Hockey Canada Awards

2019 Hockey Canada Award Winners


The value of the volunteer

Hockey Canada celebrated the volunteer spirit at its annual awards banquet in Ottawa, recognizing seven deserving Canadians who have given to the game

 

by Wendy Graves

Our love for the game of hockey lies in the hearts of countless volunteers from coast to coast to coast, looking to share their passion with all Canadians.

On May 31, Hockey Canada recognized this passion and dedication to the game at the organization’s Spring Congress in the nation’s capital. Congratulations to the seven award recipients, and a heartfelt thank you to all volunteers who tirelessly give their time every season.


gould parallax
2019-05-29 1:01:20 PM

Outstanding Volunteer Award – Larry Gould

To the residents of Schomberg, Ontario, he’s known simply as ‘Coach Larry.’ For the last 50 years, Larry Gould has been a fixture behind the bench, as familiar a site at a rink as a pyramid of pucks and players themselves. As he celebrates his golden anniversary as a coach, Hockey Canada recognizes Larry Gould as its 2019 Volunteer of the Year.

Larry spent 48 years coaching with the Schomberg Minor Hockey Association, longer than any other coach in the organization’s history. Part of what has made Larry such a gifted teacher and mentor is his willingness to be a student himself. Understanding there’s always something new to learn, he’s long been an advocate for coaching programs and continues to update his coaching certification.

Larry’s generosity has helped make the game what it is today in Schomberg and the surrounding townships. He has received lifetime achievement awards, volunteer awards and even the Sovereign’s Volunteer Medal from the Governor General’s Office. His exceptional dedication, leadership, commitment and voluntary contributions to minor hockey have allowed generations of players to enjoy and be enriched by the game.

mcfarlane parallax

Gordon Juckes Award – Gary McFarlane

The name Gary McFarlane has become synonymous with hockey development in the Ontario Hockey Federation. That’s what spending two decades devoted to the game – and the people in the game – will do. For his outstanding achievement and involvement in the development of amateur hockey in Canada, Gary McFarlane is the recipient of the 2019 Gordon Juckes Award.

Gary’s No. 1 priority has always been development: of the player, of the coach, of the organization. He has served on numerous tournament committees and minor hockey councils, and held innumerable roles for local house leagues: coach, referee, treasurer, president and executive-at-large. He’s currently the Team Alliance U16 Director of Operations.

At the national level, Gary has been equally generous sharing his expertise. He was an NCCP Master Course conductor. And he provided his technical expertise in supporting the rewriting of High Performance 1 written assignments and Development 1 curriculum and program requirements. He has also been an Initiation Program committee member through ALLIANCE Hockey. Amateur hockey in Ontario is better because of his dedication.

ouellette parallax

Female Breakthrough Award – Caroline Ouellette

Caroline Ouellette retired from Canada’s National Women’s Team as a four-time Olympic gold medallist, six-time world champion and Canada’s third-highest scorer all time. Now, she has made it her mission to create the development opportunities she didn’t have growing up.

Caroline has long been an advocate for the women’s game with Hockey Quebec. Her leadership and dedication to the promotion and development of the game influenced the member’s changes to the structure of female hockey in the province. She has also been a vocal proponent, making speeches and appearances, and giving interviews – in English and French – to promote the game and recruit new players. She even developed her own program to get more girls on the ice. Since 2014, she’s hosted the Caroline Ouellette Girls Hockey Celebration, which offers girls ages 5 to 12 the opportunity to participate in a female hockey tournament.

As an ambassador for her sport, by activing recruiting new players and by accepting every opportunity to grow the game, Caroline has advanced female hockey so more girls can enjoy the game that has given her so much.

krause parallax

Officiating Award – Larry Krause

You’d be hard-pressed to find a volunteer who has given as much time, effort and passion to hockey in British Columbia as Larry Krause. You’d be equally hard-pressed to find an official in the province that hasn’t been positively influenced by Larry’s involvement, knowledge and leadership.

Currently the minor officiating development facilitator for the B.C. Hockey Officiating Program, Larry has embodied the spirit of the game and the goals of the member’s officiating program for more than 30 years. He has significantly influenced the Hockey Canada Officiating Program curriculum content and delivery within B.C. Hockey’s certification program, and served as a high-performance supervisor and lead course conductor for the member’s Officiating Program of Excellence.

