Hockey Canada History

Frequently Asked Questions

Which teams will wear this Olympic and Paralympic jersey?
Canada’s national men’s, women’s and sledge teams will be wearing these jerseys in competition at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games and 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

When does the Olympic and Paralympic jersey go on sale?
Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic jerseys went on sale Oct. 8 at several outlets throughout Canada, including Hockey Canada’s online store at www.HockeyCanada.ca and Sport Chek.

Why do Canada’s hockey teams have to wear a different jersey for the Olympics?
Beginning with the 2010 Olympic Games, Canada’s hockey teams wear a different jersey at the Olympics, as per International Olympic Committee branding rules and regulations that all participating nations abide by. Hockey Canada was very proud of the 2010 hockey jersey, and is just as proud of the jerseys its three teams will wear in Sochi. The three jerseys represent pride in hockey and in our country. 

Who designed the jerseys?
As part of designing Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic hockey jerseys, Nike spent time combing the archives of the Hockey Hall of Fame and taking inspiration from the heart and history of hockey. What it found there was a beautiful, classic design that always celebrated country pride first. Nike also invested a lot of time working with Hockey Canada to understand the significance of Canada’s symbols and graphics. 

Does this mean that Canada will no longer wear the traditional Hockey Canada jersey, with the Hockey Canada brand?
Canada’s national teams will continue to wear the Hockey Canada brand proudly in all other competitions, including IIHF world championships, IPC world championships, and exhibition games against other national teams.

What is Hockey Canada/Nike/COC/CPC’s position on ethical sourcing?
Hockey Canada definitely is in favour of ethical sourcing, and will work with its partners and licensees to address issues if they arise. Hockey Canada works very hard with all of its partners to protect the Hockey Canada brand. It requires that all licensees comply with industry laws and regulations, and also addresses standards and reputational risk in all partnership agreements.

Videos
Photos
BDO launches Goals for Kids program
As part of the BDO Goals for Kids program, $100 will go to minor hockey associations across the country for every Team Canada goal scored at Hockey Canada-hosted international events, and $50 will be donated for every goal scored at a trio of national championships – the Esso Cup, TELUS Cup and RBC Cup.
2017 HCF: Hitting the links for hockey
Hitting the links for hockey
2017 HCF: Canadian hockey comes together at gala
A who's-who of hockey, including the Order of Hockey in Canada honourees, members of Canada's gold medal-winning National Sledge Team and Team Canada alumni.
2017 NST: Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
Gangneung gold celebrated in Saskatoon
Close
Credit

Histoire de Hockey Canada

Questions fréquemment posées

Quelles équipes porteront ce chandail olympique et paralympique?
Les équipes nationales masculine, féminine et sur luge du Canada porteront ces chandails lors des compétitions aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014 et aux Jeux paralympiques d’hiver de 2014.

Quand le chandail olympique et paralympique sera-t-il en vente?
Le chandail olympique et paralympique du Canada a été mis en vente le 8 octobre chez divers détaillants partout au Canada, à la boutique virtuelle de Hockey Canada au www.HockeyCanada.ca et chez SportChek.

Pourquoi les équipes de hockey du Canada doivent-elles porter un chandail différent aux Olympiques?
Depuis les Jeux olympiques de 2010, les équipes de hockey du Canada portent un chandail différent aux Olympiques conformément aux règles et aux règlements du CIO. Hockey Canada était très fière du chandail de hockey de 2010 et elle est tout aussi fière des chandails que ses trois équipes porteront à Sotchi en 2014. Les trois chandails représentent la fierté que nous ressentons envers le hockey et notre pays.
Le CIO a des règles et des règlements visant le marquage que tous les pays participants doivent respecter.

Qui a dessiné les chandails?  
Dans le cadre de la conception des uniformes de hockey olympiques et paralympiques d’Équipe Canada, Nike a fouillé les archives du Temple de la renommée du hockey et s’est inspirée de ce qui est au cœur de l’histoire du hockey. Ce que nous avons trouvé là était une conception superbe, classique, qui a toujours célébré la fierté nationale d’abord et avant tout. Nike a aussi investi beaucoup de temps à travailler avec Hockey Canada afin de comprendre le sens des symboles et graphiques du Canada.

Est-ce que cela signifie que le Canada ne portera plus le chandail traditionnel de Hockey Canada avec la marque de Hockey Canada?
L’équipe nationale du Canada va continuer de porter fièrement la marque de Hockey Canada pour toutes les autres compétitions, incluant les championnats de l’IIHF, les championnats du CIP et lors de matchs hors concours contre d’autres équipes nationales.

Quelle est la position de Hockey Canada/Nike/COC/CPC sur le sourçage éthique?
Hockey Canada – Hockey Canada est indéniablement d’accord avec le sourçage éthique et elle travaillera avec ses partenaires et détenteurs de licences à aborder toute préoccupation, le cas échéant. Hockey Canada travaille très fort avec tous ses partenaires pour protéger la marque de Hockey Canada. L’organisation exige que tous ses détenteurs de licences respectent les lois et règlements régissant l’industrie et elle traite également des normes et des risques de réputation dans toutes ses ententes de partenariat.

Vidéos
Photos
FHC 2017 : Rêves devenus réalité à Dawson Creek
La Fondation Hockey Canada a visité le Nord de la Colombie-Britannique pendant le Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans 2017.
BDO lance le programme Des buts pour les jeunes
Dans le cadre du programme Des buts pour les jeunes avec BDO, 100 $ seront versés aux associations de hockey mineur du pays pour chaque but marqué par Équipe Canada aux événements internationaux dont Hockey Canada est l’hôte et 50 $ seront donnés pour chaque but marqué à trois championnats nationaux – la Coupe Esso, la Coupe TELUS et la Coupe RBC.
FHC 2017 : Sur le terrain de golf pour le hockey
Sur le terrain de golf pour le hockey
FHC 2017 : Le hockey canadien uni au gala
La fine fleur du hockey, incluant les personnalités honorées de l’Ordre du hockey au Canada, des membres de l’équipe nationale sur luge du Canada médaillée d’or et des anciens d’Équipe Canada.
Close
Credit