Hockey Canada Awards

2020 Hockey Canada Award Winners


Our love for hockey lies in the hearts of volunteers from coast to coast to coast, looking to share their passion with all Canadians.

Thank you to the hundreds of thousands who give their time to our game, and congratulations to those recognized as national award winners this year.

 

sean kelly 1400 e

 

Hal Lewis Award (Hockey Canada) – Sean Kelly

As the first full-time general counsel for Hockey Canada, Sean Kelly is a busy man. And while his contributions to the organization might not register with the average fan, his work ethic, determination and pursuit of excellence have helped shape the direction of the game.

Years of legal experience allows Sean to provide support on executing contracts that benefit Hockey Canada, from high performance to partnerships, events and third-party vendor agreements. He has been a leader through significant changes to the Hockey Canada Board of Directors, including the latest move to a more diverse group, he oversees more than 300 appeals every season, and he played a key role in providing legal interpretations when the COVID-19 pandemic shut down the 2019-20 season and forced the cancellation of a number of events, most notably the 2020 IIHF Women’s World Championship.

Sean leads by example, not by the volume of his voice. His calm demeanour is perfectly suited to his hectic role, and his fact-based approach keeps the organization on a steady path and helps foster strong relationships with host committees, partners, athletes and vendors.

 

scott furman 1400 e

 

Hal Lewis Award (Member) – Scott Furman

He may have departed Hockey Manitoba in August 2019 to take a position as west regional director with Hockey Canada, but Scott Furman left his fingerprints all over the provincial Member during a 17-year run with the organization.

With a commitment to finance, minor hockey and program operations, Scott played an instrumental role in establishing a number of projects, including a seamless launch and delivery of the half-ice program for U9 hockey that was in place years before it was nationally mandated by Hockey Canada. He also led a number of major projects surrounding the 100th anniversary of the Member in 2015, and his focus on strengthening the Hockey Manitoba brand led to the recruitment, acquisition and activation of a variety of long-term partners that helped triple the total sponsorship revenue over his tenure.

A minor hockey coach for his sons Andrew and Patrick, Scott provided essential leadership up and down the game and earned the respect of peers, colleagues and volunteers with his confidence, belief and commitment to make hockey better for Manitobans.

 

sam ciccolini 1400 e

 

Outstanding Volunteer Award – Sam Ciccolini

After immigrating to Canada from Pescosolido, Italy, in 1956, Sam Ciccolini set about carving out a life in his new country for his growing family. And when it came to being part of the fabric of his adopted homeland, what was more Canadian than hockey?

Over the last 50 years, Sam has become a pillar of his community. He has volunteered his time with more than 40 different groups, with a special interest on the ice. Starting with his involvement with the Woodbridge Minor Hockey Association, he helped build the Vaughan Kings AAA Hockey Association in the early 1990s, was involved in the creation of the Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario in 1992 and earned a seat on the board of directors with the Ontario Hockey Association and Ontario Hockey Federation (receiving a life membership from the OHF in 2007). Sam has also been heavily involved with Hockey Canada; he has been involved with the insurance and risk management committees for close to 30 years, was part of the Olympic hockey delegation in 2006 and 2014 and chaired the volunteer committee for the 2015 and 2017 World Juniors.

That covers just a fraction of Sam’s volunteer exploits, so it is no surprise he has been provincially and nationally recognized many times over. He received the Order of Ontario in 1999, and was invested as a Member of the Order of Canada in 2006 and as a Commander of the Order of the Star of Solidarity by the Government of Italy in 2008, just to name a notable few. From humble beginnings in Pescosolido to the highest levels of Canada’s game, Sam embodies what hard work and selfless contributions to one’s community can achieve.

 

barry medori 1400 e

 

Gordon Juckes Award – Barry Medori

From High Level in the north to Lethbridge in the south, Lloydminster in the east and Grande Prairie in the west – and so many points in between – there probably aren’t many arenas across the province of Alberta that Barry Medori hasn’t stepped foot in.