Larry’s commitment to B.C. Hockey’s officiating program and his passion for the development of officials at all levels is unmatched. He is greatly respected by officials, mentors, supervisors and hockey personnel at both the member and national levels, and his positive and enthusiastic approach to educating has established a legacy for officiating development for B.C. Hockey.

bannister parallax

Order of Merit (Atlantic) – Gerald Bannister

Since joining the Moncton Minor Hockey Association Board of Directors in 1995, Gerald Bannister has been a strong, steady influence on amateur hockey in New Brunswick, championing each new generation as a players-first administrator.

Gerald joined Minor Hockey Council with Hockey New Brunswick as a district director in 2002, a position he still holds today. One reason Gerald makes such a difference is the long-term commitment he makes to each council or governing group he sits on. In 2009, he began a six-year term as vice-president of Minor Hockey Council. Two years later he became the Minor Council representative for the Elite Hockey Commission, a role he held until 2016. For the past five seasons, Gerald has been an executive member of the NB/PEI Major Midget Hockey League, first as president and now vice-president.

While those on the East Coast have felt Gerald’s influence for more than two decades, the rest of the country deserves to know the difference he has made to amateur hockey.

minville parallax

Order of Merit (Central) – Nicolas Minville

The dictionary defines a leader as someone with commanding yet positive influence, someone with the ability to motivate others to achieve a common goal. For a quarter of a century, Nicolas Minville led the way in growing the game not only around the rinks of Baie-Comeau, where his involvement began, but also throughout the province of Quebec. Minor hockey on the North Shore would not look the same without his commitment, contributions and dedication. 

Nicolas started as an assistant coach for the Atom B Aigles de Baie-Comeau in 1994-95. His sophomore season, he served as vice-president and acting president of the city’s minor hockey association. In 2002, he was elected vice-president of Hockey Quebec. The following year he assumed the treasurer’s position as well. He held both roles for the next 13 years. In 2016, he was elected president of Hockey Quebec.

Nicolas simply wants everyone to enjoy the benefits of sports. For that reason, he also spent nine years as the president of the Unité régionale de loisirs et sports of the Côte-Nord region, an organization that promotes sports, physical activity and overall well-being.

martin parallax

Order of Merit (West) – Wilf Martin

Picture it: Paddockwood, Saskatchewan, a young mother laces up her three-year-old son and guides him around the slough at their farm. From that day forward, Wilf Martin was destined to be a rink rat.

Every September, Wilf and his friends would eagerly await the first frozen ponds of the fall. They would play shinny well into the darkness, their only light being cattails set ablaze in nearby snowbanks. Wilf played through Midget before joining a men’s league team. He also saw the game from a different angle, dabbling in officiating for a number of years. With a young family coming of hockey age, Wilf turned his focus first to coaching, then to managing. He then shifted to the Saskatoon Minor Hockey Association and assumed a number of roles, including vice-president, president and past-president. As president, Wilf prioritized growing the female game in the city.

Now retired from playing, coaching, refereeing and administering, Wilf remains active in the game in his most meaningful role yet: Hockey Grandpa.

Prix de Hockey Canada

Lauréats des prix de 2018 de Hockey Canada


Les bienfaits du bénévolat

Hockey Canada a célébré l’action bénévole à son banquet annuel de remise des prix à Ottawa en soulignant le travail de sept Canadiens méritants qui ont contribué au hockey

 

par Wendy Graves

Notre amour pour le hockey trouve écho dans le cœur d’innombrables bénévoles d’un océan à l’autre à l’autre qui souhaitent partager leur passion avec tous les Canadiens.

Le 31 mai, Hockey Canada a rendu hommage à cette passion et à ce dévouement pour le hockey dans le cadre de son congrès printanier dans la capitale nationale. Nous félicitons les sept lauréats et nous remercions du fond du cœur tous les bénévoles qui donnent de leur temps sans compter les heures chaque saison.

gould parallax
2019-05-29 13:01:20

Prix du bénévole exceptionnel – Larry Gould

Pour les résidents de Schomberg, Ontario, il est simplement Coach Larry. Depuis 50 ans, Larry Gould est un habitué derrière le banc, un site aussi familier sur une patinoire qu’une pyramide de rondelles et les joueurs eux-mêmes. Alors qu’il célèbre son anniversaire d’or comme entraîneur cette saison, Hockey Canada rend hommage à Larry Gould en tant que Bénévole de l’année 2019.

