses trois piliers : Faciliter l’accès au hockey pour tous les Canadiens. Éduquer les joueurs, entraîneurs et bénévoles. Engager les Canadiens dans la capacité unique du hockey de promouvoir les meilleurs aspects du Canada.

para enable f

La Fondation Hockey Canada croit que chaque Canadien, peu importe son lieu de résidence, son sexe, ses antécédents ou son statut socioéconomique, devrait avoir accès au hockey et elle s’efforce d’éliminer les obstacles nuisant à cet accès.

Depuis 2007, la Fondation Hockey Canada tient son programme Rêves devenus réalité dans des communautés d'un océan à l'autre à l'autre. De Victoria à Charlottetown, le programme a attiré plus 1 000 jeunes qui voulaient jouer au hockey mais qui ne pouvaient pas en raison de défis socioéconomiques.

Fournir du nouvel équipement ainsi que payer les frais pour l'inscription, le temps de glace et la présence d'entraîneurs formés; de tels gestes font en sorte que de nombreux jeunes dans les communautés défavorisées ont la chance de vivre le sport du Canada à leur tour.

Et à l’extérieur de la patinoire, Hockey Canada rend visite à des écoles partout au pays pour initier les nouveaux Canadiens au hockey par l'intermédiaire d'un programme de floorball financé par la Fondation Hockey Canada. Le floorball est un jeu rapide et excitant qui favorise l’action d’un bout à l’autre de la surface de jeu grâce à ses transitions rapides et à son déroulement fluide et ne nécessite pas le port d’équipement protecteur.

para educate f

Dans son rôle de gardienne responsable du développement et de l'essor du hockey au Canada, la Fondation Hockey Canada doit absolument veiller à l'éducation adéquate des meneurs dans ce sport partout au pays. La FHC investit dans les centaines de programmes offerts par Hockey Canada pour améliorer le hockey et l'expérience de tous les participants.

Êtes-vous un entraîneur? Hockey Canada forme et accrédite les bénévoles comme entraîneurs grâce au Programme national de certification des entraîneurs, qui lui fournit des outils et des connaissances dans le domaine du hockey pour qu'ils puissent faire un meilleur travail auprès des joueurs.

Êtes-vous un parent? Par l'intermédiaire du travail de Hockey Canada auprès du Respect Group et du programme Respect et Sport pour les parents, nous aidons les parents à fixer des attentes raisonnables envers leurs enfants, le hockey et les bénévoles qui rendent le sport possible.

Êtes-vous un joueur? Le programme d’initiation est conçu de manière à ce que le premier contact d'un enfant avec le hockey soit sécuritaire et positif et se déroule dans une ambiance de plaisir et de franc-jeu. Grâce aux succès du Canada sur la scène internationale, le hockey féminin a fait des progrès énormes. Le Guide du hockey féminin au Canada aide les jeunes filles à réaliser leur rêve de faire partie de l'héritage de notre sport bien-aimé.

para engage f

Le hockey est beaucoup plus qu’un jeu. Il fait partie du tissu social du Canada; il nous définit en tant que Canadiens. La Fondation Hockey Canada pense que le hockey a la capacité de promouvoir le pays et les meilleures choses à propos de ce sport. Les Canadiens ont un lien unique avec le hockey et avec ce qu’il peut faire pour nous rassembler.

Fred Sasakamoose connaît le pouvoir du hockey. Premier joueur autochtone à atteindre la LNH, Sasakamoose a joué 11 matchs avec les Blackhawks de Chicago au cours de l'hiver et du printemps de 1954. Mais son héritage durable, ce n’est pas ce qu’il a accompli sur la glace. Il est une icône parmi les communautés des Premières Nations, et il se sert de cette notoriété pour aider les autres à aspirer aux mêmes occasions dont il a lui-même profité.

Comme Joé Juneau. Vétéran de 13 saisons dans la LNH et athlète olympique de 1992 – aujourd'hui membre du conseil d’administration de la FHC – Juneau a aidé à la création du Nunavik Youth Hockey Development Program, offrant un milieu d'apprentissage animé et positif à des jeunes et promouvant des aptitudes de vie importantes et des modes de vie sains à l'aide d'un outil qui passionne les jeunes Inuits : le hockey.

Et ce sont seulement deux des exemples les plus connus. Des communautés des quatre coins du pays ont des gens qui ont bâti leur vie autour du hockey pour bâtir un meilleur jeu, une meilleure communauté et pour le bien des Canadiens.

Vidéos
Photos
AAHC 2018 : Une ronde de golf pour le hockey
Avec l’appui de 30 commanditaires, 150 golfeurs ont bravé le froid pour disputer une ronde de golf le 18 septembre au Lakeside Greens Golf Club, à Chestermere, Alb.
FHC 2018 : Le monde du hockey canadien se réunit au gala
Gala et tournoi de golf de la Fondation Hockey Canada.
FHC 2018 : Rêves devenus réalité à London
La Fondation Hockey Canada s’est associée à la Fédération de hockey de l’Ontario, au South London Neighbourhood Resource Centre et à la Neighbourhood Resource Association of Westminster Park pour permettre à 28 jeunes de la région de London de s’initier au hockey et d’aller sur la glace grâce au programme Rêves devenus réalité.
Recent News
Most Popular