A coach whose résumé includes stints in the Alberta Junior Hockey League, Alberta College Athletics Conference and Western Women’s Hockey League, at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge and with Canada’s National Women’s Team, Barry has helped shape the hockey journey for countless players since 1999. For the last 12 years he has turned his attention towards coach mentorship, working both provincially with Hockey Alberta’s high-performance program (men’s U15/U16, women’s U18) and nationally with Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence (U17).

An educator by trade, Barry has a knack for connecting with coaches of any age and experience level. He is a constant fixture at Team Alberta and Team Canada camps and events throughout the season, working with coaches to ensure they are getting the best out of their players while instilling core values that provide benefits at the rink and in life.

 

pascal dufresne 1400 e

 

Female Breakthrough Award – Pascal Dufresne

During the 2018-19 season, there were 6,874 girls registered to play hockey in Quebec. And it is very unlikely there is anyone in the province who is more passionate about their development – and about the women’s game in general – than Pascal Dufresne.

The head coach of the women’s hockey team at Cégep Limoilou for the last 17 seasons, Pascal has led the Titans to four consecutive Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) collegiate championships (and seven in the last eight years), earned a gold medal as head coach of Team Quebec at the 2015 Canada Winter Games and won bronze as bench boss at the 2019 National Women’s Under-18 Championship. He also played a behind-the-scenes role at the 2017 U18 nationals, welcoming the country’s top young players to Quebec City as part of the host committee.

But his impact on the game goes far beyond the Titans and provincial high-performance program. Pascal also serves as the director of development with the As de Québec, working with the U13, U15 and U18 AAA teams, and is heavily involved in camps for players from U7 to U15, always ensuring the future of the game in Quebec is secure, and players are getting the most from their hockey experience.

 

eve gascon 1400 e

 

Isobel Gathorne-Hardy Award – Ève Gascon

From her earliest days of minor hockey, Ève Gascon has always had an eye on pushing boundaries and breaking down barriers. For the 17-year-old goaltender, simply stopping pucks has never been good enough. She wants to make history.

Ève burst onto the national scene in 2018 when she made the Phénix du Collège Esther-Blondin, becoming the first woman to play in the Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec, arguably the best U18 league in the country. After helping Quebec to silver at the 2019 Canada Winter Games and bronze at the 2019 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, and backstopping Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team to silver at the 2020 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship, Ève broke another gender barrier by debuting with the Collège Français de Longueuil as the first woman to play in the Ligue de hockey junior AAA du Québec.

A leader on and off the ice, Ève has never hesitated to give back to the game, working with young girls across Quebec and going above and beyond to promote the women’s game. And when COVID-19 brought an early end to the 2019-20 season, she found a way to support her community, volunteering at a seniors’ home in L’Assomption, Que.

 

rick morphew 1400 e

 

Officiating Award – Rick Morphew

Where do you even begin to describe the impact Rick Morphew has had on the officiating community? As an on-ice official, instructor, supervisor, master course conductor and contributor to the Hockey Canada Officiating Program (HCOP), Rick is in a class all his own.

From the first time he picked up a whistle in his hometown of Sarnia, Ont., in the early 1960s, Rick has seemingly lived his life in black and white. He progressed through the HCOP to become a certified Level VI official in 1980, working games – including a number of international assignments – until 2009 as one of the country’s most respected referees. He has spent the last 24 years as the referee-in-chief for the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF), helping guide the careers of thousands of young officials, and his knowledge and expertise has helped shape officiating curriculum for every level of the HCOP.

A recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal in 2002 for outstanding community service, Rick has proudly gone from one end of the country to the other as a national supervisor since 1990, representing Hockey Canada and the OHF at countless national and international events, and proving time and time again why his is one of the most influential officiating voices in the game.