Larry a passé 48 ans comme entraîneur au sein de l’Association de hockey mineur Schomberg, soit plus longtemps que tout autre entraîneur de l’histoire de l’organisation. Sa volonté d’être lui-même un étudiant a fait de Larry un enseignant et un mentor talentueux. Comprenant qu’il y a toujours quelque chose de nouveau à apprendre, il défend depuis longtemps les programmes d’entraînement et continue de mettre à jour sa certification d’entraîneur.

La générosité de Larry a contribué à faire du hockey ce qu’il est aujourd’hui à Schomberg et dans les cantons environnants. Il a reçu des prix pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations, des prix pour son bénévolat et même la Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles du Bureau du gouverneur général. Son dévouement, son leadership et son engagement exceptionnels ainsi que ses contributions volontaires au hockey mineur ont permis à des générations de joueurs de s’amuser et de s’enrichir.

mcfarlane parallax

Prix Gordon-Juckes – Gary McFarlane

Le nom Gary McFarlane est devenu synonyme du développement du hockey au sein de la Fédération de hockey de l’Ontario. Voilà ce qui se produit lorsque l’on consacre deux décennies au sport – et aux personnes qui y participent. C’est pour son travail remarquable et sa participation au développement du hockey amateur au Canada que Gary McFarlane est le lauréat du prix Gordon-Juckes 2019.

La priorité de Gary a toujours été le développement du joueur, de l’entraîneur, de l’organisation. Il a siégé à de nombreux comités lors de tournois et à des conseils de hockey mineur, et il a joué d’innombrables rôles auprès des ligues maison locales : entraîneur, arbitre, trésorier, président et administrateur sans désignation. Il est actuellement directeur des activités de l’équipe des M16 d’ALLIANCE Hockey.

Gary a été tout aussi généreux en partageant son expertise à l’échelle nationale. Il a été maître formateur du PNCE. Il a apporté son expertise technique en appuyant la réécriture des tâches écrites pour la Haute performance 1 et du contenu et des exigences du programme Développement 1. Il a également été membre du comité du programme d’initiation par l’intermédiaire d’ALLIANCE Hockey. Le hockey amateur en Ontario est meilleur en raison de son dévouement.

ouellette parallax

Prix de la percée du hockey féminin – Caroline Ouellette

Caroline Ouellette a pris sa retraite de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada après avoir remporté quatre médailles d’or olympique et six championnats mondiaux; elle occupe le troisième rang des pointeuses de tous les temps du Canada. Caroline s’est maintenant donné pour mission de créer les occasions de développement qu’elle n’a pas eues.

Elle défend depuis longtemps le volet féminin du sport avec Hockey Québec. Son leadership et son dévouement à la promotion et au développement du sport ont influencé les changements apportés par le membre à la structure du hockey féminin dans la province. Elle a également été une ardente défenseure du hockey féminin, prononçant des discours, assistant à des événements et accordant des entrevues – en anglais et en français – pour promouvoir le sport et recruter de nouvelles joueuses. Elle a même conçu son propre programme pour inciter plus de filles à venir sur la glace. Depuis 2014, elle anime la Célébration hockey féminin Caroline Ouellette, qui offre l’occasion aux filles âgées de 5 à 12 ans de participer à un tournoi de hockey féminin.

Agissant comme ambassadrice de son sport en recrutant de nouvelles joueuses et en acceptant toutes les occasions pour favoriser l’essor du hockey, Caroline a fait progresser le hockey féminin afin que plus de filles puissent profiter du sport qui lui a tant donné.

krause parallax

Prix des officiels – Larry Krause

Il serait difficile de trouver un bénévole qui a consacré autant de temps, d’efforts et de passion au hockey en Colombie-Britannique que Larry Krause. Il serait tout aussi difficile de trouver un officiel dans la province qui n’a pas été influencé de manière positive par la participation, les connaissances et le leadership de Larry.

Présentement animateur du développement des officiels de hockey mineur pour le Programme des officiels de Hockey C.-B., Larry incarne l’esprit du jeu et les objectifs du programme des officiels du membre depuis plus de 30 ans. Il a exercé une influence importante sur le contenu et la prestation du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada au sein du programme de certification de Hockey C.-B., et il a également été superviseur de la haute performance et principal chargé de cours du programme d’excellence des officiels du membre.

