Yzerman and Costello to enter IIHF Hall of Fame
Dr. Mark Aubry wins Paul Loicq Award for contributions to international hockey
January 13, 2014

Canada will be front and centre when the IIHF Hall of Fame opens its doors to the Class of 2014 during next spring’s IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, with two Canadians earning induction, while another will be honoured with one of the organization’s most prestigious awards.

Olympic gold medallist Steve Yzerman and long-time Hockey Canada president Murray Costello will become the 26th and 27th Canadians enshrined when the induction ceremony is held in Minsk, Belarus in May.

In addition, Hockey Canada chief medical officer Dr. Mark Aubry was named the recipient of the Paul Loicq Award, presented by the IIHF for “outstanding contributions to the IIHF and international ice hockey.” Aubry becomes the fifth Canadian, and third in a row, to win the award, joining Aggie Kukulowicz (2004), Bob Nadin (2007), Kent Angus (2012) and Gord Miller (2013).

Steve Yzerman, who is currently serving as executive director of Canada’s Men’s Olympic Team for the second time, donned the Maple Leaf on eight occasions during his 22-year NHL career, all with the Detroit Red Wings. The Nepean, Ont., native won four medals representing his country, earning gold at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games, silver at the 1985 and 1989 IIHF World Championships and bronze at the 1983 IIHF World Junior Championship, while also winning the 1984 Canada Cup.

He also played for Canada at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games, 1996 World Cup of Hockey and 1990 IIHF World Championship, where he was named Top Forward by the IIHF Directorate. Yzerman was named to Canada’s roster for the 2004 World Cup of Hockey, but was injured and unable to take part.

Following his retirement in July 2006, Yzerman stepped into the front office, leading Canada to a gold medal at the 2007 IIHF World Championship and silver the following year, both as the team’s general manager, before taking the reins of Team Canada for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, winning gold in Vancouver.

Murray Costello was president of the Canadian Hockey Association, and then Hockey Canada, from 1979 to 1998, playing a major role in the consolidation of the CHA and the former independent Hockey Canada organization into an all-new organization under the name of Hockey Canada.

He was instrumental in the creation of the Canadian women's hockey program, which spurred the growth of the sport among young women. Ottawa, Ont., hosted the inaugural IIHF World Women's Championship in 1990, which helped pave the way for the debut of women's hockey in the 1998 Olympic Winter Games.

Following his retirement from Hockey Canada in 1998, Costello joined the International Ice Hockey Federation as a council member, and was vice-president of the IIHF from 2008 until his retirement in 2012. He has been a key member of numerous IIHF committees, including as chairman of the competition, junior, medical and technical/arena committees.

Dr. Mark Aubry is the chief medical officer of both the International Ice Hockey Federation, since 1998, and Hockey Canada, since 2004, and is one of the world’s leading experts on spinal cord injuries and concussions. Aubry served as CMO of the Canadian Olympic Team at the 1992 Olympics in Albertville, France, and is a member of the International Olympic Committee Medical Commission. He helped develop the Hockey Canada Safety Program, and was instrumental in organizing three international symposiums on concussion in sport, in 2001, 2004 and 2008.

Yzerman and Costello will be joined by fellow inductees Vyacheslav Bykov (Russia), Andrei Khomutov (Russia), Nicklas Lidström (Sweden), Ruslan Salei (Belarus). The Class of 2014 brings the total number of IIHF Hall of Fame honourees to 195 players and builders from 23 countries.

CANADIANS IN THE IIHF HALL OF FAME (category, year of induction)
Father David Bauer (builder, 1997)
Roger Bourbonnais (player, 1999)
Mike Buckna (builder, 2004)
Murray Costello (builder, 2014)
Danielle Goyette (player, 2013)
Wayne Gretzky (player, 2000)
Geraldine Heaney (player, 2008)
Paul Henderson (player, 2013)
William Hewitt (builder, 1998)
Derek Holmes (builder, 1999)
Fran Huck (player, 1999)
Angela James (player, 2008)
Marshall Johnston (player, 1998)
Gordon Juckes (builder, 1997)
Dave King (builder, 2001)
Bob LeBel (builder, 1997)
Mario Lemieux (player, 2008)
Vic Lindquist (player, 1997)
Barry MacKenzie (player, 1999)
Seth Martin (player, 1997)
Jack McLeod (player, 1999)
Andy Murray (builder, 2012)
Terry O’Malley (player, 1998)
Gordon Renwick (builder, 2002)
Harry Sinden (player, 1997)
Harry Watson (player, 1998)

Steve Yzerman (player, 2014)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 PARA: USA 2 – CAN 1 OT (Gold Medal)
Billy Bridges scored, but Canada dropped a narrow OT decision in the Paralympic gold medal game.
2018 PARA: CAN 7 – KOR 0 (Semifinal)
McGregor had 2G 2A to send Canada to play for Paralympic gold.
2018 PARA: CAN 8 – NOR 0 (Preliminary)
Armstrong and Bridges scored 2G apiece to send Canada to the SFs.
2018 PARA: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
Delaney had a hat trick and an assist to help Canada shut out Italy.