 

garth isenor 1400 e

 

Order of Merit (Atlantic) – Garth Isenor

From the rinks of East Hants, N.S., to the boardrooms of Hockey Canada, hockey has shaped Garth Isenor, and Garth Isenor has shaped hockey. As a player, coach and administrator, he has had a front row seat to watch hockey grow in Nova Scotia, and today’s game has his fingerprints all over it.

A goaltender during his playing days, Garth made the move the behind the bench in his early 20s, guiding a generation of players through the East Hants Minor Hockey Association (EHMHA), including a provincial Peewee AAA title-winning team in 2000 as an assistant. He took over as EHMHA president in 1991 and began to work his way up the Hockey Nova Scotia ladder, eventually serving as chair of Minor Council from 2008-11, vice-president of operations from 2011-15 and finally president of the Member from 2015-19, working closely with the Hockey Canada Board of Directors.

Under his leadership, Hockey Nova Scotia admitted the first female hockey association, and started or enhanced programs for new Canadians, para hockey, special-needs hockey and blind hockey. Garth’s goal, as it always has been, was to welcome as many players to the game as possible. Respectful, considerate and insightful, Garth has long been a champion of the game, and of those who play it.

 

michael penman 1400 e

 

Order of Merit (Central) – Michael Penman

He played the game growing up in Toronto and proudly coached his sons through their minor hockey journey with the Humber Valley Sharks, but it is in the boardroom where Michael Penman has made his most significant impact on Canada’s game.

A skilled lawyer with Blaney McMurtry, Michael first got involved as counsel with the Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL) in 1979, beginning a relationship that would last 36 years. He joined the GTHL Executive Committee in 1996, the same year he chaired the GTHL Constitution Committee, and rose to join the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF) Board of Directors in 2000. Upon his appointment as chair of the OHF Constitution Committee in 2002, Michael led the process to consolidate the regulations of the OHF into one clear and concise document.

His ability to see the practical but achievable approach in the game led Michael to be a leader with the OHF, and in 2015 he took on the position of first vice-president. That ended his full-time affiliation with the GTHL, and he was made an Honorary Life Member. In his final years of service, Michael led a major governance change, spearheading the move to an independent OHF Board of Directors before his retirement in 2018.

 

roy sakaki 1400 e

 

Order of Merit (West) – Roy Sakaki

If you have ever been involved in hockey in Salmon Arm, B.C. – player, coach, official, fan – then the name Roy Sakaki holds plenty of meaning. Over the last 50 years, Roy has become the heart of the game in the city, earning the moniker Mr. Hockey among locals.

A graduate of the University of British Columbia and a talented player in his own right, Roy arrived in the Shuswap in the early 1970s and got involved right away behind the bench with the Salmon Arm Minor Hockey Association. Over the next two decades he coached up and down the association, guiding his own kids and thousands of others through the game. He traded his clipboard for a whistle in the early 1990s and started officiating, and 30 years later he continues to mentor young officials to strive for excellence and not just collect a paycheque.

In 2005, after volunteer stints as coach coordinator and referee-in-chief, Roy took over as administrator for the SAMHA. He is the glue that keeps everything running smoothly, a voice of reason on committees and has a natural ability to diffuse conflict with great perspective and a big smile. His love for the game and gentle spirit shines through in ways only people in his community can fully understand. 

WATCH! Hockey Canada Ambassador – Roy Sakaki

Prix de Hockey Canada

Lauréats des prix de 2020 de Hockey Canada


Les bienfaits du bénévolat

Notre amour pour le hockey trouve écho dans le cœur d’innombrables bénévoles d’un océan à l’autre à l’autre qui souhaitent partager leur passion avec tous les Canadiens. Merci aux centaines de milliers de personnes qui donnent de leur temps à notre sport, et félicitations aux lauréats nationaux de cette année.