L’engagement de Larry envers le Programme des officiels de Hockey C.-B. et sa passion pour le développement des officiels à tous les niveaux sont inégalés. Il est hautement respecté par les officiels, les mentors, les superviseurs et le personnel du hockey, tant à l’échelle du membre que sur la scène nationale, et son approche positive et enthousiaste face à l’éducation a créé un héritage pour le développement de officiels pour Hockey C.-B.

bannister parallax

Ordre du mérite (Atlantique) – Gerald Bannister

Depuis qu’il s’est joint au conseil d’administration de l’Association de hockey mineur de Moncton en 1995, Gerald Bannister a exercé une grande et constante influence sur le hockey amateur au Nouveau-Brunswick en tant qu’administrateur qui place le joueur avant tout, et ce, en défendant chaque nouvelle génération.

Gerald s’est joint au conseil du hockey mineur de Hockey Nouveau-Brunswick en tant que directeur de district en 2002, poste qu’il occupe toujours aujourd’hui. Une des raisons pour lesquelles Gerald fait une telle différence est son engagement à long terme envers chaque conseil ou groupe de direction auquel il siège. En 2009, il a entrepris un mandat de six ans comme vice-président du conseil du hockey mineur. Deux ans plus tard, il est devenu représentant du conseil du hockey mineur auprès de la Commission de hockey élite, poste qu’il a occupé jusqu’en 2016. Au cours des cinq dernières saisons, Gerald a été membre de la direction de la Ligue de hockey midget majeur du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, d’abord comme président et maintenant comme vice-président.

Alors que ceux de la côte Est ressentent l’influence de Gerald depuis plus de vingt ans, le reste du pays mérite de savoir la différence qu’il a faite au hockey amateur.

minville parallax

Ordre du mérite (Centrale) – Nicolas Minville

Selon la définition du dictionnaire, un chef de file est quelqu’un qui exerce une influence dominante, mais positive, quelqu’un qui est capable de motiver les autres pour atteindre un but commun. Pendant un quart de siècle, Nicolas Minville a ouvert la voie en développant le sport non seulement autour des patinoires de Baie-Comeau, où il a commencé à s’impliquer, mais également dans l’ensemble du Québec. Le hockey mineur de la Côte-Nord ne serait pas ce qu’il est sans son engagement, ses contributions et son dévouement.

Nicolas a commencé comme entraîneur adjoint des Aigles atome B de Baie-Comeau en 1994-1995. À sa deuxième saison, il a occupé le poste de vice-président et de président par intérim de l’association de hockey mineur de la ville. En 2002, il a été élu vice-président de Hockey Québec. L’année suivante, il a également assumé le poste de trésorier. Il a occupé les deux postes pour les 13 années suivantes. En 2016, il a été élu président de Hockey Québec.

Le but de Nicolas est que tous profitent des avantages du sport. C’est pour cette raison qu’il a également passé neuf ans à la présidence de l’Unité régionale loisir et sport Côte-Nord, une organisation qui fait la promotion du sport, de l’activité physique et du bien-être en général.

martin parallax

Ordre du mérite (Ouest) – Wilf Martin

Imaginez ceci : à Paddockwood, en Saskatchewan, une jeune mère lace les patins de son fils de trois ans et le guide autour du marécage de leur ferme. Dès ce jour, Wilf Martin était destiné à devenir un rat d’aréna.

Tous les mois de septembre, Wilf et ses amis attendaient avec impatience les premiers étangs gelés de l’automne. Ils jouaient au hockey libre bien après que la noirceur soit tombée avec comme seul éclairage les quenouilles enflammées dans des bancs de neige à proximité. Wilf a joué jusqu’au niveau midget avant de se joindre à une équipe d’une ligue masculine. Il a également vu le hockey sous un angle différent en devenant officiel pendant un certain nombre d’années. Alors que sa jeune famille atteignait l’âge de jouer au hockey, Wilf s’est d’abord tourné vers l’entraînement, puis vers la gestion. Il est ensuite devenu membre de l’Association de hockey mineur de Saskatoon où il a occupé plusieurs postes au sein du conseil, notamment ceux de vice-président, de président et de président sortant. Comme président, Wilf a accordé la priorité à la croissance du volet féminin du sport dans la ville.

Maintenant qu’il a pris sa retraite comme joueur, entraîneur, arbitre et administrateur, Wilf reste actif dans le sport dans son rôle le plus important à ce jour : grand-papa au hockey.