Dynamic duo
Nicholson and Niedermayer to enter B.C. Sports Hall of Fame
Jason La Rose
December 13, 2013

Hockey will be well represented at next fall’s B.C. Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony, with two of the game’s most recognizable names part of the Class of 2014.

Bob Nicholson, who has led Canada to unparalleled success on the international stage as president and CEO since 1998, and Scott Niedermayer, a four-time gold medallist who captained Canada to gold at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, will be inducted Sept. 25, 2014 in Vancouver.

Nicholson, a native of Penticton, B.C., played junior hockey for his hometown Broncos, winning the B.C. Junior Hockey League championship in 1973 before moving on to college hockey at Providence College. His No. 6 was retired in Penticton in 2005.

After 11 years with the B.C. Amateur Hockey Association (now B.C. Hockey), Nicholson joined Hockey Canada in 1990, and was named president in 1998 following the retirement of longtime president Murray Costello.

Since 1990, under Nicholson’s watch, Hockey Canada has won 66 world championship and Olympic medals, including 41 gold:

  • IIHF World Junior Championship – 12
  • IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship – 10
  • Olympic Winter Games – five
  • IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship – five
  • IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship – three
  • IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s U18 World Championship – three
  • IPC Sledge Hockey World Championship – two
  • Paralympic Winter Games – one

Niedermayer had a 17-year NHL career that saw him win every major North American championship at least once. The Cranbrook, B.C., native played 46 games with the Maple Leaf on his chest, recording 16 points (seven goals, nine assists).

It was undoubtedly his final appearance in the red and white of Team Canada that Niedermayer will be best remembered for – he donned the ‘C’ in his home province and helped lead Canada to the gold medal at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver.

The Vancouver gold capped off a remarkable international career that saw Niedermayer win an IIHF World Junior Championship gold medal (1990), an IIHF World Championship gold medal (2004), two Olympic gold medals (2002, 2010) and a World Cup of Hockey championship (2004). He is one of just seven Canadians in the IIHF Triple Gold Club (Olympic gold, Worlds gold, Stanley Cup).

In addition to Nicholson and Niedermayer, the Class of 2014 includes Greg Athans (freestyle skiing), Sarah Burke (freestyle skiing), Lars Hansen (basketball) and Joanne Sargent (basketball) in the athlete category, Dr. Jack Taunton (sports medicine) in the builder category, Robert Powell (tennis) in the pioneer category, the 1978 Doc’s Blues women’s softball team in the team category, Paul Carson in the media category and Erwin Swangard as the W.A.C. Bennett Award recipient.

Scott Niedermayer
Year Team Event GP G A PTS PIM Result
1991 CAN World Juniors 3 0 0 0 0 Gold
1992 CAN World Juniors 7 0 0 0 10 6th
1996 CAN World Cup 8 1 3 4 6 2nd
2002 CAN Olympics 6 1 1 2 4 Gold
2004 CAN World Championship 9 3 2 5 12 Gold
2004 CAN World Cup 6 1 1 2 9 1st
2010 CAN Olympics 7 1 2 3 4 Gold
  CAN TOTAL 46 7 9 16 45  

For more information:

Lisa Dornan
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 / 403-510-7046 (mobile)


Morgan Bell
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-669-1261 (mobile)


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


2018 TELUS Cup: MAG 7 – TOR 4 (Preliminary)
A five-goal second period helped the Cantonniers past the Nationals.
2018 U18WC: CAN 3 – SWE 2 OT (Preliminary)
Lafrenière scored the OT winner, giving Canada first place in Group A.
2018 Esso Cup: LAN 4 – NOR 2 (Preliminary)
St-Jacques had 1G 1A to lead the Pionnières to their first victory.
2018 Esso Cup: SAS 4 – STA 1 (Preliminary)
The Stars scored four unanswered to keep their perfect record intact.