 

sean kelly 1400 f

 

Prix Hal-Lewis (Hockey Canada) – Sean Kelly

Le tout premier directeur des affaires juridiques de Hockey Canada à temps plein, Sean Kelly, est un homme occupé. Même si ses contributions à l’organisation passent probablement sous le radar du partisan typique, son éthique de travail, sa détermination et sa quête de l’excellence ont aidé à forger les orientations du hockey.

Grâce à ses années d’expérience dans le domaine juridique, Sean contribue à l’exécution de contrats qui servent Hockey Canada, que ce soit pour tout ce qui touche à la haute performance, aux partenariats, aux événements ou aux ententes avec les fournisseurs. Il a été un chef de file en ce qui a trait à plusieurs changements au conseil d’administration de Hockey Canada, notamment quant à la récente décision d’assurer une plus grande diversité au sein de ce groupe. Il supervise aussi plus de 300 dossiers en appel chaque saison et il a joué un rôle important par ses interprétations juridiques quand la pandémie de COVID-19 a mis fin à la saison 2019-2020 et forcé l’annulation de plusieurs événements, particulièrement le Championnat mondial féminin 2020 de l’IIHF.

Sean montre l’exemple au lieu de hausser le ton de sa voix. Son attitude calme le sert parfaitement dans ce rôle complexe. Son approche basée sur les faits assure une constance à l’organisation et aide à forger des relations solides avec les comités hôtes, les partenaires, les athlètes et les fournisseurs.

 

scott furman 1400 f

 

Prix Hal-Lewis (membre) – Scott Furman

Bien qu’il ait quitté les rangs de Hockey Manitoba en août 2019 pour accepter le poste de directeur régional de l’Ouest au sein de Hockey Canada, Scott Furman a laissé ses traces partout chez ce membre provincial lors de son parcours de 17 ans avec l’organisation.

Grâce à son implication par rapport aux finances, au hockey mineur et au fonctionnement des programmes, Scott a joué un rôle crucial dans la mise en œuvre de projets, notamment le lancement et l’implantation réussis du programme de hockey sur demi-glace pour les M9, qui était en place quelques années avant que Hockey Canada le rende obligatoire à l’échelle nationale. Il a également été responsable de bon nombre de projets entourant le 100e anniversaire du membre en 2015 et son attention apportée au renforcement de la marque de Hockey Manitoba a mené au recrutement, à l’acquisition et à l’activation de divers partenaires à long terme qui ont permis de tripler les revenus totaux de commandites pendant son temps avec l’organisation.

Entraîneur au hockey mineur de ses fils Andrew et Patrick, Scott a fait preuve d’un leadership essentiel aux divers échelons de ce sport et a gagné le respect de ses pairs, collègues et bénévoles grâce à sa confiance, sa croyance et son engagement pour améliorer la pratique du hockey pour les Manitobains.

 

sam ciccolini 1400 f

 

Prix du bénévole exceptionnel – Sam Ciccolini

Après avoir émigré au Canada en provenance de Pescosolido, Italie, en 1956, Sam Ciccolini a voulu forger sa vie dans son nouveau pays pour sa famille grandissante. Et quand on veut faire partie du tissu social de sa terre d’adoption, y a-t-il quelque chose de plus Canadien que le hockey?

Au cours des 50 dernières années, Sam est devenu un pilier de sa communauté. Il a donné de son temps à 40 différents groupes, gardant un intérêt spécial pour la patinoire. Après avoir commencé à s’impliquer au sein de l’Association de hockey mineur de Woodbridge, il a aidé à former l’Association de hockey des Kings de Vaughan AAA au début des années 1990, il a contribué à la création de l’Alliance du hockey mineur de l’Ontario en 1992 et a obtenu un poste au sein du conseil d’administration de l’Association de hockey de l'Ontario et de la Fédération de hockey de l’Ontario (OHF). Il est d’ailleurs devenu un membre à vie de l’OHF en 2007. Sam a également été très impliqué avec Hockey Canada; il a fait partie des comités des assurances et de la gestion du risque pendant près de 30 ans, il a fait partie de la délégation du hockey olympique en 2006 et 2014 et a présidé le comité des bénévoles des Mondiaux juniors 2015 et 2017.

