spengler cup semifinal can vs fri 640

Hockey Canada announces 23-player roster for 2015 Spengler Cup

Canada opens 32nd consecutive appearance at holiday tournament on Boxing Day

December 23, 2015
DAVOS, Switzerland – Three members of last year’s team are returning as part of the 23-player roster of Canada’s National Men’s Team for the 2015 Spengler Cup, Dec. 26-31 in Davos, Switzerland.

Hockey Canada announced the roster as Canada’s National Men’s Team prepares to kick off the historic tournament on Boxing Day.

“The Spengler Cup is the oldest invitational hockey tournament, and holds a special place in the hearts of Canadians and hockey fans around the world,” said George McPhee, director of player personnel for Team Canada at the Spengler Cup. “We have assembled a talented group of players who, alongside head coach Guy Boucher and assistant coach Rob Cookson, will be making Canada proud as they represent the red-and-white in Davos.”

The three returning players from the 2014 Spengler Cup include: goaltender Drew MacIntyre (Charlottetown/Charlotte, AHL), and forwards Alexandre Giroux (Quebec City/HC Ambri-Piotta, SUI), and Chris DiDomenico (Woodbridge, Ont./SCL Tigers, SUI).

They are joined by:

  • Goaltender: Jeff Glass (Calgary/Dinamo Minsk, KHL);
  • Defencemen: Keith Aulie (Rouleau, Sask./Springfield, AHL), Trevor Carrick (Stouffville, Ont./Charlotte, AHL),Mark Cundari (Toronto/San Jose, AHL), Marc-André Bergeron (Trois-Rivières, Que./ZSC Lions, SUI),Aaron Johnson (Port Hawkesbury, N.S./Stockton, AHL), Alexandre Picard (Gatineau, Que./HC Fribourg-Gottéron, SUI), and Daniel Vukovic (North York, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI);
  • Forwards: Kris Foucault (Calgary/ZSC Lions, SUI), Derek Roy (Rockland, Ont./SC Bern, SUI), Kevin Clark (Winnipeg/SCL Tigers, SUI), Dan Paille (Welland, Ont./Rockford, AHL), Matthew Lombardi (Montreal/Genève-Servette HC, SUI), Cory Conacher (Burlington, Ont./SC Bern, SUI), Manny Malhotra (Mississauga, Ont./Lake Erie, AHL), Cory Emmerton (St. Thomas, Ont./HC Ambri-Piotta, SUI), Tom Pyatt (Thunder Bay, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI), Matt D’Agostini (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI), Matt Ellison (Duncan, B.C./Dinamo Minsk, KHL), and James Sheppard (Lower Sackville, N.S./Kloten Flyers, SUI).

Canada has appeared in 10 of the last 14 championship games at the Spengler Cup, winning the tournament in 2002, 2003, 2007 and 2012. Overall, Canada’s National Men’s Team has won the Spengler Cup 12 times (1984, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2007, 2012) since first taking part in 1984.

Canada opens the tournament against Avtomobilist Yekaterinberg on Saturday, Dec. 26 at 2:15 p.m. ET. TSN, Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster, is scheduled to broadcast all tournament games; please check local listings and visit TSN.ca for details.

For more information on Canada’s National Men’s Team and the 2015 Spengler Cup, please visit hockeycanada.ca, or follow along via social media on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

2023 WJC: CAN 6 – SVK 1 (Pre-Tournament)
Roy had a goal and an assist to help Canada past the Slovaks.
2022-23 NWT: CAN 3 – USA 2 OT (Game 5)
Serdachny was the overtime hero to keep Canada alive in the series.
2023 WJC: CAN 6 – SUI 0 (Pre-Tournament)
Shane Wright scored twice to lead Canada to shut out Switzerland.
2022 WJAC: Day 6 – Friday, December 16
The U.S. and Sweden won to conclude the preliminary round.