sarah edney
Taking the next step
Four first-round picks lead U18 nationals alumnae selected in CWHL Draft
Jason La Rose
August 24, 2015

Led by first-overall selection Sarah Edney, the top four picks in the 2015 Canadian Women’s Hockey League draft were alumnae of the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, topping a group of 12 chosen.

Edney, a former captain of Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team, is the fourth U18 alumna to go first overall in the CWHL draft, joining Meghan Agosta (2011), Jessica Wong (2013) and Laura Fortino (2014).

She went No. 1 to the Brampton Thunder, followed by Emily Fulton going to the Toronto Furies, and then a pair of 2014 Olympic gold medallists – Marie-Philip Poulin to the Montreal Stars and Brianne Jenner to the Calgary Inferno.

Poulin is the all-time leading scorer in National Women’s Under-18 Championship history; the 2008 MVP recorded 30 points (12 goals, 18 assists) over three appearances – 12 more than any other player.

In total, three U18 nationals gold medallists, all from Ontario Red, were selected – Fulton (2009); Jenner (2007, 2008); and Jenna McParland (2008, 2009). Jenner scored the double-overtime winner to give Ontario Red the win over Poulin and Quebec in the 2008 gold medal game.

Calgary led the way with five alumnae picks, followed by Brampton and Montreal (three), and Toronto (one).

National Women’s Under-18 Championship alumnae selected in the 2015 CWHL Draft included:

1st Round
1. Brampton – Sarah Edney (Ontario Blue, 2009)
2. Toronto – Emily Fulton (Ontario Red – 2009)
3. Montreal – Marie-Philip Poulin (Quebec, N2005/2007/2008)
4. Calgary – Brianne Jenner (Ontario Blue, 2005/Ontario Red, 2007/2008)

2nd Round
6. Brampton – Jenna McParland (Ontario Blue, 2007/Ontario Red, 2008/2009)

3rd Round
13. Montreal – Karell Emard (Quebec, J2005/N2005)
14. Calgary – Jill Saulnier (Atlantic, 2007/2008/2009)

4th Round
16. Brampton – Kristen Richards (Ontario Blue, 2009)
18. Montreal – Leslie Oles (Quebec, 2007)
19. Calgary – Blayre Turnbull (Atlantic, 2009)

6th Round
24. Calgary – Brigette Lacquette (Manitoba, 2008)

7th Round
34. Calgary – Elena Lovell (British Columbia, 2007)

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)


2018 TCAA: Hitting the links for hockey
With the support of 30 sponsors, 150 golfers braved the cold and took to the course Sept. 18 at the Lakeside Greens Golf Club in Chestermere, Alta.
2018 WGHW: Celebrating the female game
Canada joined with 41 countries around the world as part of the eighth annual World Girls’ Hockey Weekend
2018 Fall Festival: RED 3 – WHT 1 (Intrasquad)
Fillier, Johnston and Willoughby scored to help Red win NWT finale.
2018 Fall Festival: WHT 2 – DCC 1 (OT) (Exhibition)
Hannah Miller scored the overtime winner to lead White to victory.