Tout cela ne couvre qu’une simple fraction des exploits de bénévole de Sam. Il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’il ait été souvent reconnu sur les scènes provinciale et nationale. Il a reçu l’Ordre de l’Ontario en 1999 et est devenu membre de l’Ordre du Canada en 2006, sans oublier qu’il a été nommé Commandant de l’Ordre de l’Étoile de la solidarité par le gouvernement de l’Italie en 2008, pour ne nommer que ces honneurs. De ses débuts modestes à Pescosolido jusqu’au sommet du hockey au Canada, Sam incarne ce que le travail ardu et l’altruisme peuvent apporter à une communauté.

 

barry medori 1400 f

 

Prix Gordon-Juckes – Barry Medori

De High Level au nord à Lethbridge au sud, de Lloydminster à l’est à Grande Prairie à l’ouest – le tout en passant par une foule d’autres endroits –, il n’y a probablement pas beaucoup d’arénas dans la province de l’Alberta où Barry Medori n’a pas mis les pieds.

Comme entraîneur dont le parcours comprend des passages dans la Ligue de hockey junior de l’Alberta, l’Alberta College Athletics Conference et la Western Women’s Hockey League, de même qu’au Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans et au sein de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada, Barry a contribué au cheminement au hockey d’innombrables joueurs depuis 1999. Au cours des 12 dernières années, il s’est tourné vers le rôle d’entraîneur-conseil, tant à l’échelle provinciale auprès du programme de la haute performance de Hockey Alberta qu’à l’échelle nationale avec le Programme d’excellence de Hockey Canada (M17).

Pédagogue de métier, Barry est doué pour tisser des liens avec les entraîneurs, peu importe leur âge ou leur niveau d’expérience. Il est un incontournable aux camps et aux événements d’Équipe Alberta et d’Équipe Canada tout au long des saisons, où il travaille de pair avec les entraîneurs pour veiller à soutirer la meilleure performance possible des joueurs et à enseigner les valeurs de base qui leur sont bénéfiques tant sur la glace qu’au quotidien.

 

pascal dufresne 1400 f

 

Prix de la percée du hockey féminin – Pascal Dufresne

Durant la saison 2018-2019, il y avait 6 874 filles inscrites au hockey au Québec. Il est vraiment peu probable que quelqu’un dans la province soit plus passionné par leur développement – et par le hockey féminin en général – que Pascal Dufresne.

Entraîneur-chef de l’équipe de hockey féminin du Cégep Limoilou lors des 17 dernières saisons, Pascal a mené les Titans à quatre titres collégiaux consécutifs du Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) – et sept au cours des huit dernières années. De plus, il a gagné une médaille d’or dans le rôle d’entraîneur-chef d’Équipe Québec aux Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2015 et le bronze lorsqu’il a occupé le même poste au Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans 2019. Il a également œuvré dans les coulisses du National des M18 2017, quand il a accueilli les meilleures jeunes joueuses du pays à Québec au sein en tant que membre du comité hôte.

Toutefois, son impact sur le hockey féminin va bien au-delà des Titans et du programme provincial de la haute performance. Pascal est également le directeur du développement des As de Québec, travaillant avec des équipes AAA de M13, M15 et M18. Il s’implique grandement aussi dans des camps de M7 à M15, en s’assurant toujours que l’avenir de ce sport au Québec soit en bonne santé et que les joueurs profitent au maximum de leur expérience au hockey.

 

eve gascon 1400 f

 

Prix de la Isobel - Gathorne-Hardy – Ève Gascon

Dès ses débuts au hockey mineur, Ève Gascon a toujours cherché à repousser les limites et à faire tomber les barrières. Pour la gardienne de but de 17 ans, le fait de simplement stopper les rondelles n’a jamais suffi. Elle veut marquer l’histoire.

Ève a percé sur la scène nationale en 2018 lorsqu’elle s’est taillé un poste avec le Phénix du Collège Esther-Blondin, devenant la première femme à jouer dans la Ligue de hockey midget AAA du Québec, sans doute la meilleure ligue des M18 au pays. Après avoir aidé le Québec à remporter l’argent aux Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2019 et le bronze au Championnat national féminin des moins de 18 ans 2019, en plus d’avoir protégé le filet de l’équipe nationale féminine des moins de 18 ans du Canada, qui a gagné l’argent au Championnat mondial féminin des M18 2020 de l’IIHF, Ève a fait tomber une autre barrière entre les genres lors de ses débuts avec le Collège Français de Longueuil à titre de première femme à jouer dans la Ligue de hockey junior AAA du Québec.

Meneuse sur la glace et à l’extérieur des patinoires, Ève n’a jamais hésité à redonner au hockey en travaillant auprès de jeunes filles partout au Québec et en ne ménageant aucun effort pour promouvoir le hockey féminin. Et lorsque la pandémie de COVID-19 a mis fin prématurément à la saison 2019-2020, elle a trouvé une façon de soutenir sa communauté en faisant du bénévolat dans une résidence pour personnes âgées à L’Assomption, au Québec.

 

rick morphew 1400 f

 

Prix des officiels – Rick Morphew

Par où même commencer pour décrire l’impact de Rick Morphew sur la communauté de l’arbitrage? Comme officiel sur glace, instructeur, superviseur, maître formateur et collaborateur du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada (POHC), Rick est dans une classe à part.

Depuis la première fois où il s’est armé de son sifflet au début des années 1960 dans sa ville d’origine de Sarnia, en Ontario, Rick a ni plus ni moins vécu sa vie en noir et blanc. Il a cheminé au sein du POHC jusqu’à sa certification à titre d’officiel de niveau VI en 1980, pour ensuite arbitrer des matchs – dont bon nombre sur la scène internationale – jusqu’en 2009 en tant que l’un des arbitres les plus respectés au pays. Il a passé les 24 dernières années dans le poste d’arbitre en chef de la Fédération de hockey de l’Ontario (OHF), où il a encadré la carrière de milliers de jeunes officiels, et ses connaissances et son expertise ont contribué à définir le contenu sur l’arbitrage pour tous les niveaux du POHC.

Lauréat de la Médaille du jubilé d’or de la Reine Elizabeth II en 2002 pour les services exceptionnels qu’il a rendus à la communauté, Rick a fièrement parcouru le pays d’un bout à l’autre à titre de superviseur national depuis 1990, représentant Hockey Canada et l’OHF à d’innombrables événements nationaux et internationaux, illustrant à plusieurs reprises pourquoi il est l’une des figures les plus notoires de l’arbitrage au hockey.

 

garth isenor 1400 f

 

Ordre du mérite (Atlantique) – Garth Isenor

Des arénas d’East Hants, N.-É., aux salles de conférence de Hockey Canada, le hockey a toujours eu une empreinte sur Garth Isenor et vice versa. En tant que joueur, entraîneur et administrateur, il a toujours été aux premières loges pour voir le sport du hockey prendre de l’ampleur en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le hockey, tel qu’on le connaît aujourd’hui, a été grandement influencé par lui.

Après avoir été devant le filet, Garth a fait le saut derrière le banc au début de la vingtaine, guidant une génération de joueurs au sein de l’Association de hockey mineur d’East Hants (EHMHA), dont une équipe pee-wee AAA championne du titre provincial en 2000 pour laquelle il était entraîneur adjoint. En 1991, il est devenu président de l’EHMHA et il a commencé à grimper les échelons de Hockey Nouvelle-Écosse, pour ensuite devenir président du conseil du hockey mineur de 2008 à 2011, vice-président du fonctionnement de 2011 à 2015 et finalement président du membre de 2015 à 2019, travaillant en étroite collaboration avec le conseil d’administration de Hockey Canada.

Sous sa gouverne, Hockey Nouvelle-Écosse a intégré la première association de hockey féminin et lancé ou amélioré les programmes pour les néo-Canadiens, le parahockey, le hockey pour personnes ayant des besoins particuliers et le hockey pour handicapés visuels. L’objectif de Garth, qui a toujours été le même, était d’accueillir le plus de joueurs possible au sein de ce sport. Respectueux, compréhensif et perspicace, Garth est depuis longtemps un défenseur du hockey et de ceux qui le pratiquent.

 

michael penman 1400 f

 

Ordre du mérite (Centrale) – Michael Penman

Il a joué au hockey pendant son enfance à Toronto et a fièrement dirigé ses fils tout au long de leur parcours au hockey mineur avec les Sharks de Humber Valley, mais c’est dans les salles de conférences que Michael Penman a fait sa plus grande contribution au sport du Canada.

Avocat émérite travaillant pour le cabinet Blaney McMurtry, Michael a fait ses débuts comme avocat pour la Ligue de hockey du Grand Toronto (GTHL) en 1979, amorçant ainsi une relation qui allait durer 36 ans. Il s’est joint au comité de direction de la GTHL en 1996, la même année où il a agi à titre de président du comité des statuts de la ligue, pour ensuite gravir les échelons et devenir membre du conseil d’administration de la Fédération de hockey de l’Ontario (OHF) en 2000. Lorsqu’il a été nommé président du comité des statuts de l’OHF en 2002, Michael a dirigé le processus de consolidation des règlements de l’OHF en un seul document clair et concis.

Sa capacité à jeter un regard pratique et réaliste sur le hockey a permis à Michael de s’imposer comme meneur au sein de l’OHF et, en 2015, il a obtenu le poste de premier vice-président. Ceci a mis fin à son affiliation à temps plein avec la GTHL, dont il a été nommé membre honoraire à vie. Pendant ses dernières années en poste, Michael a mené un important processus de changement de gouvernance en chapeautant la transition vers un conseil d’administration indépendant pour l’OHF avant de prendre sa retraite en 2018.

 

roy sakaki 1400 f

 

Ordre du mérite (Ouest) – Roy Sakaki

Si vous avez déjà gravité dans le monde du hockey à Salmon Arm, C.-B. – que ce soit comme joueur, entraîneur, officiel, partisan – le nom de Roy Sakaki a une grande signification pour vous. Au cours des 50 dernières années, Roy est devenu le cœur du hockey dans cette ville, ce qui lui vaut le surnom de M. Hockey chez les gens des environs. 

Diplômé de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et joueur talentueux, Roy est arrivé dans le district de Shuswap au début des années 1970 et il n’a pas tardé à s’impliquer derrière le banc au sein de l’Association de hockey mineur de Salmon Arm. Lors des deux décennies suivantes, il a occupé divers postes au sein de l’association, dirigeant ses enfants et des milliers d’autres au hockey. Il a troqué son tableau pour un sifflet au début des années 1990 pour commencer à arbitrer. 30 ans plus tard, il continue d’être le mentor de jeunes officiels pour qu’ils visent l’excellence au lieu de seulement encaisser un chèque de paie. 

En 2005, après avoir occupé des postes de bénévole en tant que coordonnateur des entraîneurs et arbitre en chef, Roy est devenu un administrateur de la SAMHA. Il est celui qui voit au bon fonctionnement de tout, une voix de la raison au sein des comités et il a un talent naturel pour désamorcer un conflit en gardant en tête une grande perspective de la situation et le sourire. Son amour du hockey et son esprit bienveillant rayonnent de multiples façons que seuls les gens de sa communauté peuvent vraiment comprendre.

REGARDEZ! Ambassadeur de Hockey Canada – Roy Sakaki